Honda City with new Insight Hybrid looks rendered

Honda recently unveiled the Honda Insight Prototype, which is the production 2019 Honda Insight in all but name. Launching in the US later this year, the Insight – a name previously used on a five-door, Prius-shaped hatchback – is now a sleek “premium compact” sedan positioned above the Civic. There’s no hybrid in the current Civic generation, so the new Insight will play that role.

The Insight uses Honda’s new family face with a prominent “flying wing” chrome bar and a U-shaped grille attached to it. If the front end is typically modern Honda, the rear end of the Insight is more of a new look for the brand, with wraparound tail lamps that cut deep into the boot lid. The organically-shaped lamps have an LED outline, not unlike what Korean carmakers have been doing previously.

With both the new Accord and Insight sedans sporting this face, we better get used to it as the new Honda look. How would Honda’s smallest sedan look like if it would adopt this design template? No need to imagine, because we got Theophilus Chin to render a Honda City with Insight-inspired front and rear ends, as seen here.

Grafted on is the Insight’s face, but with the defining full-length “wing” chrome bar more integrated and less prominent (to me, jarring) – more like that on the Civic FC and new Accord. There’s also less of a “big forehead” here compared to the Insight.

For me, the rear end design fits the longer and wider proportions of the Insight better than it does on a B-segment sedan like the City, which has no choice but to be narrow and tall. Still rather neat, though. Theo also gave the daylight opening a sleeker tail and an extra crease on the C pillars. What do you think of this proposed “new City” compared to the current car?

The Insight is an interesting prospect, and has potential to do well in Malaysia with tax incentives. See more of the upcoming dedicated hybrid model here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I like it but not a lot… No, i dun like it at all.
    This just looks like front of HRV FL and Saga3 rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Abdul Shokor bin Mohd Khalid on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:14 pm

Honda the best. Honda City Hybrid higher in price than Honda City non hybrid.

But BMW X5 40e, Merc S400h, BMW 740Le all got about RM300k reduction.

The rich get richer. The poor get ketuk even more.

• Alyaniff on Jan 29, 2018 at 2:09 pm

Why TF would the poor buy something they couldn’t afford? This is the problem when we spend more than we can afford. Stick to our budget segment. Or buy 2nd hand. I think thats the problem with Malaysia car buyer. Bought something they can barely payoff and when it’s time for full service, they got stuck. When service not on time, then car broke down. Then they bitched car is not good. Typical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • https://paultan.org/2017/09/07/honda-city-hybrid-over-rm100k-without-tax-breaks/

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 29, 2018 at 1:59 pm

Honda insight – front new accord…back current city…nuff said…so not creative…

• Sleek Honda poor aftersales big letdown here

• John Loh on Jan 29, 2018 at 11:35 am

Nice rendering. It’s plausible for the next city model.
    The new insight prototype design is a kick!
    Like it so much as it’s much more better looking then the previous model. (Personal opinion)
    GJ Honda design team.

• oh city on Jan 29, 2018 at 2:31 pm

front looks good..rear looks so-so…from the back, people will mistaken belief with kia cerato..

• that rim… that rear look…nooooo

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 29, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Don’t expect Insight to be available here anytime soon. The left hand drive US market is the priority (perhaps Europe/China next) hence right hand drive models won’t be available unless Japan/UK/Australia markets are in the next phase.

Even IF it’s going to be available in SEA, it’ll be build in Thailand, as they have a great incentives for manufacturing of hybrids & Honda already has a brand new facility in Prachi Buri.

Don’t hold your breath for it.

• MY is the only Honda hybrid CKD outside of nippon. https://paultan.org/2017/07/20/honda-city-hybrid-officially-launched-in-malaysia-rm89200-slots-under-top-spec-v-in-price-and-kit/

• Honda the best. Honda City Hybrid higher in price than Honda City non hybrid.

• Anyone know when will next gen honda city come out?

• Karam singh on Oct 15, 2019 at 3:27 pm

Honda must be shameful that they enjoy so much of a turbocharged engine. They we’re so proud of VTEC engines some 20-30years ago and claimed they never need turbo. Stupid

• Martin Taper on Oct 29, 2019 at 9:20 am

If it looks like that for Australia, I’ll buy one. Clean and understated styling is good styling!