As petrol prices go up, some want return of RON 92

Fuel prices are down today, but it was on an upward trend prior to this week’s dive. Rising transport costs have been affecting those in the lower income ground and now, there are calls from consumer associations for the government to bring back cheaper RON 92 petrol, The Sun reports.

Deputy president of Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations Yusof Abdul Rahman said it was timely for the government to bring back RON 92 to offset the rising cost of living. “RON 92 could be used for vehicles with lower engine capacity, which mostly belong to those in the lower income group,” he told the daily, while suggesting that the government provide a subsidy on RON 92 to assist those in the B40 (bottom 40% in income) bracket.

Heard the call before? In September 2013, then deputy finance minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan suggested that RON 92 be brought back as a cheaper petrol option after the price of RON 95 went up by 20 sen.

RON 92 petrol was discontinued in 2009, replaced by the current RON 95 as the default petrol grade. The report pointed out that in Singapore, SPC’s LEVO 92 grade currently retails at S$2.19 per litre (RM6.66), slightly lower than the S$2.23 (RM6.78) of LEVO 95.

The Malaysian Muslim Consumer Association suggests a different approach. Chief activist Datuk Nadzim Johan said studies need to be done on RON 92 to establish its impact on the environment. “It may not be suitable for the environment and all vehicle types,” he said, adding that the government could alternatively introduce a targeted subsidy initiative. “For example, petrol subsidy could be given to those earning below RM3,000 per month,” he said.

Bringing back RON 92 is not viable, according to Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia president Datuk Khairul Annuar Abdul Aziz. “New cars are made for RON 95 and above. Going back will only create havoc to the industry,” he said, adding that instead of that, the government should ensure that fuel options are priced and subsidised fairly.

The government has taken note of the situation and says it is looking into appropriate measures to reduce the impact of rising global petroleum prices. It will introduce these should the price of RON 95 and diesel in the country exceed RM2.50 per litre consecutively for the next three months.

“The government is concerned and understands the impact following the rise of global crude oil prices that are presently more than US$60 (RM250) per barrel. Currently, the government has implemented a rationalisation step towards subsidising petroleum products in line with the trend of rising or decreasing world crude oil prices. This measure has been successful in reducing leakage and ensuring targeted subsidies,” the ministry of finance said in a statement.

The government says that it still subsidises fuel in this new managed float system. “Although we went through (a change in) fuel price mechanism, the government still subsidises (fuel prices) sometimes. In certain periods if it goes up, we subsidise a bit,” treasury secretary-general Tan Sri Mohd Irwan Serigar Abdullah said last month.

“We still subsidise a few hundred million (ringgit) a month, but I don’t know what will happen in the future. Formerly, we subsidised RM22 billion, after rationalising, around hundreds of million,” he added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• arowana on Nov 23, 2017 at 10:56 am

nice.. instead of going forward, we are going backwards.. very nice indeed

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 8
    • passion on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:44 am

thats the hard reality for Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Jamal Nasser on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:46 pm

This should be reintroduced. I used to use it before and it saved me money.

Pls remember, according to official EPF statistics, 73% of all EPF contributors only earn RM1500 and below.

With cost of living, GST and food prices, paying also the highest car prices in the world and one of the highest petrol prices in amongst oil producing nations, we Malaysians lead a difficult life.

Pls reduce petrol prices and reintroduce this Ron 92 at a cheaper price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
    • Rightwinger on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:38 pm

Hardly backwards. RON 91/92/93 is considered ‘regular’/ pump gas…, 95 is premium boy! That’s how pampered you are!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
      • arowana on Nov 23, 2017 at 2:46 pm

even 95 considers as premium, why cant we have it as entry grade?

after all, we are one of the oil producing countries and should deserve even better fuels at an even lower price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • Rightwinger on Nov 23, 2017 at 3:38 pm

‘oil producing country’…. Tak habis2 dgn phrase tu. Regular gas in Saudi, one of the biggest oil producer, is Ron 91.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
          • arowana on Nov 23, 2017 at 4:54 pm

is there anything wrong Malaysia as an “oil producing country”?

• teong kim on Nov 23, 2017 at 5:23 pm

before 2009, Rakyat enjoyed RON97 as regular petrol. Those were Malaysia glory days, times bygone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Imatt on Nov 24, 2017 at 8:41 am

We are already going backwards the moment ron95 was introduced years ago. Before that, majority of us are using ron97.

• taweel on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:03 am

Our mentality is offset to Higher RON = Good Quality.

