2018 Mercedes-Benz CLS – official images leaked

Official images of the 2018 Mercedes-Benz CLS have been leaked, and they show a sleek four-door coupe that’s very much inspired by the original CLS of 2005, more so than the second-generation W218 of 2011. That familiar “banana shape” is of course matched with the latest Mercedes family look at both ends.

As previewed by a teaser video, the new CLS’ face features a big three-pointed star logo on a studded grille, a treatment first seen on the A-Class.

The Multibeam LED headlamps here are slimmer and sharper than on the E-Class family, and will be the easiest way to tell a CLS apart from the front. The eyes have inverted L-shape LED daytime running lights as “eyebrows”. The car you see here has nice black multi-spoke rims and matte grey finish.

Follow the CLS’ trademark arch of a roofline to the back, and you’ll find a droopy butt and curved bootlid, as seen on the current E-Class Coupe. Compared to the two-door, the CLS has a larger rear screen and sharper rear lights that turn up once they enter the boot. The latter has LED signatures that trace the shape of the cluster.

The interior is as per the E-Class Coupe, complete with the headlining long screen and four central vents. The latter has ambient lighting in the middle of the “turbine”, something which the upcoming A-Class will also get. The steering wheel you see here is Merc’s latest design, as seen on the facelifted S-Class. Merc fans in the office have also pointed out that the door panel speaker grilles for the Burmester sound system are new – no longer just circles, they now look like eyes.

Mercedes says that the new CLS is “the original, perfected.” Like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• It’s like a whale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Apernie on Nov 28, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Wow, a sea lion…owh, i’m on a wrong website…

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 28, 2017 at 8:49 pm

It should be the CLE because it”s based on the e class not s…cla is based on a class..theres no clc and cle yet btw…

• One of those times where Mercedes gets its own nomenclature wrong

• Night Hunter on Nov 30, 2017 at 1:57 am

There are CLC class before… Ugly abomination got discontinued

• Is it me or the first generation CLS is still the most handsome looking???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • zacls on Nov 28, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Elegant classic lines coupled with its interior luxury refinement is pure class

• Agreed. What they did with 1st gen cls was quite experimental. The car was borderline weird and striking to look at, and we took sometime to digest the design feature of 1st gen cls. In the end we fell in love with it.

This newer cls is designed to sell well. They play it safe with the design. It will take another gen or two for mercedes to make the cls awesome again

• It’s one of those rare times when the original E-Class looks miles better than whatever spawned off its platform and basic body.

• Stefan on Nov 29, 2017 at 7:27 am

This latest one is even uglier than the current CLS, which is only so so looking compared to the 1st gen. So buy the 1st gen now when the prices are rock bottom before they become a moden collectible classic!!!

• Gordon Waganer probably design this while doing his number twos. Explains the crappy design.

• uninspired…

the rear looks like a bad squashed photoshop render

A7 wins this round

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • One of those times where Mercedes gets its own nomenclature wrong

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 28, 2017 at 6:44 pm

OMG the headlights…so ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • norah on Nov 28, 2017 at 6:48 pm

Meh….current design still looks temporary and i believe people also still like the first gen design.This one looks fking lazy

• Danny, don’t ever open the rear door OK? You will stab yourself.

• Chris Lai on Nov 28, 2017 at 7:03 pm

nicely done indeed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • heybadigol (Member) on Nov 28, 2017 at 7:03 pm

The Kia Stinger, though not quite in the same class, is a much better looking 4/5 door coupe externally. That’s my opinion anyways. But the interior is of course amazing seeing that its shared with the E Class coupe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Oh dear, what have they done to it!? Looks awful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Henry ong on Nov 28, 2017 at 7:40 pm

High quality luxury car should grab once in the life time

• Ben Yap on Nov 28, 2017 at 8:23 pm

Looks better than myvi and bezza. So I’ve no complaints.

• Johanian82 on Nov 28, 2017 at 9:21 pm

From the exterior, the 6 series Gran Coupe beats it by a mile. Interior design is decent.

• Since it’s from the E-Class family, shouldn’t it be called the CLE like the CLA is to the A-Class?

• Johanian82 on Nov 28, 2017 at 11:32 pm

The 6 series Gran Coupe beats it by a mile

• sick&tired on Nov 29, 2017 at 2:24 am

Is it me or is the CLS getting uglier? The 1st gen was probably the best looking.

• the headlights from the pic right at the top remind me of the Ford Mustang

• matni on Nov 29, 2017 at 8:54 am

Mustang headlight?

• fugly!!

• This is just a mirrored Audi headlamps

• Looks ugly than previous generation. i will wait for BMW 8 Series Gran Coupe.

• oh cls again on Nov 29, 2017 at 2:26 pm

actually this new cls is beautiful.. if give free everyone want laa.. simple awkward futuristic design.. but when it looks so audish, with A3 headlamp and almost similarly A5 rear lamp.. people said it’s ugly.. well, this car is suitable for those who like audi but don’t want to buy audi “glorified vw” instead buy “audi” with mercedes dna. this is what happen when uncle car try so hard to be.. cla also a failure.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 29, 2017 at 3:46 pm

i cannot tahan the front headlights…mercedes losing the plot…volvo for life

• Farhat on Nov 30, 2017 at 1:57 am

What defines a Mercedes? 10-15 years ago, a mercedes is defined by it’s design. Classic curves, humble aesthetics and it exudes an aura of simple sophistication.

Now however, a mercedes is defined by it’s badging. I love the first generation CLS, i love all E-classes W211 and below, Mercedes at the time was known as a Mercedes because of its luxury, not a combination heavier towards Sportiness. Yes, AMG line was available to the masses, but they were reserved. They were known as rich uncles car for a reason. But rich uncle car still is great to look at.

Now, trying to impress the younger generation, Mercedes has lost his charm. Too many cars nowadays exude sportiness than luxury. BMW are known to be more to this, so i wished Mercedes could do the same, stay to its humble staple designs, the new S-class is good, the new E and C is getting there (I still somewhat find the design to be well fitted more to a larger sedan). As for me, i prefer the Exclusive line to the C350 than the AMG Kit to the C200, and Im 27.

The new CLS (isnt it suppose to be CLE?) has lost it. Gone were the excitement when i first laid eyes on a ruby red metallic CLS500 in 2004. The 2nd generation was an evolution, but this is a revolution, not in a good way. Too many blacked-out rims and matte grey finish, wheres the sparkly chrome accents and the deep metallic finishes?

• Kelvin on Nov 30, 2017 at 8:53 pm

The butt is uglier than the front