Infiniti QX80 facelift debuts ahead of Dubai show

The facelifted Infiniti QX80 has yet to make its international debut, but the first wave of pictures have already surfaced online. Visually, the updated face bears close resemblance to the QX80 Monograph concept previewed earlier in April, making it significantly more pleasing to the eye despite the subtle enhancements.

New to the fascia are the larger grille, sleeker LED headlamps with LED daytime running lights, restyled bumper with new fog lamps and neater fender vents. The rear also gets some visual tweaks, with a new bumper and an adjoining chrome strip between the wholly-redesigned tail lamps. It sits on 20-inch wheels as standard, but this can be upgraded to 22-inch items if desired.

Inside, the cabin is barely touched, save for new wood trimmings, redesigned cup holders and revised instrument panel lighting. Apparently, Infiniti improved on insulation, while providing new black carpeting and an updated rear seat entertainment system with larger displays.

Powering this behemoth is the same naturally-aspirated 5.6 litre V8 engine, making 405 hp at 5,800 rpm and 560 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Drive is sent to all four corners through a seven-speed automatic gearbox. The 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 6.8 seconds and top speed is pegged at 210 km/h, while its combined fuel consumption is rated at 14.5 litres per 100 km (yes, you read that right) based on the NEDC cycle.

The 5.3 metre-long QX80 was first introduced in Malaysia back in 2014, carrying a sticker price of RM798k before insurance. As of 2017, a seven-year, unlimited-mileage warranty is packaged along with the purchase.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• I miss Ohwai on Nov 13, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Infiniti has failed big time in Malaysia. Their pricing tak masuk akal.

Their cheapest Q50 now RM240k. Where got logic? In overseas, this is considered a cheap car. Just slightly more expensive than a Nissan. Maybe 25% more expensive than a Nissan

Can Infiniti tell us how many old QX80 they sold since 2014?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Farhat on Nov 13, 2017 at 7:31 pm

Infiniti here is a niche market vehicle brand/sub- brand. It is however regarded as a more premium Nissan, similar to how prices for the Lexus ES is significantly higher than a Camry with similar specs. Please do not compare with US prices.

Those who have the cash has a variety now thanks to Infiniti. You have 240k to spend (or pinjam from bank), and you dont want to follow the usual crowd of MLM/Unit Trust youngsters with their BMW 320i. Which car would you spend on to look different? Not necessarily a better buy.

But do know this, Infiniti has a much premium feeling interior compared to the late beamers (F30s etc). Its soft touch leather everywhere, but you are getting japanese interior design and not the bland german version (yes, new beamers are beautiful on the inside but that is recently). It is more plush than sporty. Its a more relaxing cruiser, not a bend negotiator.

Bare in mind that from my time spending months trying to compare the 3 to Q50 Premium before i made the purchase, Infitity did give out free Maintenance (similar to BMWs BSRI) for 3 years (The pre-registered BMWs are 5) but i had the chance to take the offer or deduct RM8000 from the deposit. Yes, according to the paperworks and maintenance, it follows a strict 5-10k KM schedule and 3 years of schedule maintenance would set you back RM8k.. alot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • His question is simple, should it price like that even it is cheaper outside My. Even after add the tax, it is still cheaper then most CBU conti. Blame the tax?Niche market here? Nahh…More to easy to con i presume.

• The front end of the old QX80 resembles the head of a sperm whale. Infiniti went for a distinctive design but instead ended with a weird one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • I used to drive a Q70 when i was in US. A beautiful machine, and will definitely invest in another Infiniti when I am able to afford one. I drive a Toyota now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12