Mostly Japaneses or local car can take at least RON90 without any problem same like Thailand, Indonesia and even Australia sold RON91 as regular fuel.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • isengard12 on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:46 am

Yeah, we need to change that mentality. If we have good quality RON92 (EURO 4 & above), why worry? Every car makers now are working to improve efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • RON has nothing to do with how ‘clean’ a fuel is. The higher RON is to prevent knocking effect in engine and the only way to use lower RON values is to de-tune the engine. Highly efficient engines ekceli needs higher RON fuels (ie Skyactiv) due to the higher compression ratios needing later detonation. Ditto to tebo engines as well. Clean burning relates to EURO numbers, not RON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • we walk forward not backwards just my 2 cent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • ridea on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:10 am

RON 92 RM2.26
    RON 95 RM2.30
    RON 97 RM2.58

• Remox on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:14 am

Problem is Singapore sell Euro5 RON92…..its cleaner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • Aero (Member) on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:23 am

I hope petrol prices will rise even more in the next few months. A lot more. Above RM 2.50 per RON95 litre.

Like GST, petrol prices affect all 31 million Malaysians. But they affect low- and middle-income people hardest. BN’s voter base are mainly made up of this demographic.

If we want change, we must ‘make people angry’. Change won’t come so long as people are content with their state of living. But once people start feeling the pinch, they will lose faith in BN.

Rising fuel prices will get the message across. Some sacrifices must be made. Rising petrol prices could make or break the outcome of the upcoming election. Good luck to all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 8
  • ex-VGM staff on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:24 am

RON92 is not a problem, especially if your car has en EFI engine with knock sensor. The ECU will make necessary adjustment to the timing whether to advance or retard.

problem will apply to cars with carburettor or an EFI engine without knock sensor. Knocking will occur and engine will slightly lose power during a hot day (FC will increase a little bit).

this reason is why asian countries prefer to have 1.5 litre jazz, city, yaris and vios.

in europe they make do with 1.2 and 1.3 litre jazz, daihatsu sirion etc.. because the cold weather allows maximum engine optimisation.

i am okay with 92. mobil and esso the last stations selling it until 2009. bring it back pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • PetrolHead on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:31 am

It is not true that new cars require RON 95. Cars like the Perodua Bezza/MyVi require RON 91 fuel – so RON 92 will be more than enough. That is why RON 92 fuel is available in Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • John Gagal on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:32 am

Just buy fuel-efficient Perodua cars. Problem solved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Problem is, P2 isnt fuel efficient at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • john is otak batu on Nov 23, 2017 at 4:13 pm

new one has EEV status – axia, bezza and myvi Mk.III

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 23, 2017 at 6:39 pm

My mother, who isn’t really a good driver gets only around 15km/l with her manual axia city driving mostly

• Imatt on Nov 24, 2017 at 8:54 am

Thats great already bro. How much more km/l do you want?

• EEV only in lab test. Cuba dulu. It sucks.

• Anonymous on Nov 24, 2017 at 5:02 pm

Really, only in lab?
            I got 20km/l easily last time I rented an Axia auto, travelling in the city, and that was my first time. Honda City, similar thing. Myvi auto, same deal. Here’s a tip; accelerate as fast as you will, but if at any point when you’re accelerating you tense your neck even slightly, you’re already accelerating too fast. This is civilized city driving, and as a bonus it is economical. It’s not even that slow, people are just too impatient. Many times when people would overtake me after a traffic light, we’d end up stopping at the same sets of lights the next 2 or 3 times. Why burn away more fuel and end up at the same place as the slow guy? People complain that these cars don’t perform as advertised, when in reality they’re the ones that have terrible driving habits.

• I just want our G to stop controlling ron97 price.

• simple rules, everybody with one car registered below 1.6liter and income below RM3k shall get rebate annualy say rm 400, LHDN to manage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • thepolygonal on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:49 am

We should go back further, use charcoal and steam engine… then this whole negara macam apa nama cerita anime itu???
    I am sure the petrol station guys gonna complain that they will need to have additional cost to maintain a separate tank for RON 92 and ask government for help.
    Oh please government from 1 problem don’t branch out to another problem by complicating the issue even further.

Anyway, cars and motorcycles are going electric nowadays. The less people use fossil fuel cars, the less government have to subsidize. And those who are unable to change to electric due to cost will enjoy more subsidy from government. Less people more share.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Gomorrah on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:50 am

“Bringing back RON 92 is not viable, according to Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia president Datuk Khairul Annuar Abdul Aziz. “New cars are made for RON 95 and above. Going back will only create havoc to the industry” What a brazen liar. The only havoc for the industry is how to recalculate the profit margin to fleece the rakyat.
    As others have pointed out, other countries are using RON 91 with no issues. Is this person telling us that cars are specially made for our higher base RON rating? Give me a break. The manufacturers have to specially tune the ECU’s to deal with the poor quality fuel in this country, where we have our own specification. It’s not just Euro 2,3,4,5 or 6, but have to add a special M designation after it so we get to escape the full specification. On top of that claim to have the cheapest fuel in the region/world. Compare apples with apples la not apple and durian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Nowaday, we still can afford to buy things.
    Its just the “thing” you bought getting smaller and lower quality.
    You still can afford a house at RM300k, but with only 700sqft.
    Same the the petrol fuel. From RON97 to RON95 to RON92…

• no corruption ! rakyat definately can enjoy better life…. I don want blam gov what they did the past.. of course , we rakyat hv to be works harder for better future. we don sit and wait tat only 500 what tat fund called !!
      As we all knows tat SG without natural resaurces but well done tat country , can get SGD 2.5 chickens rice in every food courts, their home appliance sell so cheap !! the road so nice !
      whatever lah ron 92 !!!

