Isuzu Malaysia appoints Koji Nakamura at its new CEO

Isuzu Malaysia has announced the appointment of Koji Nakamura as its new chief executive officer, who will oversee all operational aspects of the company, including sales, after sales and finance. Nakamura will succeed Kenji Matsuoka, who vacates the position he has held since 2015. Aiding him will be Mikio Tsukui, COO for Commercial Vehicle Division, and Masayuki Suzuki, COO for Light Commercial Vehicle Division.

“Koji Nakamura has years of extensive experience, which include strategic planning, sales and operations, in addition to helming diverse leadership roles in the competitive automotive industry. I am delighted that I will be passing over the reins to someone with such excellent aptitude, high optimism and fresh perspective to lead this organisation,” said Matsuoka.

During Matsuoka’s term, Isuzu Malaysia improved its ranking in Malaysia’s top automotive company by volume from seventh to sixth, and improved the D-Max’s market share to 14.7% in the past year. “Throughout my tenure at Isuzu Malaysia, the company has experienced immense growth for which I am tremendously proud of”, Matsuoka added.

On assuming his new position, Nakamura said, “there are always opportunities to grow the business in any economic climate. I believe that my team is capable in realising our vision and subsequent growth in the coming years. My task at hand is to focus on improving our operational best practices, as well as intensifying vehicle sales.”

“I am very excited to take up this new challenge. I have been privileged to manage automotive business units on a global scale, and I will do my very best to bring Isuzu Malaysia to the next level in the local automotive industry”, he continued.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Norhaqeem on Nov 01, 2017 at 6:18 pm

Local M’sia talent can perform similarly well at much lower pay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Operation Manager on Nov 02, 2017 at 11:41 am

Good job, Isuzu only having 2models but the Jan-Sep2017 sales selling more than Mazda 14models(sedan,suv,truck,mpv,hatchback).
      Who is leading Mazda…? Why customer rejected Mazda…?

• henry on Nov 06, 2017 at 12:06 pm

Looks like you have missed trucks with extensive model range which they are selling..

• Chris on Nov 01, 2017 at 9:58 pm

Congratulation to your new appointment. Just want to say, your vehicles are Very UGLY and Relatively Expensive…

• We want the DMAX 1.9. It was mentioned by Paultan that it was going to in Malaysia in April 2017 but until today nothing of that sort. Why the delay? Facing design and engine problems with the new model ? Enlighten us

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 02, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Hopefully this new ceo will bring in better isuzu engines and transmission. The current ceo refused to update the gearbox and blue power diesel engines

• camtakpro on Nov 03, 2017 at 7:45 am

Isuzu Mu-X 1.9TD 6AT 4WD pls.