B9 Audi A4 Tech Pack variants launched in Malaysia – 1.4 TFSI, 2.0 TFSI, 2.0 TFSI quattro; from RM244k

Audi Malaysia has introduced new Tech Pack variants for the B9 Audi A4 range in Malaysia, which allows customers to order any A4 variant with Tech Pack items, including the Audi Virtual Cockpit. The company is also offering the new variants at special introductory prices while stocks last (more on that below).

For the entry-level 1.4 TFSI, going the Tech Pack route will set you back RM243,900 on-the-road without insurance, which is an additional RM25,000 on top of the standard retail price (RM218,900). That extra sum nets you the 12.3-inch Audi Virtual Cockpit, MMI Navigation plus infotainment system, Audi smartphone interface, Audi connect and a reverse camera.

Next up, we arrive at the 2.0 TFSI that currently goes for RM248,900, without any options. Previously, customers were able to order one with either the Tech Pack or S line package (not both), each costing an extra RM25,000 on top of the base price.

Now however, you can order the 2.0 TFSI S line + Tech Pack, which gets both packages for RM298,900. As you’d expect, the S line package introduces more aggressive-looking bumpers, 18-inch five twin-spoke “Star” design alloy wheels, illuminated door sill trims with aluminium inlays, Alcantara/leather front seats in black and an S line sport steering wheel.

Items within the Tech Pack are identical to what was available previously, including the Audi Virtual Cockpit, MMI Navigation plus infotainment system, Audi smartphone interface, Audi connect and a reverse camera. An extra bit of kit for Tech Pack variants with the 2.0 TFSI engine are Matrix LED headlamps (with dynamic indicators), which aren’t fitted to the 1.4 TFSI Tech Pack.

Lastly, we arrive at the range-topping 2.0 TFSI quattro S line Tech Pack that retails for RM334,900, representing a RM20,000 premium over the regular retail price (RM314,900). The variant already comes standard with some of the items found in the Tech Pack – MMI Navigation plus infotainment system, Audi smartphone interface and Audi connect – but now gains Matrix LED taillights and a more advanced Bang & Olufsen 3D Sound System.

The oily bits on all variants remain unchanged from before, with the 1.4 TFSI being powered by a 1.4 litre direct-injected four-cylinder turbo petrol engine that develops 150 hp and 250 Nm of torque. Moving up the range, the 2.0 TFSI gets has a larger 2.0 unit that makes 190 hp and 320 Nm, while the 2.0 TFSI quattro has 252 hp and 370 Nm at its disposal.

All engines are paired with a seven-speed S tronic wet dual-clutch gearbox, with drive being directed to the front wheels, save for the quattro, which gets a permanent all-wheel drive system. Performance-wise, the 2.0 TFSI quattro will hit the 100 km/h mark from a standstill in just 5.8 seconds, followed by the 2.0 TFSI (7.3 seconds) and 1.4 TFSI (8.5 seconds).

As mentioned at the start, Audi Malaysia is offering the new Tech Pack variants at special introductory prices, with the A4 1.4 TFSI Tech pack being priced at RM224,900 (RM19,000 less), the Audi A4 2.0 TFSI S line + Tech Pack at RM274,900 (RM24,000 less) and the 2.0 TFSI quattro Tech Pack at RM314,900 (RM20,000 less).

All purchases come with a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty, which was announced back in April this year. The warranty is an improvement from the previous four-year/120,000 km manufacturer’s warranty package.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• salambangi on Oct 02, 2017 at 4:04 pm

DRB screwed up Audi in bolehland…same happened to Suzuki & P1.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
  • Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 02, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Such a waste of money. RM25k for just that. What a rip off. Also, the car is way overpriced. I hope buyers know that they are buying a VW in disguise. Audi A4 uses all the parts of Passat and Jetta. And even the DSG faulty box but they change the name for the A4

Might as well buy a BMW or a Mercedes. At least they make their own parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 50
    • A lot of BMW store in Glenmarie

Most due to engine problems because of the 20K service interval

Should stay away from BMW brand too unless you are happy to attend those problems for yourselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 18
      • Boyue goreng on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Nonsense 20k interval. Thats proof you talk coxk here and dont own the bmw at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 34
      • Ownerknows on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Engine I don’t know but absorber yes I can confirmed, it’s a headache

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
        • victor on Oct 02, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Confirmed BMW is a headache car to own !!

After two years of owning BMW, it also looks very dated too !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Audi Fans on Oct 02, 2017 at 8:57 pm

Spot On!!

I heard about that news too where the prolonged service interval raises some reliability problem for BMW engine.

BMW are not great compare to an AUDI. AUDI got Quattro . What had BMW got to offered?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • awg1031 on Oct 03, 2017 at 5:18 pm

spot on and yet u heard it from someone else??

yeaaa right….

