Proton had plans for Gen2 wagon, 5-door Satria Neo, sporty MPV, SUV and V6 engines – Tengku Mahaleel

According to Tengku Tan Sri Mahaleel Tengku Ariff, Proton had plans for several suggested models and new technologies in the past. The former CEO of Proton revealed this in a Facebook post recently, along with a few images of these potential cars.

For starters, there was an idea for a Gen2 station wagon designed by Russell Carr – the current head of design at Lotus Cars. Meanwhile, the GX-MPV concept and Edag Zawawi’s sketch reveal an alternative design for what would become Proton’s first MPV, which as we all know, ended up being the Exora.

Tengku Mahaleel also noted Tengku Djan was involved in the Sepang project, which was to make Malaysia’s first sports car. The model bears resemblance to the Lotus Europa, and visitors to the 2010 Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show would probably be reminded of the Lekir Concept.

The SRM (Satria Replacement Model) platform – used for the Satria Neo – was also the basis for many spin-off models. This included a four-door sedan and five-door hatchback, with other suggestions being a two-door convertible and even an MPV.

As with the first-generation Satria, a GTi variant was also in the works for the second-gen Satria Neo, along with a racing version. While a Satria Neo GTi never came into existence, CPS-equipped models did receive GTi-like styling enhancements, and R3 specials like the Lotus Racing were produced.

Around the time of the CamPro engines, Proton was already testing its new engine family (NEF), which included 2.2 litre and 3.0 litre V6 powerplants. Tengku Mahaleel stated the engines were “better, cheaper and more powerful than Petronas’ engine.”

He added that the V6 was designed in advanced for downsizing to a three-cylinder unit if required. Furthermore, the V6, which could be augmented with a supercharger, was claimed to be world-leading in many aspects – it had an output north of 400 hp.

This powerplant was said to be developed for use in Proton’s most advanced model called the MSX – shown as the Lotus APX Concept in 2006. Based on a modular chassis, the six-seat hatchback featured an aluminium body to keep the weight down, and could do 260 km/h (the APX was earmarked at 245 km/h). Recently, it was confirmed that Lotus is working on its own SUV, which at one point was considered to be sold as Proton by then chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Those were some interesting plans for the national carmaker back then, don’t you think? Let us know what your thoughts are on Proton’s previous plans in the comments below, and whether they would have helped change the company’s fortunes.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton oh Proton on Feb 19, 2018 at 1:10 pm

All in paper only…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 9
    • John Schreyer on Feb 19, 2018 at 3:23 pm

Waja…the Asia’s answer to BMW 3-series…lolz kah kah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
      • kaizen on Feb 19, 2018 at 4:26 pm

Perodua sent their best to P1 and Proton had their best year in 2010, DS Syed Zainal Abidin Tahir. Toyota P2 knowledge at its best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • The former p2 ceo in proton do lousy work, and turn proton lost. Well done p2

• Askrule on Feb 20, 2018 at 12:35 pm

Yups former p2 ceo jz fix power window. So pffftt p2

• Healey on Feb 20, 2018 at 1:03 pm

Was Tengku Mahalel the best CEO Proton ever had? Vote Like if you agree, dislike if dint agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
          • Sputjam on Feb 20, 2018 at 5:14 pm

Totally rubbish ceo. Petronas offered him V6 engine he decline. Ego problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • Heskey on Feb 20, 2018 at 5:20 pm

Li Chunrong the best CEO Proton ever had > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
          • I am glad the Chinese are in Proton now. They will bring Proton to the top. Talk whatever ideas Proton had in the past but it will only remain Malaysian with Malaysian ideas. Cannot go far with all the cronies inside contributing to expensive parts and Proton cars at higher prices.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 19, 2018 at 5:04 pm

Wow good one proton…once gen2 becomes a wagon them x6, x4. Gle coupe, glc coupe will have their own wagon version as well…they copied gen2 in the first as their suv coupe…syabas proton..a gamechanger indeed…

• Zawawi on Feb 19, 2018 at 10:35 pm

We cannot change the past, but we can reshape and Change the future. Fellow young Msians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Game Over on Feb 20, 2018 at 10:22 am

14 Jun 2005:

Negative Image Hurting Proton Sales

Lim, who despite his misgivings was considering buying a Waja because of its competitive price, also checked out Proton’s latest addition, the Savvy compact. It was launched last Wednesday, marking Proton’s return to the small-car segment after a decade-long absence.

