Jaguar F-Pace 2.0L Ingenium – M’sia launch in Q1 2018

Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia has begun taking orders for the entry-level F-Pace, one that’s equipped with the new 2.0 litre four-cylinder Ingenium petrol engine. The SUV is slated for launch here in the first quarter of 2018, and will be positioned below its 3.0L supercharged V6 (RM599k) stablemate.

The new four banger lump features a sole twin-scroll turbocharger and is good for 250 PS and 365 Nm of torque (the latter peaking from 1,200 rpm; 90 PS and 85 Nm less than the V6), enabling a zero to 100 km/h sprint time of 6.8 seconds. Interestingly, there’s no mention of the 300 PS version of the Ingenium mill, which is nearly a full second quicker in the century sprint with a time of six seconds.

The five-seater SUV gets the lighter and more compact 8HP45 eight-speed automatic (the V6 version receives the 8HP70 instead), sending drive to all four corners. Built into the torque converter is a pendulum damper that absorbs low frequency vibrations, enabling the engines to run at lower speeds without compromising refinement.

There’s no word on pricing and specification for now, but those who are keen may register their interest here. Want to know how the F-Pace drives? Find out in our review, or simply browse through its equipment and specs on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Jaguar F-Pace 35t R Sport

GALLERY: Jaguar F-Pace 35t Prestige

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• komarad on Dec 05, 2017 at 12:41 pm

it’ll will be a welcoming sight…too much cayenne in Klang Valley…

• This is a tough year for Jaguar, with only over 50 units of cars sold. 3-4 years ago they were doing between 120-150 units. Don’t throw the good workers and kept the bad ones. They are your assets. They bring in sales and provide the customer retention levels high.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 06, 2017 at 12:42 pm

because its not a cayenne rival?

• Matjava on Dec 05, 2017 at 1:04 pm

Can we get nasi lemak breakfast or nasi goreng lunch when we wait during the jag servicing?

• NIZZAN on Dec 05, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Who’s gonna buy all these 600K expensive cars. when Young and jobless 10.7% unemployment, 3 TIMES the national unemployment rate.

• falldisc on Dec 05, 2017 at 8:48 pm

They are looking for towkays.. If we have 10 thousands of them then good enough for Jaguar. They try to sell 100 cars to them.

• When the young have rich parents, why they need jobs?

• Is E-Pace coming?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 05, 2017 at 3:13 pm

plastic interior…

• Aero (Member) on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:09 pm

Dear Jaguar Land Rover,

If you’re reading this, then may I just ask; why is it taking an eternity for Jaguar and Land Rover to restart local assembly in Malaysia ? There was some news of CKD plans for JLR cars about three or four years back, but nothing came of it.

Know that without CKD models, Jaguar and Land Rover will not go anywhere in Malaysia (or Thailand or Indonesia for that matter). Just look at the sales data for proof. Jaguar and Land Rover has been left behind by the competition.

To save you some time, I’ve compiled the sales data here.

(Jan to Oct 2017)

Mercedes-Benz : 9,933 units (passenger cars only) (CKD and CBU)
    BMW : 8,608 units (CKD and CBU)
    Volvo Cars : 740 units (CKD and CBU)
    Lexus : 740 units (CBU only)
    Audi : 658 units (CBU only)
    Porsche : 321 (CBU only)
    Land Rover : 142 (passenger and commercial) (CBU only)
    Jaguar : 46 (CBU only)

I’m going to be very honest here. No sane person is going to buy a CBU Jaguar or Land Rover at the current prices, not when they can have an equivalent CKD Mercedes or BMW for much less, and have money to spare for a second car. The Range Rover is perhaps the only exception, but the rest aren’t unique or compelling enough.

You may ask, why then is Lexus doing so much better even though their range is 100% CBU and horrendously overpriced ? It’s because Lexus = reliable = peace of mind luxury. For this reason, some are willing to spend hundreds of thousands extra on a CBU Japan Lexus, even when they could have bought an equivalent or superior CKD Mercedes or BMW for much less. Unfortunately, JLR is not exactly known for their impeccable build quality and reliability.

On the other hand, Audi Malaysia’s cars are also entirely CBU models. But unlike JLR, Audi has found some way to price their CBU cars reasonably enough. How reasonably ? Just compare the prices of the Audi A4 and the Jaguar XE. I rest my case.

Don’t get me wrong, Jaguar and Land Rover have many fans here, actually, I’m one of them ! But JLR is just not trying hard enough. They have so much potential, but they’re not capitalising on it.

What is JLR’s excuse really ? They are owned by Tata, which is one of the business world’s giants. Surely Tata could spare a few million pounds on a CKD export program for our market (as well as Thailand) ? Or is Tata too damn stingy or indifferent ?

Nobody is asking JLR to build a billion dollar factory in ASEAN. Just send us CKD kits, and ask DRB-HICOM or Inokom or some other plant to assemble the kits, so that JLR Malaysia can finally stand a chance against the Germans.

So again, I must ask, why is it taking so long for Jaguar Land Rover to sell us CKD cars at reasonable prices ?