Proton sales jump 13% in October, 6% up year-to-date

Proton has announced that it recorded a 13% jump in sales during the month of October – the national carmaker sold 5,083 vehicles last month, 585 units up compared to the 4,498 units that left dealer lots in September. The company says that its year-to-date sales performance has also risen 6% or 3,646 units to 61,380 units, vis-à-vis the 57,734 units sold in the same period last year.

As expected, the Saga and Persona sedans made up the lion’s share of that figure, contributing a massive 70% to Proton’s overall sales. In total, 26,343 units of the Saga and 16,833 units of the Persona have found homes in the first 10 months of the year; the latter marks a 57.5% increase over the 10,687 Personas sold in the same period in 2016. The latest second-generation model was launched in August last year.

The results coincides with the current Amazing 5 Value promotion, with Proton offering a five-year/100,000 km free service package and rebates of up to RM8,000. “The [free service] includes parts, engine oil and labour charges for a hassle-free maintenance and peace of mind to our customers. From just RM398 a month, you can bring home a champion,” said vice president of sales and marketing Abdul Rashid Musa.

What champion, you may ask? Well, Proton won the Sepang 1,000 km endurance race recently, which it says proves the ride and handling prowess of its cars. “Our drivers cited that apart from driving skills, the characteristics of the Proton car itself provided an advantage to the team. They are the outstanding ride and handling capabilities and its consistent performance. Those are the basic characteristics of a Proton car which customers can expect to enjoy when they purchase our cars,” said Rashid.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• hamtaro on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:16 am

Geely leadership oredy delivered amazing results!! In sucha short time Iriz1000km!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • John Nujum on Nov 21, 2017 at 8:02 am

Next month Proton sales will drop -50%.

Next year Proton sales will drop -100%.

Let’s blame rakyat for ignoring Proton.

Myvi > All.

• Nofanone on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:16 am

Well after new myvi launched, can proton kipidap?

• Powershot on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:21 am

Isn’t it suppose to be a tiger, instead of a lion?

• tokmoh. on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:23 am

Syukur, famili Geely terus berkembang maju.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Bernard on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:40 am

With the new myvi, no one is going to buy saga and persona!

Unless they introduce something great like the only great car they ever had; proton satria 1.8 Gti …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Dogbert on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:44 am

When we consider products, we also look at the stability of the company behind it. E.g. need to sell roughly how many units to break even for a company the size of Proton ?

• Remove that no-longer-in-production Perdana from the picture lah.

• fadzili Rahman on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:47 am

I wonder how many of these cars were given Free to vendors that Proton owes money to? they do this and after delivery they say we sold it. I knew many vendors who got Perdana and Persona cars from proton like this. cheaters

• John Gagal on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:48 am

But still way below 150,000 units to break even, make profits and avoid asking another 1 billion loan.

• It’s still garbage cars. 99% of Msians agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • 99% MY pipu agrees, a safe garbage is still better than an axle-less garbage.

• Congrats Proton on its rebound thou, it’ll take alot more to take on what is currently, the darling of the Malaysian market, the Myvi. Perodua also said they will continue to update their models so is definitely not going to be any easier in the coming years.

I forsee Honda to loose the no.2 spot to Proton in years to come as China-led Proton begin to gear up its competitiveness starting with the Boyue (If still priced Proton style). Honda’s ace next year will probably be the new Accord but thats basically a low-volume model compared to the rest of its lineup. But Honda’s biggest threat would probably be the new Myvi eating into the sales of its bread & Butter City and Jazz.

• st3wp1d on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:36 pm

no market study no talk le bro.. this is malaysia lah, otherwise please export the P1 to 3rd world country.

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Nov 20, 2017 at 11:13 am

Perodua market study: people wants car that are cheap, fuel efficient, just enough safety(but most doesnt even care), easy to maintain, enough space for whole family + daily luggage.
    Proton market study: people wants a car to race on tracks on a daily basis.
    Also proton market study: people wants ertiga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • perotong on Nov 20, 2017 at 11:19 am

Nobody Cares…..

• Wiralution 11 on Nov 20, 2017 at 11:25 am

Proton > all

• komarad on Nov 20, 2017 at 11:28 am

From just RM398 a month, you can bring home a champion,” said vice president of sales and marketing Abdul Rashid Musa…… really?

• chock on Nov 20, 2017 at 9:34 pm

Ya Rashid musa, why dont you bring that home yourself first then you can talk…

• Jinbaitai on Nov 20, 2017 at 9:58 pm

Actually, he owns 3 Protons , and he personally drives an Iriz as a daily car. He is a rare one that believe in his own product and not those Malaysian ministers who say support own product but travel in a luxury car. Pls check some facts before you say something next time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Sam lu on Nov 20, 2017 at 11:37 am

But saga + persona cannot beat bezza sales loorr..

• I would like to know how the sales of the perdana is doing too

• computerbook on Nov 20, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Spread Rumors…. Perodua is an association of manufacturers or suppliers with the purpose of maintaining prices at a high level and restricting competition cause Perodua doesnt allow other brands like Volkswagen, BMW, Mercedes Benz, Volvo, Honda, Toyota, Nissan to be at the top, only Perodua is only wanted itself to be at the top which is very selfish, highly offensive, snobbish, awful and disrespectful to other car brands. Lastly don’t buy Perodua and also hopefully Perodua sales will keep on dropping

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • willy on Nov 20, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Although its good to have increased sales, but thats not something to be proud of as a car marker. the volume is too low to sustain the profit… good luck ….

btw, we really hate your thundercat logo

• anonymous on Nov 20, 2017 at 12:49 pm

Proton’s one month sales < Perodua all new Myvi one day book

That's all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Driver on Nov 20, 2017 at 12:55 pm

Congratz Proton. Please work harder since the competitor has already launch the new “bomb”, if you know what i mean.