“This model will fail. They launched it late compared to Perodua’s new Myvi compact car,” he said, referring to the Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Kedua (Perodua) model which has become one of the country’s top-selling cars.

https://paultan.org/2005/06/14/negative-image-hurting-proton-sales/

• Pls, twin-turbo V6. Bring the grand tourer sport car like Stinger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Potong Sawi on Feb 19, 2018 at 3:36 pm

What a joke. Look at those fugly car designs, clearly a recipe for a far bigger disaster. And those V6 engines…god knows how it drink petrol like thristy camel. Luckily it never went off, what a huge relief good riddance indeed!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
      • Sorry you talking about old engines? You think all V6 engines are drink petrol like camel? Come on, this is 2018. Even old satria engine drink petrol like a camel too. Don’t care if P1 bring the high performance & cc engines, it will par with other continental brand. Expensive road tax? Come on, support local products ma…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Amran on Feb 20, 2018 at 7:51 am

Twin turbo v6? Wei.. Just campro cfe in suprima s they sale at rm80k la.. Twin turbo v6? Rm180k maybe.. Who wanna buy?

• Do you think all rich people will be buy foreign products? Come on, some rich people buy the local products to support economy for this country. It also can be exported to others country especially in UK and Australia that praises to Proton.

• Tengku, ppl will remember u as the father of gen2, the mother of all blunder.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh. on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:22 pm

A car with no glove box, topkek. It was under Syed Zainal management this massive flaw was fixed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
      • Robert Mugabe on Feb 19, 2018 at 3:15 pm

During Tengku’s time also, power windows was a big problem.

How come Tengku did not sort this out? It was a major embarrassment.

No point talking about how much cash Proton had.

Why you did not sort the No 1 problem of Proton cars…the power Window?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
        • The power window thing was so bad that many drivers today still scared to use power window to pay toll or use Touch n Go. They rather open the door even during rain.
          Good riddance to all that nonsense. I am happy China people came and kicking Proton into shape.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
          • alza power window rosak on Feb 21, 2018 at 3:20 am

P2 also got that problem, so?

• Ceearkay on Feb 19, 2018 at 6:44 pm

And who can forget proton savvy as “my first lotus”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • John Gagal on Feb 19, 2018 at 4:42 pm

Always arrogant with being cash-rich company delusion. Better focus on developing smaller fuel efficient engines and proper car design instead of burning cash for nonsensical sportcars and ridiculously ugly design without any sense of remorse or responsibility.

But now as karma strike it good, all sold out to China already. Padan muka serves you right, Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Sputjam on Feb 20, 2018 at 5:16 pm

And father of savvy. Meant to challenge myvi.another blunder.

• Scrapping big cc engine R&D is sensible. Malaysian rather buy conti over last-gen Accord 3.5 V6. Much less 3.0 V6 Proton.

Not to mention today mainstream is small cc with turbocharged mill. And future will be electric motor. So Proton kinda dodge the bullet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Horrible, absolutely horrible designs. Especially the 5 door Satria, looks like it was designed on MS Paint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
  • Smokey on Feb 19, 2018 at 1:31 pm

That’s ambitious but they need to get the basics right first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • azrai on Feb 19, 2018 at 1:36 pm

What is he trying to proof? No need Geely?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
  • Kunonyerrrr on Feb 19, 2018 at 1:40 pm

Aiyo y go wif kuno design again? so boring oredy see it. P1 no run out of idea oredy how to design car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Yeah whatever. The fact that those drawings remained on paper speaks volume of his incapability as a CEO.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
  • sohai on Feb 19, 2018 at 1:48 pm

between a pot and a kettle?

A long period in charge and still come out with stories that read “what could have been?”

the moment I saw the name “Gen2”, i knew the company is short sighted.
    The civic or corolla, each new generations are meant to give a sense that it is an upgrade. what they were planning to call the next Gen2? every product in the so call strategy is standalone, with no continuity plan. is just some strategy of throwing something on the wall and see what sticks.

Building a proton sports car? that was just misguided attempt to fulfill the son’s wet dreams. We had Lotus, should have done more with it. Proton didn’t need a sports car when the brand was synonym with broken power window.

