Perodua Myvi bookings reach 15,500 units, 1,900 delivered – 84% 1.5L variants, grey most popular

Perodua’s order books for the new 2018 Perodua Myvi now has 15,500 names, almost two weeks into the launch of the third-generation hatchback. The figures, given by Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh this afternoon, are until yesterday. The company has delivered 1,900 units of the car so far.

That’s not record breaking for Perodua and its collection of top sellers, but impressive when one takes into account the Myvi’s positioning, which is not entry level like the Axia. Perodua is also quietly proud of the fact that 84% of the bookings so far are for costlier 1.5 litre variants (High and Advance). The most popular colour for the Myvi 1.5L is Granite Grey Metallic, which is exclusive to the bigger-engined Myvi.

To cope with what Aminar describes as “overwhelming demand”, Perodua has initiated overtime at the factory that produces the Myvi, and weekend production will continue all the way to the close of 2017. This is to ensure “acceptable delivery period” although the P2 chief did not elaborate on the current waiting period.

The new Myvi has been impressive and surprising, both on paper and on the move. The in-house developed new model is very well-stocked with kit – LED headlamps, keyless entry and push start, digital air-con controls with two memory settings, four airbags and VSC are standard from the RM44,300 base model, which has a five-star ASEAN NCAP rating.

All 1.5L models get six airbags and the top RM55,300 Advance boasts the Advanced Safety Assist suite of active safety systems, which include Pre-Collision Warning (PCW), Pre-Collision Braking (PCB), Front Departure Alert (FDA) and Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC) functions.

To learn more about the new Myvi, read our comprehensive launch report and first impressions test drive report, and don’t forget to view our video review, which includes a demo of ASA’s features.

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X in Peppermint Green Metallic

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance in Granite Grey Metallic

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 12yrsold on Nov 29, 2017 at 5:12 pm

I-Say-Man. Don’t la make P1 jealous/envy. 15,500 names in almost 2 weeks is indeed an achievement. Make sure P2 check ALL cars properly B4 delivering. Cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • This is only a small achievement compared to the number of workforce in P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • John Gagap on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Most people buy Perodua cause it is cash rich. Any warranty claim, they don’t fight with you. But if you buy a car from a company that is losing money, any warranty claim, they fight with you. You have to try very hard to convince them that the part is under warranty and the burden of proving this is on YOU

• Jamal Nasser on Nov 30, 2017 at 11:31 am

Few more days Perodua will touch 60,000 sales.

That is 1 month sales vs 1 year sales of other companies

• P1 low sales mesti salah org Malaysia yg tidak patriotik. Org patriotik tak sapot Jepunis

• jibby v2.60 on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Make the workforce in P1 useful again atleast in pipu eyes, by assembling Perodua cars

• Hidop Potong on Nov 29, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Waiting P1 go congratz P2 with their syok sendiri Best Hatch Car tag behind…

• john ohwai on Nov 30, 2017 at 8:28 am

p1 fanboys as usual will condemn – got handling or not. endurance racing also cannot win. got HPF or not.

• kanazai2001 on Nov 29, 2017 at 5:16 pm

Good statistics…
    then… WHERE IS THE 1.5L MT???

#2018myvi1.5MT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
    • John Gagap on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:09 pm

Before the new Myvi, people bought Iriz because of 2 reasons. It had VSC and more airbags.

Now, Myvi got VSC plus so many airbags PLUS

1) good after sales
      2) Excellent RV
      3) time tested VVTI Toyota engine
      4) SC never say, “Biasalah bang, ini Proton”
      5) FC one of the best in the market
      6) Warranty claim also no dispute
      7) Perodua is cash rich. They don’t mind when you claim warranty
      8) etc etc etc etc

So, of course now the No 1 choice is Myvi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 4
      • Shit… I can’t bash using VSC anymore. P2, pls gip me some points to bash else i’m done being a trooper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Abdul Rahman Kamis on Nov 29, 2017 at 7:27 pm

my uncle 2016 Persona beli baru $60k.

tahun ini renew road tax, car value $40k. 1 tahun hilang $20,000. tapi pakcik so gembira becoz car insurance save alot cheaper….lol

• Henry on Nov 30, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Betul, but if anything happens to the car he will be be paid less by the insurance company.

