Honda Malaysia records 1,200 bookings for City Hybrid and Jazz Hybrid – 830 units successfully delivered

Honda Malaysia (HM) today announced it has recorded 1,200 bookings for the Jazz Hybrid and City Hybrid as of September 30, 2017. From that figure, it is the latter that is proving to be more popular with customers, accounting for 61% of bookings.

The company also revealed both hybrid models achieved their combined sales target of three months in just two months. Initially, HM set a monthly sales target of 150 units for the Jazz Hybrid and 250 units for the City Hybrid.

HM stated the hybrid models attracted more customers in the Central region with a total bookings percentage of 53%. To date, more than 500 units of the City Hybrid have made their way to their respective owners since its launch in July this year. On the other hand, 330 units of the Jazz Hybrid, which debuted a month earlier than the City Hybrid, have been delivered to customers.

Despite the encouraging response, the company assures customers that the waiting period will remain at around one or two months. As a recap, both models feature Honda’s Sport Hybrid i-DCD system that combines a 1.5 litre engine with idle stop, a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox with an integrated electric motor, a lithium-ion hybrid battery and an electric driven compressor.

We’ve already had the chance to sample the City Hybrid not too long ago, and you can read our thoughts on the model, here.

GALLERY: Honda City Hybrid

GALLERY: Honda Jazz Hybrid

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• BS KING HONDA on Oct 02, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Anyone can say all that la sohai…Bs …honda is a failure everyone knows that la…move on yall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 66
    • P1eva on Oct 02, 2017 at 9:09 pm

Honda so lame. I love my Persona left signal stalk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • Sohai on Oct 03, 2017 at 9:43 am

All others brand CKD Hybrid under EEV Tax/Duty break come with 33% price-off, should H.City@RM56000, why this is not happen on HM…? The 33% incentives goes to whose pocket?

• Hardrive on Oct 03, 2017 at 10:23 am

Freshie income 2.5k can own City or Jazz.

3.5k Yuppie drive Civic…much grateful^^

• SadekSegaraga on Oct 03, 2017 at 4:32 pm

Hope your left signal can saves more fuel than a new hybrid car :3

• realdeal on Oct 02, 2017 at 7:48 pm

This isn’t some Mazda or Audi or Bezza idle stop. This is the real deal. 0 shake. Every time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • ex-VGM staff on Oct 03, 2017 at 10:21 am

of course la zero shake. the initial movement is made by motor, not the engine. therefore not vibrating when starter kicks the engine in. the current toyota prius is using same system. wait. the previos Mk III prius also had it.

NO, the earliest 2 models Prius all using the same concept – Toyota did this 20 years ago. the concept is known as parallel hybrid system. Honda Insight is using Series Hybrid system.

• Henry on Oct 03, 2017 at 1:26 pm

Because this Honda is a Hybrid whereas the other cars you mention are not. That is stop/start difference.

• Driver's Choice on Oct 02, 2017 at 8:08 pm

Good selling but poor service with less service centre. Just earn the glory from new but not the old owners. Hybrid is always not a good choice for small cc as originally low fuel consumption, what good & how many fuel can be saved? Without spare tyre,the repair kit cost u a new tyre price everytime u use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • flagsheep on Oct 03, 2017 at 9:09 pm

how much fuel can save? how much money you mean…
      well, if the fuel price shoot over rm3/litre? it once went rm2.70 and the hybrid sale was like hot cakes…
      and have you also consider the environment?

• For people don't think deeply on Oct 03, 2017 at 11:27 pm

If really care about the environment & fuel price shoot to RM3 go for EV, not hybrid. Pls think that not only care about the hybrid battery replacement, we need to take care both engine PLUS motor maintenance as well.

• Argh dont like the jazz hybrid turn signal at the front fender position….

• Lawson on Oct 02, 2017 at 8:35 pm

In Langkawi City hybrid list price is RM84k. In Peninsular City hybrid list price is RM89k. So buying City hybrid equal to getting better deal than City V spec. My wish list is to see all Honda cars are installed service minder for engine oil change. For now engine oil & filter change is needed every 6 months even if milage is just 6000 or 7000km. Otherwise Honda void your car warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Service minder available for Civic FC upwards. Whether servicing follow mileage or period, not sure.

• Seems like their daily promoting hybrid model is a success after all :P

• Should put Hybrid on bigger cars like SUV rather than supermini.. supermini is already quite fuel efficient and SUV is the one creating more carbon footprint

• ex-VGM staff on Oct 03, 2017 at 10:25 am

Toyota has been doing it for about 15 years. There are Estima Hybrid, Alphard Hybrid, Lexus RX300h, 450h – even LS600h.

on the other hand, many car manufacturers are using Variable Cylinder Management (means a V8 engine can shut 4 cylinders off during cruising)

• xoxox on Oct 03, 2017 at 11:28 am

you are right if you compare 1 supermini with 1 SUV, however, many many SUV on the road compare to Supermini, A/B Class cars???

• Ex2008MyviOwner on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:31 pm

Old 2008 1.3L Auto Myvi 80%/20% highway/city drive 80km/h max speed. FC @ 13.5km/l. Jazz Hyb same route, 22km/l if jam, 29km/l if free flow traffic. Avg 25km/l.
    apa ini small cc, low fuel consumption?

• Woah! Mivi that bad, huh? My 1.6L Gen2 CPS is about same FC but driven at 90-110kmh and occasional ‘CPS just kicked in yo’.

• Jalil on Oct 03, 2017 at 4:16 pm

Gen2 FC 3.5km/l. No same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • U din take care of it properly, deswai it din take care of u. Padan mukak.

• Ex2008MyviOwner on Oct 04, 2017 at 8:21 pm

80/20 highway/city but 80% chance to jam, 30 min trip become 1 hour… Jazz H reports AVG speed 27km/h after 1 month same route. 27km/h of 80 km/h, that’s like 70% of trip is jam…

• Let me guess which hiway that jams. Federal isnt it? Yup same journey bro.

• Ex2008MyviOwner on Oct 05, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Batu tiga, Shah Alam to PJ NKVE. A lot of inclines even though it’s highway. About 3 toll road 8-10 lanes bottleneck to 2-3 lane. Always stuck at 2 areas with slight incline.

• Ahh. Okay. Quite close my guess. Federal is worse thou. What u see at NKVE is spillover from Federal, where I jam.

• sohai on Oct 03, 2017 at 7:11 am

why should I trust a dry dual clutch product?
    nobody has implemented successfully here. not ford, not VW, and it won’t be Honda either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • Perhaps, because ford and vw dual clutch gearbox are not mated to a hybrid system. Hyundai ioniq and city hybrid will creep using the electric motor rather than slipping the clutch for those non hybrid car to creep forward during slow crawling traffic. I think it will not overheat so easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • HM, Plz bring in HRV 1.8 hybrid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Oct 03, 2017 at 10:26 am

Honda Hybrid is the best! the car is cheaper than the ioniq and even the prius. you save fuel and you save upfront money of purchasing the car.

where can you get both worlds? only in Honda you can enjoy the best of both worlds. That’s how we get to be the best selling non-national car…. we will hold this record for decades to come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • xoxox on Oct 03, 2017 at 11:26 am

we all need that spare tyres…

• Ahmad on Oct 09, 2017 at 8:13 pm

Until when government give this incentive? Should price up on next year?