• drMpower on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Quite boring this petrol thing. These people not listening. They dont want to. They cannot stomach it. Once in 4-5 years they will come to you and pretend to listen. You dont succumb to this trickery. If you do then u suffer for another 4-5 years and by the time of it again, trickery comes again. Thats ‘angel you know’

There is no divine right the new one comes and they will listen to you. But they may have to. Because you proved that you hold the power. Well thats why the new one is there instead the old one.

So collectively people can hold the power and your voice will be listened to. Its no longer about if. You voice will be heard and adhered to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • U want cheap2 like Venezuela or expensive like Norway.. Noth are net oil exporter.

• tishaban on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:23 pm

Everyone is talking about reducing the cost of living but not enough people are talking about increasing income, either by raising salaries, improving the RM exchange rate or improving our education system so that our graduates can contribute to the economy and not just be grab or Uber drivers. Anyone graduating over the past 20 years would realize that starting salaries haven’t changed much since the 1990s.

Reducing cost should go hand in hand with increasing income.

• Graber on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:33 pm

If Ron 95 rise to 2.50 we grab uber driver and company die.

• not that bad idea, I believe. But maintain the RON 95, RON 97 too.

look it in such a way that the low-income earner that use old Saga, Iswara, Kancil, Kelisa or motorcycle, they can use this fuel. in fact, small lorry, carrier (for business) can minimise their business budget.

those with brand new car like us, we can either use RON 95, RON 97.

bring more option.

• knoxknockseverywhere on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:58 pm

I think my Atkinson 1.5L won’t llike it…

• Why still talking about subsidies when targeted approach works for those in need? Just scrap whatever subsidies remaining and open the market. Then gip support (ie BR1M, SL1M, PP1M, etc) to those that needs them.

• Sonyman on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Mari belakang…… Malaysia a country that moves forward from the back.

• I just came back from Korea. Most of the petrol stations sell 90 only there. very hardly available for 95 and above. I was quite surprised

• paparadzi on Nov 23, 2017 at 2:16 pm

Instead of crying for cheaper fuel, why don’t ee ask for cheaper cars instead? Cheap car, expensive fuel, total cost will still be the same. Then people will buy more fuel efficient cars and learn to drive in the way that saves fuel.

• Ben Yap on Nov 23, 2017 at 2:37 pm

Might as well bring back the proton wira.

• I’d rather they don’t bring back the ron 92 and push the economy upwards instead of driving it down. And improving the public transport at the same time.. we are way behind a lot of countries now..

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 23, 2017 at 6:41 pm

Taking public transportation can save me MYR10 every weekday

• Agreed. Gov shud stay the course and not get distracted by all this empty talk. Public transports > all

• No point if people’s driving habits don’t change, accelerating and braking hard instead of cruising. And on top of that, having picnic in the car with the engine and aircond turned on.

• Sama Kunta Loo on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:13 pm

Also i find when i driving an automatic car, high tendancy to accelerate and then brake every 5 – 10 seconds (even with gentle drive) compared with manual car where i can cruise control and maintain speed easily, even with slightly underpowered car.

• Empty on Nov 23, 2017 at 5:46 pm

No money buy car also priority cari makan first

• RicoT on Nov 23, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Make buses/public transport more punctual and more reliable map route for them, this will attract more daily driving commuters to try buses and public transport. I hope RapidKL/Penang can develop an app to inform that the next bus is how many stops away from the current bus stop (like Beijing, China).

• why not? even american a 1st world country still uses ron92..

bajet maju sangat la malaysia..mentality 3rd class

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 23, 2017 at 8:37 pm

lol backwards?

• Francis Lim on Nov 24, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Better still if can bring back the regular petrol of Ron 87 like the 80’s. A lot of vintage cars and bikes can accept this regular petrol.

• Aiman on Nov 30, 2017 at 3:37 pm

Stupid, going back to the dark age

• my car min is ron95. Hopeless for Malaysia, can never be high income country.

• Singapore,Indonesia,Thailand,China,Australia…they all use much lower ron than 95 as regular fuel…why not?