Tokyo 2017: Subaru WRX STI S208 – 329 PS, 432 Nm

Tokyo 2017: Subaru WRX STI S208  – 329 PS, 432 Nm

The Subaru WRX STI S208 has officially made its public debut at the 2017 Tokyo Motor Show, where just 450 units will make their way to lucky customers in Japan. The model boasts aesthetic as well as performance enhancements, similar to the previous WRX STI S207.

Under the bonnet, an EJ20 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine churns out 329 PS at 7,200 rpm along with 432 Nm of torque from 3,200 to 4,800 rpm. Mated to the powerplant is a six-speed manual transmission, with power going to all four wheels.

In terms of styling, S208 is fitted with a NBR Challenge Package that includes front and rear spoiler lips, black 19-inch BBS alloy wheels as well as side skirts. There’s also a carbon-fibre roof and rear wing, the latter with ‘S208’ on the endplates.

Inside, there’s an Alcantara-wrapped steering wheel with contrast stitching and the STI badge at the bottom spoke, gloss red accents including on the main dashboard trim, aluminium pedals and leather bucket seats. A serial number plate is also placed between the gear shifter and SI-DRIVE selector to identify to showcase the model’s exclusivity.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• (Like) Civic Type R.
    (Dislike) WRX STI S208

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 89
  • Semut Merah on Oct 25, 2017 at 4:18 pm

Jepunis car design always looked like Gaban or suria perkasa hitam….:)

• GLA45 AMG on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Same like Honda Type R, Japanese car still left behind to german brand .When sedan car with 300hp or more they have no idea for auto gear, still opt for lousy manual shift stick. No super quick dual clutch like AMG or volks…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 60
    • Lousy manual? Gentlemen love manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Pondan merc on Oct 25, 2017 at 9:19 pm

He only knows how to tekan the pedal and brake with 2 hands to steer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • honda on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:21 pm

The only people who would buy an old-fashioned gearstick manual are the sort who choose not to have a washing machine because they prefer to clean their clothes in the local river.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 34
        • Rightwinger on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:40 am

Yeah like F1 drivers, I guess they’re losers too ya?

• akule_sapelagi on Oct 26, 2017 at 12:30 pm

YEZZZAAA.

• Oh really? Now I know that the legendary Mitsu Evo with super snappy 6-speed SST is not from Japan. *sarcasm*

• please read first why type R using manual..No idea how to install it as the car become heavier, less balance and expensive.. They have try it but was failed.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:23 pm

the evo x with sst has no value at all lol….

• German fanboi on Oct 26, 2017 at 12:05 am

Can you drive stick? A grandma can hop onto your so called “hi tech”, toy-like dual clutch and drive it ridiculously fast at Sepang, because you’re not driving the car, the electronics do it for you.

If you drive this STI or Tyre R, you are going to crash and die, because you have NO SKILL to handle it. It’s all about SKILL, get it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Already with manual from saga to Waja but its ok cheap car with manual. This car 2017 with only manual option. What a crap almost same standard like old saga.. Even preve hv high tech gearbox than this crap subaru.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Because manual transmisson easy to make a drift. Pair with manual hand brake.

• Old gtr on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:03 pm

GLA45 AMG for your information , only real man used 3 pedal , your 380hp car easily my old r33 gtr 600hp can tapau , no need super quick dual clutch , only need gear 1 2 3 4 5 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • R33 already 21 years old, outdated, old car can send for scrap. No technologies, inefficient. Those who want speed but no money can buy R33.. Kereta buruk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Old gtr on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:19 am

R33 , buruk buruk pun my old gtr can reach 300km easily , hahahaha , why buy a car with technologies if always goes to workshop

• contilover & Proton on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:48 am

Japanese still afraid to invest dual clutch in their racing cars because they know their technology can only do for Hybrid. Goodluck if U still want to drive manual in high congestion area. Dont ever say real man drive three pedal pui…i ride Superbike..u want to brag on manual? then drive Superbike!!! feel the power n corner but can pass through jam. period!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • ugly color