PLUS closing Touch ‘n Go reload lanes for Deepavali

If you are planning to travel on PLUS highways this coming Deepavali, you will want to ensure your Touch n’ Go (TnG) cards have enough credit in them. This is because 134 TnG reload lanes will be closed from October 17 to 19, 2017 in conjunction with the celebration.

In a report by Bernama, PLUS managing director Datuk Azman Ismail said the temporary shutdown was to reduce congestion at the toll plazas in view of the increased traffic volume during the period. However, motorists will still be able to reload their TnG cards at the Bukit Kayu Hitam and Bangunan Sultan Iskandar toll plazas, which will be operating as normal on those days.

“Users of PLUS’ highways are advised to ensure their cards have sufficient balance before entering the highways. They can top up their cards at 9,200 other locations including ATM machines, 24-hour convenience outlets and also at petrol stations at all PLUS’ R&R facilities,” Azman said in a statement, who added that the move will be applied in the future to other major holiday periods.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• happy Deepavali plus !

• lim kua chua on Oct 12, 2017 at 12:24 pm

better they don’t collect toll at all. it will be much smoother tho. *sarcasm*

• Adrian on Oct 12, 2017 at 12:30 pm

So, what happens when someone enters the highway without sufficient balance?

• Kuinosan on Oct 12, 2017 at 12:48 pm

This is what happens when monopoly is allowed and we the toll paying motorists will strictly have to play by the highway operators rules. It’s going to inconvenience the public at large and it’s bad PR and literary telling the highway users that ‘it’s my way or the highway’. Ridiculously lazy and unconstructive way of overcoming the congestion problem. Arrogance at its peak!

• adijb on Oct 12, 2017 at 5:00 pm

As a motorist, I prefer PLUS to do it this way. It will be much smoother for motorist waiting in queue to pass through the toll without having people in front reloading their TNG there and then.

However, PLUS must inform this move to motorists in via various channels to ensure as many motorists using the highway knows about this as possible, before the holiday occurs.

• Soltan on Oct 12, 2017 at 12:54 pm

No deepavali oso always closed in my area.

• 12yrsold on Oct 12, 2017 at 3:27 pm

If PLUS is serious in reducing congestion at the toll plazas, I suggest Plus close all tolls & give the cashiers a day off.

What say U Plus. Hey, after all, it’s a celebration & a public holiday ma. Am sure make less money for just one day will not bankrupt U, Right!

• passion on Oct 12, 2017 at 4:19 pm

3 VWs wow. good.