Fiat Punto gets zero-star Euro NCAP safety rating

In its latest round of testing, the European New Car Assessment Programme (Euro NCAP) has given the Fiat Punto a zero-star safety rating – the first model to receive such a result, according to Euro NCAP’s website. The model has been around since 2005, but is still on sale in Europe, warranting a retest following modern criteria.

In the adult occupant and child occupant tests, the Punto managed to obtain compliance scores of 51% and 43%, respectively. Meanwhile, in the pedestrian protection test, it received a score of 52%. While these results would have been good enough for a two-star rating, the introduction of new testing criteria have had a stronger impact on results.

The Punto’s 0% score in the safety assist category is a good representative of just that. While it may have a seatbelt reminder for the driver’s seat as standard, it is an option for the front passenger, and is not available for rear seats. Moreover, the lack of any crash avoidance and driver assistance systems like autonomous emergency braking and speed limiter, disqualifies the model from getting any stars at all in the end.

“This is perhaps the strongest example of a manufacturer continuing to sell a product that is well past its best-before date, at the expense of the unsuspecting car buyer. We would urge consumers to check our website for the latest ratings and to choose cars with the most up-to-date five-star ratings, many examples of which we have seen in 2017,” said Euro NCAP secretary general Michiel van Ratingen.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• toyotafan on Dec 14, 2017 at 10:12 am

In M’sia, it would have scored 4 stars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Not only in Malaysia, but in almost any other ASEAN countries as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • MY or ASEAN? Cuz we follows ASEANNCAP. no such thing as MYNCAP yo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Muhd Zainal on Dec 14, 2017 at 11:28 am

Shocking. I think they are same group as Alfa and Ferrari isn’t it?

And yet, they can get ZERO stars.

Our Preve and Iriz got 5 stars……ha ha ha ha

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 14, 2017 at 10:36 am

menteri cakap…nah tengok kereta malaysia lebih baik dari kereta import sudah…bukan saje setanding

• Muhd Zainal on Dec 14, 2017 at 11:30 am

Fiat owns: Alfa Romeo, Chrysler, Dodge, Ferrari, Jeep, Lancia, Maserati, Ram and SRT.

And yet they can get ZERO stars.

I wonder how Proton always get 5 stars in many of their cars.

Is Proton better than Ferrari?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • James on Dec 14, 2017 at 2:08 pm

This article is about fiat punto. Specific model. Yet you said all of their model is the same safety standard. I hope you are not the example of Malaysian standard of thinking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Kuinosan on Dec 14, 2017 at 10:54 am

What a shame. Fiat used to produce chic looking and advance tech cars. Now they are best described as has beencar maker!

• 12yrsold on Dec 14, 2017 at 11:21 am

This show that the Europe NCAP safety rating is higher & they value their lives more. Maybe we should send our P1/P2 equivalent to Euro NCAP testing just for knowledge !!

• Outalingam Crap on Dec 14, 2017 at 11:25 am

Say no more, Proton and Perodua – JUST SEND IN the TOP variants of the Persona as well as the MyVi to the EuroNCAP HQ for evaluation IMMEDIATELY – full stop

• James on Dec 14, 2017 at 2:11 pm

You want first world safety standard but yet you want third world price. LMAO

• Still safer than Datsun GO

• Jonn Dol on Dec 14, 2017 at 12:16 pm

Problem is FiatChrysler Group is a bit short on the funds, and nowadays their focus is more on strengthening Maserati , Alfa & Jeep brands. Although they had just started alliance with BMW to catch up in the autonomous technology race. The Fiat brand itself could end up like Lancia. Which is a huge pity actually.

• Its a 12 year old model
    Times have changed

• Even a 10 or 20 years old VOLVO OR MERCEDES is still safer and will not get zero star from Euro Ncap even with the change of time.

Maybe the Italians nowadays are only good in making delicious spaghetti and Pizzas only but not safe and well engineered FIAT car

What happen to those great Italian car designers and engineers of the 70s and 80s Era producing great FIAT cars.

Maybe Fiat company sacked those good ones and replaced with cheaper and less talented ones thus producing junk new car which no longer safe and like by buyers anymore.

Solution: better for fiat to sack those useless car designers and engineers to avoid failing into the red
      ink .

Fiat should employed only good ones and discard those lousy ones to get into producing better well design, engineered , likeable and safer car.

Italians should learn from the Swedes or take a page from the Swedes.

• Ben Yap on Dec 15, 2017 at 9:24 am

malaysian thinking will be car crashes rarely happen or will not happen to me. it’s ok, i’ll still buy janji murah and bergaya.

• Jack Ryan on Dec 15, 2017 at 1:17 pm

Quite a few comments are downright ridiculous. Are they intentionally commenting without thinking or just naturally ignorant? normally never bother to read the comments section, but i was surprised when i did now.