Malaysia looking to India to improve automotive sector

Second international trade and industry minister Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan is looking to India to strengthen the Malaysia’s automotive industry, according to a report by The Sun Daily.

“This is the latest venture, as for now Proton is on the right track and now we have to go further,” he said, referring to the national carmaker’s partnership with China’s Zhejiang Geely (ZGH).

“We are looking at India’s largest multinational automotive manufacturer Tata Group, which acquired English premier car manufacturers Jaguar and Land Rover. The purchase of the world’s well-known manufacturers will definitely contribute to the country’s automotive industry,” he added.

“We want them set up a plant in Malaysia (Tanjung Malim). Our idea is to create an automative hub. With a population of 1.3 billion, India has vast potential,” he explained. Ong also said Malaysian prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak and Perak menteri besar Datuk Seri Zambry Abdul Kadir have expressed their support for the idea.

However, he stressed that attractive incentives must be offered to foreign investors in order to convince them to come to Malaysia. “We will offer the industrial park next to Proton City for them to set up the plant,” he noted.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Feb 20, 2018 at 12:51 pm

boleh pass crash test ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Crash testing @ Bt tiga tol.

• Khairy Mutalib on Feb 20, 2018 at 6:03 pm

So malu. Like lalang. One day say India, one day say China.

Tak tentu arah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • YB Albert on Feb 20, 2018 at 10:55 pm

YAB menteri,pls use common sense.
      LI Chun Rong is popping massive amount of panadols lately cos of so much political and crony interferences,you think Tata group is alien to paultan website ,meh?
      Even the cuci jamban boy at TATA has a smartphone.
      Don’t belittle our intelligence,and that of Indian automotive giant TATA.

• Ahmadjn on Feb 20, 2018 at 12:54 pm

Just save your time YB. According to resident basher – We dun need foreign factories setup here staffed with even more foreigners. All profits and salary go out of MY. In the end, whats left for MY is foreigner pipu problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Correct. Only those companies that will hire majority workforce from local pipu r welcomed here. Exceptions r those wanna do R&D here with foreign expats. They r much welcomed here. Make MY great again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • John Delloid on Feb 20, 2018 at 9:06 pm

R&D fix power window problem with lifetime warranty instead…what a lazy bum engineers lol.

• Notakata on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:14 am

But that cannot beat jepunis killing airbags, they are most laziest ones

• Khairy Mutalib on Feb 20, 2018 at 6:04 pm

This resident basher does not think. Well, now Geely also repatriate 50% of profits also what. So, what does he have to say??

• Ong Ka Chuan’s mommy on Feb 20, 2018 at 1:11 pm

Meh. Ka Chuan boy only want tata to set up factory here so that he and his crooked friends can buy cheaper jaguar/range rover

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Harfan on Feb 20, 2018 at 1:28 pm

Why Malaysia always need other’s to setup plant here? It’s been a few decades that we are focusing just on the manufacturing side.

Might as well start to focus on automotive R&D so we can employ the engineering graduates as opposed to general technician. R&D is the way forward and the advancement in technology is the thing that makes a country innovative and competent. That’s why there’s always the mismatch between graduates and industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • kzm (Member) on Feb 20, 2018 at 2:52 pm

So u meant let all the automotive manufacturer go to Thai, Indo n Viet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Old dog on Feb 20, 2018 at 3:47 pm

They already there anyhow and here no more cheap labour market especially rely in import labours. More Indonesia and philippino are heading back , that’s how improvement is, the protecting rules that kills the competitive of the growing industries

• lilytan on Feb 20, 2018 at 4:03 pm

Yes better go to those countries. 30 years plus of automotive industry that goes in circles. We should now opening auto plants overseas not the other way around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • kzm (Member) on Feb 21, 2018 at 8:59 am

Thai n Indo start much earlier than bolehland fyi..Thai/Indo built more car than bolehland in 70-80’s. Boleh come to picture with introduction of p1 in late 80’s n p2 in early 90’s. Thai n Indo do try to make their own car brand but failed.

• fanofthisite on Feb 21, 2018 at 11:02 am

Please enlighten how Thailand and Indonesia started much earlier than Bolehland. If they tried and failed at their own car brand how does it matter anyway. Fact is the Thai auto industry boomed as a manufacturing base and have grown leaps and bounds in volume and complexity. Harfan’s point is R&D should be given more trust. While it wont hurt to have more companies set up manufacturing lines here, thats only one side of job and income generation. India themselves have become a major auto parts manufacturer and with their indeginious brands itself I bet they will see an increase in R&D and manufacturing sophistication in leaps and bounds. Again, like Thailand and even China they have a huge talent pool and at competitive wages. So while we hope Geely will take Proton to Asean in volume and P2 seems able to take care of their selves and gradually moving to more indeginous design product development they may be able to differentiate themselves to have distinctive image from Daihatsu models

• kzm (Member) on Feb 21, 2018 at 4:42 pm

My reply based on comment i reply. previous comment say bout 30yrs auto industry.
            Why dont you check urself the history.
            first car built in boleh was in 1968. Thai already produce 500+ car in 1961. By end 60’s all Japs car maker produce vehicle in Thai. By 1970 thai already produce 10k car.. in 1985-1995 most car production in boleh is p1 car n later include p2. During this time boleh want Thailand title of Detroit of Asia.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 20, 2018 at 4:48 pm

You are a bit late to the game? So you admit that we already lost to Thai and Indo?

They have already MOVED there. