Renault Megane GT – 1.6L turbo, 205 PS hot hatch

TC Euro Cars has unveiled the first iteration of the Renault Megane IV in the country, and it’s a non-RS model – the Megane GT has been brought in to Malaysia for a preview, and will be on display at selected Renault showrooms over the next few weeks.

The show unit is equipped with an Energy TCe 205 engine – the 1.6 litre turbocharged four-pot offers 205 PS at 6,000 rpm and 280 Nm from 2,400 rpm, which is good enough to propel the GT from standstill to 100 km/h in 7.1 seconds. It’s paired with an Efficient Dual Clutch (EDC) transmission.

The GT, developed in collaboration with Renault Sport, comes with Pure Vision full LED headlamps and LED tail lights, and features a number of design items to differentiate it from its regular Megane siblings.

These include more aggressively designed front and rear bumpers, a rear diffuser with dual chrome exhaust exits, gunmetal 17-inch alloy wheels and darker exterior accents as well as GT and Renault Sport badging.

Inside, the cabin is dressed with GT black/blue upholstery and GT badging on the dashboard trim and front headrests, Renault Sport door sills, satin-finish chrome accents and a leather-trimmed steering wheel with aluminium paddle shifters.

Also on, a seven-inch colour TFT instrument display and a portrait-format seven-inch touchscreen for the R-Link 2 multimedia system, which features an eight-speaker Arkamys 3D sound system. Kit includes automatic dual-zone air-conditioning, a reverse camera and cruise control.

Specifications for the car include 4Control four-wheel steering, Multi Change Down – which enables rapid downshifting on the EDC transmission – and launch control.

Elsewhere, the Multi-Sense system with five driving modes sees its Eco mode replaced with an R.S. Drive mode, and the GT is equipped with a chassis package that has a dedicated set of calibrations for the dampers, springs, ESP and brakes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Good effort… but Proton 1.6 litre turbo more responsive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 47
    • Johnson Amigo on Nov 10, 2017 at 10:56 am

the interior felt like 1990s car interior…e.g. the gear knob..aircond vents…center console…

• TongHoi on Nov 09, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Can buy it but after that maintenance tak boleh tahan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Ask all vendor and supplier support sure the maintenance will be cheaper as local or jepunis.

• I miss Ohwai on Nov 09, 2017 at 8:52 pm

Those who buy Renault always happy the first year. Then, the 2nd year onwards, the get heart attack when they want to sell their cars. They get a shock of their lives to know the RV is only 50%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
  • myvi power on Nov 09, 2017 at 11:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 133
    • myviyourvi on Nov 10, 2017 at 7:55 am

Shit myvi owner says, my 4 speed gearbox is bulletproof, proven since the the 1980s…plus the car will auto brake while i take selfie.

#lagipowerlgbest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Why is the engine bay seriously messed up?

• No 6 speed manual?

• thepolygonal on Nov 10, 2017 at 8:43 am

Aiyoo the center console… why?

• arowana on Nov 10, 2017 at 8:53 am

i prefer the look with Renault Sport logo inspired foglamps in the RS

• 12yrsold on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:07 am

Can anyone here tell me that this Megane 1.6 turbo HB is NOT desirable !!? With 200 HP, it is already better than most 1.6 liter sedan/HB running around bar some.

The problem with Renault in MY boils down to perception that a Renault car do NOT have RV due to spare parts.

Hey, after all, this is the Best time to be different IF U have the means bcos U don’t want to conform to a certain dogma/standard with common people who drive a Proton, Perodua, Honda, Toyo, Nissan or Hyundai/Kia.

If U test drive this car, U will be surprised that the seats are up to mark, the NVH are good, the handling are better due to its nature of being a Hot Hatch & the looks are one of the better looking conti car if U see it at night while the Led light are superb too.

It all boil down to the price & I’m afraid that is the Most telling factor of this French car called Megane GT.

• SpongeWai on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:11 am

good car but why manual handbrake and I thought the center screen was big in GT spec

• stasta on Nov 13, 2017 at 10:57 am

manual seats suck. its competitors like honda civic and peugeot 408 have electronic adjustable seats

• C. P. MOHAN on Nov 10, 2017 at 10:20 am

Many years ago a friend was showing-off his then new hi-fi which cost him a “bomb” to purchase, it was good, but for ‘connoisseurs’ like him, it was his word, the “bomb” was worth it. The bottomline is only for those who can truly appreciate it unlike us the average-joe

• Where’s the electronic parking brake

• familiman on Nov 10, 2017 at 12:45 pm

was the A/V head unit “localized”?… got android auto/apple car play?

• mufcwin on Nov 10, 2017 at 2:31 pm

If Megane GT is called hot hatch, then what will you call the new Megane RS?

• shiftSpank on Nov 10, 2017 at 9:10 pm

What happened to the interior designer!? The center console is horrible.

• davenport on Nov 10, 2017 at 11:52 pm

the sales people told me today it will be priced around 200k, basically current Megane RS price.

ridiculous.

• I thought will be cheaper. The current rs265 sport is only rm198k+ and 0-100 is only 6.0sec.

• Meghani on Nov 13, 2017 at 10:10 pm

I asked the salesperson during MAI autoshow last weekend, price would be around 240K.
    Can someone confirm on this? I doubt the price is around that area and he doesn’t have the proper product knowledge as well..
    “4Control ni apa?”
    “Emmm.. ini eh? i kena check balik la abang…”

• exterior look very sporty but the interior esp the center console…………..Now, price is very important. If ard rm180k, I think it can be sold with higher volume than current rs. Volvo V40 t5 will be closest competitor. V40 also another model that look nice from exterior but interior……V40 t5 0–100 is only 6.3sec.