• YB Albert on Nov 29, 2017 at 10:28 pm

Protong…better close shop lah.
        Perodua will only take about 4 months plus,just selling a BLOCKBUSTER MODEL called MYVI…to beat PROTONG’S entire 2017 sales comprising all models.
        Apa mau lagi,Protong?
        Geely….at this kura kura pace…u might as well pack up and concentrate on Volvo.We dont want any more taxpayer’s funded bailout for P1.

• P2MACAI on Nov 30, 2017 at 9:19 am

P2 RV, SC so so, VVTi now not worth, biasalah bang, ini keta bajet, FC trumped by lot of cars, warranty claim so so, claim wrranty so so etc etc etc

• Carbon on Nov 29, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Patutlah jalan raya sesak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
  • Proton oh Proton on Nov 29, 2017 at 5:20 pm

sales like a hot cake… congrats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • John Gagap on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:15 pm

I rather buy a Myvi than an Iriz. Cause both also RM50k but after 3 years, the Iriz RV is RM20k and the Myvi RV is still RM38k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Jinbaitai on Nov 30, 2017 at 5:28 pm

U buy car to drive or buy car to sell. Kereta belum dapat dah pikir nak jual, better just buat spekulasi hartanah, lagi u untung.

• isaac on Nov 29, 2017 at 5:27 pm

I did received mine 1.5 advance! trade in with lagi best 1.5. I trade in for safely reason, 6 airbag. Well, I used it for couple of days! What shocking me is there is no auto aircond! thats why they put the memory setting! And the seats kinda thin compared to old 1.5. handling, so so only. quality wise, lagi best myvi is way high quality materials compared to this newly one. No more daihatsu feeling, except the engine only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 18
    • jinggo on Nov 29, 2017 at 5:56 pm

handling soso means mcm sampan or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • This is not a race car. Mind telling what are u driving with such superb handling?

• must be proton iriz. with no midifications at all to the handling factor, car still won racing event (in malaysia, of course)

• jenga on Nov 30, 2017 at 8:02 pm

Syok sendiri, how much better is Iriz’s handling compared to Myvi? Both are just econobox. People buy the car to commute, not to race. Want to race? Better buy a car like Golf GTi which can easily smoke your Proton

• You sure no modification? Proton is known for building a version for mass production while sending a modified version for testing.

• Henry on Nov 30, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Doesn’t matter what he drives as long as he has a good imagination. One moment he can be Lewis Hamilton in a Mercedes F1 and another moment he could be Michael Schumacher in a Ferrari. LOL.

• KenJi on Nov 29, 2017 at 7:58 pm

Handling, engine, design, overall better than proton. Satisfy?

• Xyz123 on Nov 29, 2017 at 9:46 pm

No not like sampan alza anymore…much better now….agree seats feel thinner n smaller now…audio big disappointment n no cd… Had to upgrade the lousy OEM speakers

• isaac on Nov 30, 2017 at 10:53 am

jinggo, its not sampan, now the myvi drives with less body roll, less noise and vibration at 120km/h speed which a slight improvement from the old one. but, you pay what you get. If you go for handling, go for iriz.

• you should test drive before you buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
      • YB Albert on Nov 30, 2017 at 6:33 am

Before the first delivery,Perodua received 5000 bookings.
        Malaysians…seldom and even never test drive before booking the car.Thats the beauty of COMPULSIVE NEW CAR ADDICTION.
        No wonder,some regret after trading in their still boleh pakai 3-5 yr old,top up finance they hutang,pay another downpayment with another 9 yr loan over their head.No wonder ,our household debt is significantly very very high.
        This is called suffering in silence/regret,but just to show kampung folks…aku ada keta baru.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • 12yrsold on Nov 30, 2017 at 8:27 am

Ha ha ha. Best comment/advice here. Cheers…

• Tido oh tido on Nov 30, 2017 at 9:20 am

Sudah beli baru menyesal, buy now regret later

• Sama Kunta Loo on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:42 pm

If you really test drive before buying, you will be surprised, the acceleration and throttle response is, omg, what the ‘crap’ automataik gearbox is. Can’t even match the 1st gen vios that also comes with 4-speed auto.