The Saga was a good platform. the name is even older than the city and vios, which have proven to be the mainstream market now. if only proton gave it the attention it deserves, focus on quality, gradual technological advances, rather than endless “facelift” on an aging product with just reshape body kit. We don’t need 15 model line up. is impossible to do it right in a small company like proton. Just 2-3 core models and do it right.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 4
    • Sputjam on Feb 20, 2018 at 5:19 pm

They made too many models on different platforms when it should be one platform for many models.

• zamer on Feb 19, 2018 at 1:54 pm

the Gen2 wagon look seriously good.
    make it real please eventhough the front will look very familiar since 15yrs ago Gen2.

Alter the interior to current trend and there you go. Stunning station wagon. This will erase all rubbish current proton models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 44
    • Failed leader on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:12 pm

Agreed, but make sure headroom at the back is better than gen2. Sakit kepala terhantuk naik bump.
      Now tinggal kenangan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • Same problem with Civic FC. Why u no complain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • Sam 'john' Loo on Feb 19, 2018 at 10:43 pm

Same problem also with Myvi 3rd generation. Headroom at the back is just 1 – 2 mm before bump the roof (i try it before), trying to be sporty, but space and practicality are worse than even Myvi 1st n 2nd generation although lack of VSC and airbag count is one of the common drawback for previous gen myvi.

• Hmm, this look like documents TM took out from Proton when he was still with them. As someone with insider knowledge within Proton R&D, I can verify that all programs was being discussed at that time including NEF engines. If TM no longer works with Proton, revealing this information to the public is tantamount to breaching company rules? Even though it’s not patented at least it shows a lack of professionalism on his part as he was employed as the CEO for a long period of time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
    • Ruslan Bahari on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:10 pm

You put the words “professionalusm” amd “Mahaleel” together??? What you smoking, dude?? He is at best, the worse CEO they had; at worst, a waste of oxygen. Power windows pun cannot sort out, want to build sports car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
      • I guess you were the one smoking, Ruslan. Note that “lack of” precedes professionalism. Even your spelling is wrong.
        On the power windows problem, I fully agree with you. It was his crony company supplying the power window lifters that couldn’t meet the design quality specs of the door trim. And yet, it was the door trim vendor who had to change their design to accommodate the power windows..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
        • Ruslan Bahari on Feb 19, 2018 at 6:29 pm

Sorry la, I tengah geram dengan CEO yang cuba menunjukkan dia pandai. Cuba tunjuk kegagalan sikit? Banyak pun komen dalam ni. He needs to wake up and smell the rotten coffee.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
          • You should tunjuk your kegagalan first before asking others

• Mangekyou Sharingan on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:03 pm

Proton HAD plans. The title itself is self explanatory for its past performances…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • The only thing gud that came from his time was Gen2, Satria Neo and Campro, but they only got to show their full potential during DSZ time with Gen2 CPS, SN CPS, and CPS engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • macam pondan on Feb 20, 2018 at 9:20 am

what good thing,

gen2 is a flop with
      – door stuck ,
      – under powered half cook ma-campro with no cam switching
      – no glove box
      – funky unless inside door handle that breaks
      – easily bubble roof due to rust

Satria Neo is also a flop
      – super low volume. complete waste of resources to design and build such model. As a business entity, where’s the ROI?
      – Heavy and slow… can’t match the intended design of a sport coupe
      – again, uses ma-campro engine which is under powert. unless constantly rev up pass 4k rpm.

Campro
      – biggest joke of all. Fitted to waja, gen2 and satria neo without cam switching. a complete rip off. though IAFM come later to fill in the gap and CPS come later as it suppose intended design.
      – Very rough engine with serious vibration
      – CFE campro is even worse with earth shaking vibration at 2k RPM. Not to mention, fuel consumption like hyppo.

TM has nothing positive to contribute to Proton apart from his arrogance and f u mindset.

BTW, I own more proton cars than most of u. that’s how i felt with this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Define most of u, as my famili had a Saga tank, a couple of Wiras, my Gen2 CPS, Preve CFE, & Iriz. So my opinion carries more weight than urs no?

And as for ur opinion, the Gen2 CPS obliterated all those points. And the CFE/Tebo engine took the Campro to another level, going toe to toe with much bigger 1.8L engines in terms of power (matching some 2.0L), torque, smoothness, better FC, much better acceleration, and noise emission.