• Answering Dungus on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:28 pm

BMW and Mercede also buys these parts. No car manufacturer makes these parts. Even Honda uses same parts. So who are you kidding? In today’s globalized world, a Toyota uses Peugeot parts and engines, as does BMW. Also Mercedes uses a Nissan Navara and packages it as theirs. Its all about economies of scale my son. Nobody has a outstanding product, transmission or engine supplier as they used to in the 1980’s and 90’s

• Audi GOT No RV in MALAYSIA and problematic car to own.
    Just a glorified VW . ( Dieselgate ??)

Dark interior cockpit and seat make it even worst to look at.

Better go for other conti, my opinion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 20
    • Mei Lee on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:35 pm

Yes. Peugeot or Volvo or VW is better choice at its category. And cheaper to get those 3 brands also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Heng Albert on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:03 pm

I rather take a passat or Peugeot, like what you say. As for Volvo, No No please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
        • I rather go for Volvo first choice. Second Peugeot. As for Passat I would also say a big No,No .German cars got the most problems when owning.

• Mei Lee on Oct 03, 2017 at 8:17 am

I will go for Peugeot as my choice, i sit on Volvo and Peugeot 3008, i feel 3008 to be more luxury although they are at same category. VW is nice too but the shape is no syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • The F12 of Maranello on Oct 04, 2017 at 12:18 pm

Peugeot? AFAIK Peugeot is crappy in terms of quality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • Audi Fans on Oct 04, 2017 at 11:13 pm

At least Peugeot interior and ride quality is way far better than any sushi or kimchi car and even better than FORD

Peugeot is a very comfortable car to own as it is not design to be sporty . The seat is first class and way better than any sushi , kimchi , VW ( not enough cushion ) and BMW ( hard seat ) and ford

• Ben Yap on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:13 pm

funnily a brand new honda civic 1.5T which is half the price is faster than the A4 1.4 TSI in the century sprint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
    • funnily honda civic 1.5T plasticky interior is worse than my kid pedal car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Malaysia driver on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:25 pm

Oh, so u the Honda fanboy who get butthurt (or offended by your shallow words) when car review in Paultan says Hyundai Elantra Sport is better than the Civic.

Century sprint doesn’t mean everything, in fact, a person who can afford this Audi wouldn’t bother to race with you on the road.The interior , the class, the elegance, the luxurious cabin that this Audi posses is none of your rice Civic @ah Beng car can match, and the social perception itself already put you into shame. Now get back to your ah bengfied Civic and indulged your syiok sendiri Honda fanboy fantasy, perhaps driving recklessly and tailgating some other slower car will make you feel better.

Oh ya, I forget to mention that the Elantra Sport can tapau your Civic in century sprint and outright power, even though it cost a few hundred within your ah beng car. See your own logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
      • Ben Yap on Oct 03, 2017 at 9:30 am

You can only avoid a Proton, go enjoy what you can only afford. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • This car already noone buy and yet wanna up their price?!?!
    R.I.P Audi A4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Kangkong belacan on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:37 pm

One way to sell ur overpriced A4.
    Tech pack for 1.4 variant shud include the signature DRL instead of what virtual cockpit.
    Msian buyer tend to show off! Who care what kinda of engine u using. KL alwiz jam gao gao. Who the hell will alwiz sprint from 0-100 during traffic light. Hardly. Study your buyer , understand what their needs. Look at benz n bmw !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • komarad on Oct 03, 2017 at 11:41 am

front headlamp looks like optimus prime eyes…

• Audi owner on Oct 03, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Looks like the new A4 isn’t selling well here, so they throw in an option at discount. I blame Euromobil – they are bad at sales and worse at after sale support.

But despite knowing how bad Euromobil was even before I got my A3 Quattro – I still got it anyway and I am loving every day with it. Would have loved to get the B9 but I couldn’t wait for it back then.

• Another Audi owner on Oct 04, 2017 at 11:40 am

I’m currently driving a 2016 B9 with the tech pack thrown in for free. Love the features. A bit annoyed that I can’t fully use Audi Connect.

But I do have to say that I had quite a good sales experience. They gave me a courtesy prev-gen A4 from the day I traded in my old car (non-Audi) to the day they delivered my new A4.

• wkaka on Dec 09, 2017 at 7:52 pm

Love my A3 1.8 too, just pretty noisy at idle. Seems to clatter more than my previous E90 320d, that seriously is annoying.

• Still no latest A5? A4 is super lame.

• Matjava on Nov 03, 2017 at 2:04 pm

A4 1.8 TFSI no longer in production?

• vrnom on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:47 pm

Good one brother.