• Bernard on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:50 pm

Buy Iriz, merc quality….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • suomynona on Nov 29, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Surprise! No auto Aircon, only that its digital. But still nice what to have digital Aircon :)

• Ben Yap on Nov 30, 2017 at 1:08 am

That’s why u should buy civic turbo. Top up a little bit only and won’t feel the pinch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Proton oh Proton on Nov 30, 2017 at 10:17 am

P2 have too maintain their cost by reduce certain area with improve safety. So don’t complain about it. hahaha

• isaac on Nov 30, 2017 at 10:50 am

what a long comments! well, i’m not regret it. I’m buying it because of safety reason. I’m working outstation a lot hence, safety is my first priority. Tell me which car priced below rm60k give me 6 airbags, vsc and all the goodies? The closest one is the rio which price almost rm90k. That huge extra rm30k, i can use that for the downpayment for my new soho or property.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Sama Kunta Loo on Nov 30, 2017 at 1:52 pm

There is, Persona 1.6 Premium (that CVT autobox is not the best one, but still acceptable)

• Lolita on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:13 pm

Not surprised at all. With all the packages it offers what other manufacturers that provides such car at that price(1.5A)?
    Affordability? Myvi win hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Piupiupiu on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:21 pm

Proud to be peroduans

• Babi Kancil on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:40 pm

Low quality Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • Zuchie on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:41 pm

Already booking without test drive. Yesterday loan approve. This car for my wife daily go to work. Budget 1.3 but my wife decide 1.5 advanced without doubt. We are not accept to much for this car. I know about this Myvi since July and my patience is worth it. Good job P2.

• Bernard on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:48 pm

Only in Bolehland a car like this can sell well….
    Msians really have no choice but to buy this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Is leather upholstery even necessary for top spec but entry level cars like this myvi.

• BbalingBiru on Nov 29, 2017 at 9:43 pm

Ironically, Tesla Model 3 took hundred of thousands of booking, but took more than a year to deliver less than 500 cars per week… But this Msian small wonder took orders by that many, and delivered more than 1000 cars in a week. A very good job indeed.

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 29, 2017 at 11:13 pm

i test drove the new myvi. I am very impressed for this kind of car to be price 50% less than the vios. I owned a vios before and i must say this myvi is really good or almost equal to the vios except some NvH and quality issues

But that can be improve by going soundproofing shops.
    However the one thing i hate about the new myvi is that the “ECO” mode is always turned on and there is no way you can turn it off. Basically the acceleration is much slower than vios or avanza despite using the same engine or gearbox

• HotHatch on Nov 30, 2017 at 12:33 am

Perodua Myvi 1.5 vs Proton Iriz 1.6 premium ??

I test driven both and personally find that Proton Iriz still the winner in terms of NVH, gearbox , handling , and solidness (HPF steel) . The drawback for iriz probably only the truck storage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Both are different league. Iriz is for slow learner.

• Jinbaitai on Nov 30, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Depends what are u looking for?

Do u enjoy driving? If yes, Iriz. If you are seeking for an A-B car, Myvi then.

• Ben Yap on Nov 30, 2017 at 1:06 am

My civic turbo is faster than 15,500 new myvi owners. If the civic thrbo sells under rm60k, sure the order will be 1,550,000 already, creating the best selling car record in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
    • Henry on Nov 30, 2017 at 12:59 pm

My Nissan GTR Twin Turbo is faster than 15,500 Civic Turbo.

If Nissan GTR Twin Turbo sells at 180k sure the order will be 1.5 billion units creating the best selling car in the Universe.

• Climbing goat on Nov 30, 2017 at 2:48 pm

But civic is not 60k. Lansap so much still only can reduce to 70k for kosong one and co. pocket the rest of money even if they got tax exempted.

What. Think company want jual murah ah if got no tax? Aiya. Ini bolehland la. Branding can sell +10k-20k and pipu still buy la. It’s not bad, it’s just overpriced.

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 30, 2017 at 3:15 pm

Farnee lah you.

• Same Lorr on Nov 30, 2017 at 4:01 pm

I got Civic type R la.. Your turbo civic just 177hp, mine have 300hp!

• John Baoteng on Nov 30, 2017 at 11:05 am

Tahniah congratulations to Perodua Myvi!

• Clyff on Nov 30, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Just top up a little bit for lamborghini, good handling, good rv and when you die you will die with dignity

• jack c70 1976 on Nov 30, 2017 at 2:51 pm

congrats to perodua. selling like rocket. thats how people appreciate good cars.

• passion on Nov 30, 2017 at 5:02 pm

very nice car. thanks p2.

• 4 speed Dino on Dec 02, 2017 at 2:17 am

Still using 30 years old tech 4 speed dinasour ??? Why why why ??

• shankar kumar on Dec 11, 2017 at 8:00 pm

good get a new