• comparo on Feb 21, 2018 at 3:26 am

compare apple to apple, CFE engined exora FC is anytime better than similar weight camry 2.0l

• Waters on Feb 21, 2018 at 5:17 pm

Just because owned these so called cars doesn’t make them any good.

• Former Mahaleel Man on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:05 pm

Probably the worst CEO they had. Despite Mitsubishi as tech partners, their cars were poor. He may well say he sold more cars, but please remember this is pre-liberalisation. People had no choice!

Look at what he said about CamPro engines. Seriously, if that was better and more powerful, then someone needs their head examined.

And yeah, concept cars are always nice. Not many see the light of day anyway. And in his post on FB, Mahaleel said they were cash rich. If they were, why weren’t the cars launched? Because they did not fit into the target market in Malaysia.

Typical Mahaleel. Launched a car with no glove box because he like minmalism, took Alfa’s rims and made it Gen2’s, took the Alfa design and made the Alfadana grill.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
  • Ollie on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:07 pm

Gosh this is Bannon-esque as told by the Mooch.. Pre-2005, Proton operated as a cash cow with little to no real competition. AFTA kicked in circa 2005 – “The implementation of the CEPT-AFTA Scheme was significantly boosted in January 2004 when Malaysia announced its tariff reduction for completely built up (CBUs) and completely knocked down (CKDs) automotive units to gradually meet its CEPT commitment one year earlier than schedule.” Please don’t kid yourself. Proton has and always will produce s-boxes without any benefit to anyone but themselves, their dealers, and their vendors. The entry of City and Vios in 2003 in advance of CKD tariff reductions basically signed the death note for Wira. Get real, get history right, get the facts right. Enough self-cuddling over a deadbeat fat cat of a company.

*Wish i could be ruder, but censors to please..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Ceearkay on Feb 19, 2018 at 6:50 pm

I like this Ollie. I was one of those that got into the job market in the early 2000s and was sucked into believing that Proton was world class, and that power window failure was not their fault. Even base level Japan cars were being sold as luxury cars here because they were pushed into thr 100k market by discriminatory policies pushed by Proton. Oh, do we need to repeat that the Saga had the longest running facelifts…

• Failed leader on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:10 pm

Failed but still ada links

• Ruslan Bahari on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:12 pm

Why would PROTON fail if it had all this grand plans? He also said they were cash heavy. So why didn’t these designs – not that they look any good – see the light of day? Because Mahaleel is all about talk talk talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • awg1031 on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:14 pm

don’t really care..i’m more interested if they can improve significantly their car nvh level and internal build quality..else, no thanks

• Mahaleel’s portfolio

– facelift after facelift of Saga/Iswara and Wira
    – Juara (joke of the century)
    – Savvy (launched 2 weeks after MyVi, and consigned to failed list)
    – Gen2 (the Edsel of Malaysian motoring)
    – CamPro engine (sorry excuse of an engine)
    – Persona

In his time, he made cars last very long in the stable. While most carmakers take 5 to 7 year cycles to change to an all new model, Mahaleel had kept some models he inherited on the catalogue for years. The Wira and the Perdana as well as the Iswara must count as record holders for being the same model essentially for more than the normal number of years. On the other hand of the spectrum, his own models such as the Juara, Savvy and Gen2 were so glaring with technical deficiencies they died early deaths. Plenty to crow about or nothing to write home about?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 5
    • Fanofthisite on Feb 19, 2018 at 11:13 pm

You forget the proton citroen ax came far too late to earn a tiara

• John Delloid on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:29 pm

This guy better apologise to Proton buyers for the faulty door handles, power windows, fuel guzzler Campro, flimsy plastics, awful designs, no glove compartments, and other endless list of crappiness that caused tons of time, money, annual leaves, medical leaves, sick leaves MC. Worst part is when he simply deny all the online complaints as rubbish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
  • come up with product development plan like such a rich company…and then actually have the guts to benchmark themselves to BMW…forget it lah…

• El nino on Feb 19, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Want to save proton?call carlos ghosn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • The only time Ghosn cared about ASEAN market is when he gave us a ZERO NCAP star Datsun. Save ASEAN? Yeah right.

