RON 95 petrol cheaper since weekly fuel price changes

The government has said that the current weekly fuel price adjustment mechanism has resulted in lower prices for consumers and industries, according to a Bernama report.

Deputy Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister (KPDNKK) Datuk Henry Sum Agong told the Dewan Negara that since the system’s implementation at the end of March, the price of RON 95 petrol has dropped by five sen per litre, now sitting at RM2.25 per litre.

So far, pricing of RON 95 has increased 20 times by a total of 82 sen and dropped 15 times by a total of 87 sen. Of course, Henry’s statement misses out on the fact that fuel prices reached record levels last month, with RON 95 petrol hitting RM2.38 per litre in the third week before falling to the current rate.

“The weekly price determination involves price change within a shorter period of seven days and the retail price set is closer to the cost of the petroleum,” said Henry in response to a question from senator Datuk Megat Zulkarnain Omardin on the effectiveness of the mechanism for consumers, given that there were more price increases than decreases.

Henry added that the proposal to subsidise petrol and diesel prices needs to be carefully studied to ensure that such assistance would actually benefit the needy. “Malaysians use almost two billion litres of petrol and diesel per month. If a subsidy of 50 sen is given for each litre, the government will have to bear the cost at RM1 billion per month or RM12 billion per year.

“However, it must be remembered that the amount of usage of fuel is different for everyone. For instance, those driving a big car use more petrol like 30 litres per filling with a subsidy of RM15, while a motorcyclist may use 30 litres for a whole month,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• A Poor Malaysian on Dec 15, 2017 at 10:49 am

From this statement, I can assume that next week fuel prices will be increased?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Gabriel on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:25 am

Please do not make any assumption. The method to calculate weekly fuel prices was disclosed in this website before. Spend some time to review it and make a more calculated statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
      • Pasola747 on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:47 am

“RON 95 petrol cheaper since weekly fuel price changes”. Hahahahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • 12yrsold on Dec 15, 2017 at 12:03 pm

Gud one bro. The catch word is CHEAPER. It is cheap for those who can afford. Its NOT cheap for the B40 group. Cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • lilytan on Dec 15, 2017 at 2:59 pm

The key message there is “increased 20 times, dropped 15 times”.

• Ur keywords lack a few words. Here let me help u “increase 20 times by a total of 82 sen and dropped 15 times by a total of 87 sen”. Ur welcome.

• Stupid on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:37 pm

So, the NET is still lower!!

• Avatar 168 on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:18 pm

http://www.globalpetrolprices.com/gasoline_prices/ Mampu beli kereta, bising pump petrol..
      30liters, naik 5 sen extra rm 1.50 untuk seminggu shja .. tetapi rokok tiap2 hari, cost rokok sehari , ok ke??

• thepolygonal on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:02 am

I hope their salary changes per week also and see how they feel about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Pagana toota on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:13 am

Do v expect Genuine and decent statements from these pple ever??and answer is “”””NEVER EVER ”””’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Gabriel on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:27 am

It difficult to get a decent statement from the opposition on this matter as well.
      Sad to know that we do not have a good alternative…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • jamali on Dec 15, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Rakyat pick alternative Perodua, and not P1.

Rakyat had decided and proven RIGHT, again & agains…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • Alternative to P1 is MRT. And either option proven rakyat is RIGHT, again & agains…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • Gabriel on Dec 15, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Well at least Perodua is a good alternative. I cannot say the same for what alternative we have to govern the country.
          Rakyat already picked the alternative in a couple of states. I was one of them before.
          With 8 years of “peluang” for them to show that they are better, they screwed it up with mismanagement, corruption, disrespecting minorities and majorities, screwing the Rakyat right, left and center.
          For god sake, we are now bringing back the same person who gave us P1 (and that person want to give us another automotive company!) What a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • logicamatt on Dec 15, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Who that person?? Pipu mudah lupa lor.

• Yusof zm on Dec 16, 2017 at 5:49 am

Exactly dude. No1 gv Perodua a chance when we started w SLK small little kancil 25 years back.

See where r we right nw, P2 to None. not mediocre 1.

• Kuinosan on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:35 am

Like it or not, you still gotta pay! Or go Hybrid or EVs.

• MoeSath on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:51 am

Increase taxes for luxury car and reduce/abolish taxes for lower end cars/motorcycles.

• Kanchil on Dec 17, 2017 at 3:47 pm

I disagree with that. Because even those who have extra cash purchases lower end cars as their second, third or fourth car for their wives and children.

Tax incentives/rebates would be more effective. Or BR1M.

• “However, it must be remembered that the amount of usage of fuel is different for everyone. For instance, those driving a big car use more petrol like 30 litres per filling with a subsidy of RM15, while a motorcyclist may use 30 litres for a whole month,”

A very clear reason why fuel subsidies dun benefit the poor and a targeted support system is more beneficial for them ie BR1M, KR1M, PP1M, SL1M, Kl1M, etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • iamwak on Dec 15, 2017 at 1:02 pm

The government has said that the current weekly fuel price adjustment mechanism has resulted in lower prices for consumers << another Syok sendiri stmt??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • Not at all. Gov has given a time frame (29 March) and cold hard numbers. If u think gov is pulling ur leg, u r most welcome to do ur own calculations and post it here for all to see.

But up or down is immaterial, gov shud just scrap this subsidy and channel the savings to those who really need it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • Kanchil on Dec 17, 2017 at 3:57 pm

At first I disagree with BR1M seeing it as “bribe lite” to get people to vote the government that dispenses them. However, after discussing with my peers for some time, I believe that targeted support systems and programs are more beneficial (as in, diverting wealth from the wealthy to those who needed them more).

For example: My boss pumps in RM120 per filling, depending on how much he drives he’d exceed this figure, driving a bigger car than mine. I pump in RM40 per filling with my P2 car. That is only for difference in car make. That’s not counting households that has multiple cars.

My neighbour has 4 cars, 3 of which used daily considering that their children are also now working. Compare this to those who only ride his bike, or a single small car. Notable difference isn’t it?

Honestly, the more you use, the more you should pay yourself! That’s why I think of targeted programs should be prioritized. A growing middle class benefits all – rich, poor, and the middle.

• Tax the rich. Easy. Then take the money subsidise poorer ones.

Those using engines bigger than 3.0 liter roadtax increase 100%. 4.0 above increase 150%. 5.0 above 200%.

Solved.

But some may argue regarding fuel economy and emission system. Let’s just ignore that now but base on current engine size road tax system.

• Stupid on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:41 pm

Even saudi arabia is raising their petrol price again and again…

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/news/saudi-arabia-oil-prices-petrol-jet-fuel-hike-80-per-cent-january-a8104941.html

• this week fuel price down baru announce ron95 price has reduced since intro weekly price?
    they really think the rakyat is so stupid?
    last few weeks price skyrocket did not dare to announce ron95 cheaper since weekly price mechanism?
    this country is hopeless already with all these mofos running the country

• If someone refuses to read article and think, then whos the mofo here?