• Proton oh Proton on Nov 20, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Give more discount dude and can sales more…

• sabahan on Nov 20, 2017 at 1:43 pm

a great news for proton!

• wan amrin on Nov 20, 2017 at 1:47 pm

8K rebate & 5 year free maintenance.
    At the end of the day still making
    massive losses.
    P1 buyers in Oct.butthurt admiring new Myvi with all the top features.

• Charm on Nov 20, 2017 at 2:01 pm

and this will be the last…..

• thepolygonal on Nov 20, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Best Proton kill of deadwood models like Ertiga and Suprima. First local carmaker to introduce a plug-in hybrid with affordable pricing will get the sales +++. Waiting for Perodua to win that trophy? The Iriz model is ripe for EV conversion… you have shown us before it has been done. Just wondering what’s holding you back Proton?

• ramlee k on Nov 20, 2017 at 11:40 pm

Proton has no money.
      With zero cash flow how to introduce any new products.
      Future plans all on hold which includes the new GDi engines.
      Not feasible cos just don’t have the numbers to justify spending another 100 mil.
      Waiting for Geely to map their fate.
      So in the mean time they cut loss and offer ridiculous prices.
      Stocks piling up while sales is dwindling.
      Good for consumers but co sinking.

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 20, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Then drop like a stone Nov & Dec 2017.

Kena whack kau kau by Myvi.

• Karam Singh on Nov 20, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Without 8k discounts, sales would dip lower.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 20, 2017 at 8:28 pm

Biggest mistake for Proton is to name iris sedan as Persona. They could have design a new Persona with similar dimensions as the old model & ditch the Preve. The iriz could have another compact SUV variant. These 4 models would have given them the sales volume. Preve, Suprima, Ertiga and Perdana are a waste of resources.

• what are you talking abt?

what matters is the segment. and to me, proton is still confuse of what segment they want to differentiate into.

example :

saga – b segment (no hatchback version
      persona & iriz – (old persona model looks like c segment. but new persona model looks b segment. iriz is obviously b hatchback segment to compete myvi)
      waja & preve & suprima – c segment. for suprima is c segment hatchback
      perdana – d segment
      not to mention exora as well. i might think it’s an mpv belongs to D family.

as you can see. how many model do you need per segment? proton is totally confused. from start, they keep making sedan and sedan and sedan, while keep throwing money coming out with new chassis, etc etc.

you can see how perodua clever enough tweaking myvi platform turning it to look like jazz platform and reduce cost instead throwing awal billions of RM just for new chassis and making entirely new thing for new model.

i see proton failure is the management itself – fail to see demand source coming from where, ‘syok sendiri’ coming out with car with ugly design.

when they first launched preve, the kia forte and civic fc has long available in the market. yet they make preve uglier though they could make that car as a benchmark.

same goes with iriz. whats the need of making new platform/chassis if you’ve already spending much on satria neo. just tweak that platform’lah to be the new iriz. not spending for completely new product and keep losing money.

too many mistakes in leadership. i just hope geely start doing something with the management issue.

• KenJi on Nov 21, 2017 at 11:45 am

Agree with u. But the sad thing, they won’t listen.

• Carlover on Nov 20, 2017 at 9:51 pm

Proton Geely has to start again or restart like a game, with just 5000 unit sales monthly, seems like, no light at the end of tunnel. And if they still insist of keeping everything, like number of staffs etc… they will lose a lot of money in the near future . For the management of proton geely, now their biggest tasks are to think on how to beat perodua n regain malaysian trust. N another impossible thing is to export their cars. Initially, Both companies are not supposedly to compete in the same segment. Both companies should instead complement each other.

• Jinbaitai on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:48 pm

Actually Chinaman management is working on it, the first thing they do is to shut down the Shah Alam factory.

• Betol Tak? on Nov 21, 2017 at 12:12 pm

Better focus on export Bangladesh market, can sell 1 million Proton cars there.

• Selling 5k units and boasting already. What loss in rgt has the company achieved ytd? Has the company paid back the govt loan? Don’t use the rnd reimbursement to report as profit

• Keiaorjwkabvt on Nov 21, 2017 at 6:31 am

Oi. Any news abt new suprima s? – we heard abt preve quite recently , iirc.

Tot I saw one otr(plus highway-to north from kl) , tot itwas just normal test drive but , it seems not lah.. So , me here just want to ask if any news.

Still , what abt preve too? No news? As told in that article. Should we expect proton to react to new myvi? Like giving us a similar kind of facelift like perodua did? Lol.

• i believe buyers from public actually not much in october (perhaps all the time). perhaps this value comes from the 1000 units bought by KAPB for ride-sharing uber/grab program for persona/saga model. pity proton to playaround with figures but in actual doesnt profit much

• Geely took over and Toyota beats proton in October. Good start for chinaman.

• Motor Image on Dec 03, 2017 at 7:42 am

Its funny that I say this but the Saga & Persona VVT is the main reasons why people gamble to give it a try and its prove to be more fuel efficient and slightly better than the previous engine they replaced.Im not saying the Campro VVT is comparable with Japanese engine but the again it’s not that bad either.Next Proton should just ditch those Punch CVT and go for more reliable Japanese CVT.