• Love proton on Feb 19, 2018 at 7:07 pm

Like=Tengku Mahaleel
      Dislike=Carlos Ghosn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Dolloh on Feb 19, 2018 at 9:45 pm

Hahaha what are you, 12? Ghosn won’t leave Nissan to come fix proton, even if Geely wants him to. Running an auto business is tough,..tougher than running an airline (which we also fail at, re MAS). What Proton needed was a technical guy at the helm, somebody who understood both engineering and operations so that Proton could roll out the best quality cars within budget and on schedule. That somebody was neither Mahaleel or the Syed guy. But alas, Geely now owns Proton and I highly believe it knows best how to fix Proton.

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 19, 2018 at 3:05 pm

Reading through his comments in the post, it’s clear to see that he’s trying to defend his legacy.

But let it be known that his legacy was of poor quality cars that turned people off Proton for good. He shouldn’t have introduced the Campro engine without CPS right off the bat, he shouldn’t have released the Gen-2 without proper QC, he shouldn’t have invested in tooling for the Juara. He should have ended Wira production after the introduction of the Gen-2.

When he left, he left Proton unprepared for the onslaught of P2 as well as the increase in imports due to AFTA (as well as the introduction of the 9 year loan that makes monthly car payments lower, allowing a larger group access to imported cars). And that was the beginning of Proton’s long slide down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • Its too bad Campro came in way too early. The engine was unfinished but he probably got pressured by Person-Upstairs to launch it with Gen2 as a fully designed-from-scratch by MY pipu car. The CPS and VIM development was still 5 years to go and I quickly got my Gen2 CPS as soon as this engine arrived.

I can tell u, the perf vs my fren standard Gen2 Campro is like totally diff. The pickup from 1st to 3rd gear was fabulous, plenty of torque except going uphill. Throwing it to 4th makes u realise u can push the limits more and in no time, u find 5th gear is still not enuff for this beast of an engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • end up, major throttle lag issues. nice on paper, in reality, not as beautiful as it sounds.

• where is John...? on Feb 19, 2018 at 3:26 pm

come on Proton, so many promises but delivered so few. enough sketches, build the real thing for once.

• What safety? on Feb 19, 2018 at 3:35 pm

Proton were heavily protected back then. Nothing to shout about profit record during Tengku Mahaleel’s time since they had no real competition. After the market were liberalised, consumers had other affordable choices and Proton sales slowly fell down.

That V6 engine looks good on paper, but in reality we will never know whether it’s reliable or not. Remember Perdana’s infamous gearbox problem back then? Or Waja’s power window and door handle problems? Tiara? Gen 2? The reliability problems were endless.

What are you trying to prove by showing all these old plans? Luckily these plans didn’t go ahead. God knows what other headache consumers have to endure from reliability problems of those models.

Tengku Mahaleel brags about the money made during his time. No wonder Proton back then were so arrogant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Darren Ong on Feb 19, 2018 at 5:32 pm

the word is arrogant. He failed to teach his Proton staff to be humble. This arrogance went on until Proton fell

• jclark on Feb 19, 2018 at 3:59 pm

who cares what stupid plans they had….
    proves nothing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • I know the past is past. But i don’t understand why proton launched 3 model hatchback at that time…Gen.2, Savvy and satria.

Most of malaysian prefer sedan. but Tengku Mahaleel want to make proton as a sport car.

• Young Mahaleel on Feb 20, 2018 at 7:20 pm

I believe something to do with europe especially UK, the pipu there lobe hatchbacks. Part of the strategy to tackle customers in that continent.

• Nice plan… so… what happened?
    What’s the excuse?

• Isdan on Feb 19, 2018 at 4:51 pm

Belajar dari kia,dulu org xpandang pun..start dari kia forte,org dah bukak mata..hasil transform yg dibuat oleh Peter Shreyer..skang design kia dah makin aggresive,jauh ketinggalan kalau compare ngn proton..stinger pun dah boleh fight ngn panamera..yg pasti harga kia masih compatible.Mungkin proton boleh hired chief designer yg mcm Shreyer..boleh transform n control semua design yg dibuat,biar ada jiwa,identiti..

