PDRM to fine illegal parkers on road leading to KLIA

Motorists who park illegally on the road leading to the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and Kuala Lumpur International Airport 2 (KLIA 2) will face stern action by the police. According to The Sun, the Selangor police chief commissioner Datuk Mazlan Mansor said the police force has been issuing up to 30 summonses a day for traffic obstruction.

“We found most vehicles were stopping by the roadside near the fuel station to wait for the arrival of passengers before going to the KLIA 2 and KLIA terminals to pick them up. Some motorists even parked their vehicle illegally,” said Mazlan.

“We won’t spare anyone after this. Not even drivers waiting in their car because Malaysia Airports Holdings Bhd (MAHB) is providing free parking near both airport terminals, for those picking up passengers and to facilitate smooth flow of traffic at the airport area,” he added.

Mazlan said that the police will not make compromises with “errant motorists” and will continue to issue more summonses for those who ignore the law. “Each offender can be fined up to RM300 and for those who leave their vehicle parked illegally, we will tow them to the district police headquarters. We will monitor the traffic situation through the closed circuit television (CCTV) and if needed, we will dispatch our traffic personnel to the scene to take action against these traffic offenders,” he said.

MAHB managing director, Datuk Badlisham Ghazali on Friday said MAHB provided free parking at the side of the Long Term Car Park (LTCP), or 30 minutes free parking inside the LTCP. Even if the waiting time exceeds more than the stipulated free period, a reasonable parking charge of RM2.50 per hour will be imposed, he noted.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Dobi kampung on Jan 17, 2018 at 1:51 pm

Syabas PDRM!!!

Illegal parking and traffic obstruction on roads especially Friday. Tolong isu more summonses for those who ignore the law and those vehicle parked illegally, tow them to the police headquarters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 38
    • Dun forget Saturday & Sunday mornings also Thursday & Friday nites too. Why only do enforcement on 1 day?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
  • This issue has been there since day 1, after so many years, now only take action. Msia memang blh.

• John Rahim on Jan 17, 2018 at 1:57 pm

Drivers inside, waiting. Police come, they drive away. Make one round

• Then give them a waiting area la….bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 56
  • tokmoh. on Jan 17, 2018 at 2:35 pm

All those are uber/grab drivers waiting rider ping.

• Manual Swift Sporter on Jan 17, 2018 at 2:41 pm

We should be allowed to claim for parking fees if flight is delayed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • 12yrsold on Jan 17, 2018 at 2:46 pm

Thanks for bringing this topic out. I personally didn’t know that there is a 30 minutes FREE Parking available in LTCP. I’ll make use of this facilities next time. TQVM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • So there is someone here that read the article b4 commenting. Kudos to u.

• 12yrsold on Jan 17, 2018 at 4:37 pm

The truth is I didn’t read the whole article. They say a picture tells a thousand words & the picture is in BLUE says it ALL. Only a blind man cannot read it.

• With all due respect to the truly blind (OKU), there r way too many ‘blind’ pipu here as seen from comments above.

• Ben Yap on Jan 17, 2018 at 3:09 pm

30 minutes free parking? if the driver drives out and turn back in again, can get another 30 minutes free?

• azrai on Jan 17, 2018 at 4:27 pm

Those cars are not who waited for their family. They are UBERian and GRABian waiting for almost 800 queues for their turn!!

• Uber/grab got their own waiting area la dey. Opposite the ltcp.

• Bernard on Jan 17, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Where is the free parking? I think they should put up more big signs on this.

• Sgt Scoop on Jan 17, 2018 at 10:15 pm

I’d rather the PDRM focused on criminal issues such as corruption and theft than issuing fines and generating revenue.

• Corruption is MACCs purview and theft rate has went down. Anyways why shud PDRM discriminate the various kinda crime? ALL CRIME must be prioritised.

• xoxox on Jan 18, 2018 at 8:21 am

30min free parking actually is standard in most of the car park system…after 30minutes u have to pay it…if u jam at the exit and exceed 30minutes..u have to pay already… :o