Tokyo 2017: Mazda CX-8 – three-row SUV displayed

Following its debut in September this year, the Mazda CX-8 is now on display at the 2017 Tokyo Motor Show, and we now bring you a small gallery of the three-row SUV.

In its domestic market, the CX-8 is offered with a 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D engine (188 hp and 450 Nm) paired with a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. Customers will get to choose between front-wheel drive or Mazda’s i-Activ AWD all-wheel drive system.

The vehicle measures 4,900 mm long, which is 350 mm more than the CX-5, 1,840 mm wide and 1,730 mm tall. It also shares the same wheelbase with the CX-9 at 2,930 mm, again longer than on the CX-5 (2,700 mm).

In terms of design, the CX-8 adopts cues from both the CX-5 and CX-9, as seen on the SUV’s headlights, grille and taillights. The interior however, follows that found in the CX-5, and features many familiar Mazda items like the steering wheel design, MZD infotainment system, seven-inch touchscreen, climate control system and switchgear.

This particular example is specified with a six-passenger layout, where the second row accommodates a pair of captain seats with a console box separating them. Access to the third row is achieved with a pull of the handle on either second-row seat, and the rearmost seating area is said to be comfortable for adults of up to 170-cm tall.

With the third row of seats, there’s 239 litres of boot space available when all three rows of seats are in their original position. Fold the third row down and there is now 572 litres. There’s also a multi-purpose sub-trunk 307 mm deep that sits below the floor of the luggage compartment to store items.

It was revealed last month that the CX-8 will be sold in markets outside Japan as well, although specific markets (including those in the ASEAN region) weren’t mentioned at the time. Would you be interested in the CX-8 over the CX-9?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Fahmi on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:16 pm

The seats look comfy even for the third row! Built quality looks on par with the Germans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Captain seat for 2nd row, great!

• 7yrsold on Oct 25, 2017 at 7:48 pm

Can transform to 3 seats?

• Zulkifly on Oct 26, 2017 at 6:56 am

This car will sell well in Malaysia because most families in Malaysia have 6 to 12 children. With Abah and Ibu, you need 8 seats minimum

• 12yrsold on Oct 26, 2017 at 8:48 am

With a large family, chances are they have large expenses hence they will have difficulties paying for installments, grocery bills & utilities not to mention education bills too.

Family that have 6 to 12 children should buy a mini bus. Just saying bro. No pun intended.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Agree. And not all big family need a budget mpv.

• $omeone loaded on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Same priced as BRV. This is the perfect family car for Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Too high. Parents will have to help small kids to get in everytime

• Cheapskate! You are expecting this to cost Rm80k like the third world Brv?? LOL

• Mazda Fan on Oct 25, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Yes, please bring in this CX-8. The 2nd row captain seats and comfy 3rd row seats will attract many buyers. Good Job Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Potential buyer on Oct 25, 2017 at 7:51 pm

3rd row seats are too crampy. Thanks but no thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • What a beautiful, practical 3 rows SUV! I really want one for my family!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Mazda kini sungguh berjaya. Seperti Hyundai dari Korea, syarikat2 pengeluar kereta ini dulu dikutuk. Namun kini Hyundai sudah setaraf pengeluar2 kereta antarabangsa yang lain.

Tapi kenapa mereka boleh maju? boleh berjaya?
    Kejayaan yang dikecapi adalah kerana semangat patriotik yang begitu utuh daripada rakyat Korea mereka sendiri menyokong kereta buatan Hyundai.

Jadi belum lambat lagi bagi semua rakyat Malaysia sendiri, menyokong kuat kereta buatan Proton. Kita tentu dapat lihat kemajuan, kejayaan Proton seperti yang ditempa oleh Hyundai. Proton Boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
    • Sohai on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:17 pm

Tunjuk contoh semua mentari sila pakai Saga dan hanya dibenarkan beli & pakai kereta nasina potong shj. Saman 1 juta jika beli, pakai, tumpang depan belajang, naik sj kereta jenama asing. Mcm ni confon semua rakyat ikut.

• Plan to go for Fortuner 2.4D rm200k, but this 2.2D has better hp n torque and should be 100-200kg lighter…if rm200k too, sure go for this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Michael on Oct 25, 2017 at 11:22 pm

Yes….!! Finally, a new car than a recon.
    Please please come with the right price….

• Bring it on to Malaysia. With the right pricing below 150K, any full 7 seaters SUV will be selling like a hot cake in malaysia.

More MPV and 5 seater SUV owner will upgrade to this.

I will say bye bye to my long serving Estima.

• 12yrsold on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:03 am

Looks like this CX-8 was designed to carry CEO, COO, Chairman & President with the Captain seats.

U know la, most of these executives are usually older who prefer to sit higher. It is easier to get in & out too compare to a 7-Series or S-Class. Not all Rich man are badge snob.

• carazy on Oct 26, 2017 at 11:14 am

12yrsold, if u comparing 7-series and S-class, then this Mazda is not a comparable to those cars. RR or Bently SUV is more suite to the class. CX-8 is not rich guy toys, its just a normal SUV for normal ppl.

• 12yrsold on Oct 26, 2017 at 12:57 pm

He he he. When this CX-8 come here,it will be priced at RM250 to RM300k, then U can tell me if this is a “normal” SUV.

My point is the “captain seat”/seating height & the ease of getting in & out of a SUV. Not all tycoon or rich businessman like to be driven in a limo.

Mark Zukerberg of Facebook goes around town in a Honda Jazz. In fact none of his vehicles cost more than US30,000 That is why I said not ALL Rich man are badge snob.

• ganni on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:13 am

yes for me..and i believe most malaysian will prefer this over cx-9..i reckon it will be price in 250k range..

• Will MacCormac on Oct 27, 2017 at 4:05 am

Another great looking Mazda that will take too long to reach the Thai market. 2019 perhaps lol.

• Jürg Hölzle on Oct 29, 2017 at 6:49 pm

According to the Bangkok Post, the CX-8 may come to Thailand in 2018, at a price of about 2.3 million Baht. This would be quite a good price. Mazda Thailand doesn’t have a new model for 2018 and the introduction of the CX-8 can keep Mazda in the press and improve the image as a more luxury brand.

• Jürg Hölzle on Oct 29, 2017 at 6:46 pm

I very like the CX-8 – but it was not love at first sight as with the CX-9 (or CX-3 ore CX-5). The CX-9 is larger, more muscular and more a SUV. The CX-8 is more a crossover wagon. It looks very good in white and red. I also like the 2nd row of the CX-8.

My choice is given which car would be available in Thailand. There is a good change, that we will get the CX-8 at a reasonable price, compared to the CX-9.

• Richard on Nov 03, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Really hope Bermaz will bring in the 2.2 turbo diesel. I’ll surely buy if it s so.. And if the price is below 215k