• schreyer design has no originality, still resembles those problematic euro cars

• Jay jan on Feb 19, 2018 at 4:59 pm

Why talk now

• they cancelled this?
    reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

• Ceearkay on Feb 19, 2018 at 6:42 pm

The huge profits back the was at the expense of the rakyat. We were left with no other options but Proton due to discriminatory car policies. The rakyat was basically led into a narrow path where it was proton or nothing else. Wow, did Proton have fun or what.. Tengku Mahaleel wouldn’t have lasted a year in these days. You’re a failure, no matter how you want to spin it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Feb 19, 2018 at 7:14 pm

the satria should have always been more than a 3 door hatch

• John Mansfield on Feb 19, 2018 at 7:18 pm

I had the pleasure of sharing a stage with both Tengku Mahaleel and Dr.M’s Son Tan Sri Mokhzani Mahathir. I was presenting a Motorsport based University idea. A similar project in principle, (but adding Engineering++) to UCFB (based in Wembley Stadium and other campuses).
    It was very obvious that Tengku Mahaleel was passionate about Proton.
    In addition, I have worked in Shah Alam technical centre, and I found the people to be willing workers, and a lot less egotistical than some of my Mat Salleh counterparts. I wish them all the best in the future. John mansfield

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • John Delloid on Feb 20, 2018 at 6:41 am

So did you able to fix the infamous power window failure at the technical centre which caused a really hellish traumatic experience to the buyers?

• Another Clown on Feb 19, 2018 at 8:10 pm

What’s the (potential) size of Proton’s market? Small. Then, why do they need to have so many models, with limited buyers for each model?

So, the answer to the question whether all these models will change Proton’s fortunes is NO, IT WON’T.

Proton is a car maker, not a fashion house. Fashion houses need lots of designs because one buyer may more than one dress from the same house. Affordably. Not the case with cars.

Proton team should learn to contain their ego. Look at Perodua. Alza, Myvi and Axia. (The obsolete models remain obsolete). Period.

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 19, 2018 at 8:17 pm

Angan-angan Mat Jenin. Ticked all the boxes for shiok sendiri; flashy graphics, power point presentations, lofty ambitions on paper, bragging rights to Lotus ….

But alas, can’t walk the talk. Sales kept plummeting, revenue dwindling but the fat cats still sitting aloft in the ivory tower, dreaming of grandeur.

• Me too on Feb 19, 2018 at 8:22 pm

Did anyone forgotten about RM63 million purchase of petronas engine in 2012. Such a waste of money right.

paultan.org/2012/12/11/reports-proton-acquires-petronas-engine-technology/

• Khoo KN on Feb 19, 2018 at 9:14 pm

Can’t even get the window winders correct you still dare to dream of 400 HP engine?

• Basherlogic on Feb 21, 2018 at 3:34 am

If follow your logic, sushi should kolos shop coz airbags killed pipu

• Kunjimunji on Feb 19, 2018 at 9:18 pm

All of these look good and makes Proton look ambitious. But i will never forget their stupidity of Proton making Prevé, and Persona at the same time. Yes they are different segments, but they aim at the same market.

• defacto on Feb 21, 2018 at 3:38 am

Obciously you never get in one. Persona rear hip support is much lesser than preve. Even waja has longer seats than persona. Get your fact right, persona is in different segment with preve or waja

• Diss-illusions on Feb 19, 2018 at 9:20 pm

Thanks Tengku for reminding us why Proton became what it is. I’m not sure what happened to this generation of industry captains… just like his godfather, the more they talk, the more they confirm our fears.

Moving on… can’t wait what Geely has in store for our national brand. I look forward to the day I will drive our national car with pride instead of justifying it with ‘you get what you pay’ or even Vios has issues with this and that… when instead, it should have been, this is what our local boffins can do!

Shame on you both TMs… you killed the future of those talented engineers no thanks to your greed for power to use Proton as a vehicle for your political funding and your family’s hobby instead of creating an ASEAN giant.

• Bernard on Feb 19, 2018 at 11:23 pm

What’s the use if the purpose was to raise other brand prices so that we are forced to buy proton?? No difference!

• The young Malaysian petrolhead on Feb 20, 2018 at 1:14 pm

A 5.0 mustang in Malaysia could be sold for the price of a Honda Accord…………. But the taxes brought the price of it up to the price of a BMW x3, making the mustang no longer is built for fords purpose which is to bring a fun practical sports car to the masses

• Megaman on Feb 19, 2018 at 11:28 pm

What is done is done…..you can plan all you want but you must do…from 2006 & nothing came out of it? Just throw all those drawings in the bin….you reap what you sow…GEELY on now…

• Anonymous on Feb 20, 2018 at 1:04 am

Still… after all these years, harping on dreams of unachieved grandeur. All talk, all passion and no real knowledge nor expertise… so keep on dreaming… its what only u’re good at anyways.

• MAZLAN HASSIM on Feb 20, 2018 at 8:39 am

I was heading a vendor company for Proton. My late chairman and I was made to wait for two hours despite having a confirmed appointment. And after the long wait, Mr. CEO said, I don’t read lenghtly report after I passed him our proposal and calculations. My reply was, I have prepared an executive summary for you which is lightly over a page long. The rest are for your boys to digest.
    Yup, we lost the award for the next project. But hey, Proton called me up for assistance with the launcing as they are missing a critical component, which the newly appointed vendor cannot deliver. Guess what, Proton surely have to pay a huge price for it, as we have to “handtoll” this component.
    Dealing with Perodua and Modenas are much easier, professional and cordile. Same goes with Auto Alliance of Thailand, the Ford assembler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • MAZLAN HASSIM on Feb 20, 2018 at 8:41 am

Sorry for some typos. My finger is too big.

• Bernard Goh on Feb 20, 2018 at 12:47 pm

Good job bro. And now they asking Proton vendors to cut prices by 30%.

• suhaimi on Feb 20, 2018 at 8:59 am

syok sendiri…nasi dh jadi kerak.

• waters on Feb 20, 2018 at 10:51 am

Could’ve, would’ve, should’ve. Blah.

• Ruslan Bahari on Feb 20, 2018 at 11:45 am

And so, as the comments here show, Mahaleel has learnt what his legacy is. It isn’t great, to be honest.

You launched cars that were hated because of their poor quality, poor engine and poor service. You had many plans on the board but none were for the mass market for a carmaker that had a small size to start with (convertibles are nice but won’t sell in the thousands a month). You left the company with no real plans for a liberalised market. Your vendors too speak poorly of you.

But perhaps, in you own world, you were great, and perhaps, that is what matters to you.

• You should not believe this Mahaleel. He had been my previous company marketing consultant (need to have some convenience through his connection). Really talk much better than do!

• The young Malaysian petrolhead on Feb 20, 2018 at 1:08 pm

If these plans made into production, Malaysia could’ve been 1 of the fastest growing southeast Asian country………… We need a sports car, a good one also a fast one

• Selipar on Feb 20, 2018 at 2:13 pm

Funny thing is almost all ceo not driving proton. And they dont want to make proton better then what theyre driving although they know how..

• vVivi Zurianti on Feb 20, 2018 at 6:29 pm

Seems like proton can only talk….and true till today.

Why not say just Proton had jet-engine in the pipeline last time? Or claim that Proton had electric car tech 20 years before the Tesla???

Talk is cheap. Show by doing, please

• loveproton on Feb 21, 2018 at 9:35 am

During that time Proton CEO wanted to make more sports cars and forget about the values of Proton. Proton was started based on family saloon car with good value for money. Not everyone wants sports car and can afford its exorbitant prices.

That was why during this period Proton went into the drains.

• John Baoteng on Feb 21, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Finally can compile all sales history (2006 onwards data from MAA, excluding export units)

1985 – 7k
      1986 – 24k
      1987 – 24k
      1988 – 42k
      1989 – 53k
      1990 – 75k
      1991 – 97k
      1992 – 93k
      1993 – 110k
      1994 – 129k
      1995 – 160k
      1996 – 190k
      1997 – 218k
      1998 – 116k
      1999 – 182k
      2000 – 192k
      2001 – 223k
      2002 – 227k
      2003 – 169k
      2004 – 175k
      2005 – 174k
      2006 – 115k
      2007 – 118k
      2008 – 141k
      2009 – 148k
      2010 – 157k
      2011 – 158k
      2012 – 141k
      2013 – 138k
      2014 – 115k
      2015 – 102k
      2016 – 72k
      2017 – 70k
      2018 – ???

• LeDentist on Feb 22, 2018 at 3:47 am

Alhamdulillah the plan never come into reality. Otherwise Proton will produce more aimless and useless products. No wonder Proton looked lost at their model line ups before, the ceo has no clear aim or idea. He just produce models with no specific class or market. Proton instead should classified their products based on international automotive producers classification i.e A B C segment etc. Nowadays even SUV has that kind of classifications.

• huhuhhuh on Mar 06, 2018 at 7:07 pm

typical guy…

during his era… (doing nothing)
    later sembang dulu aku sekian2, macam2, itu ini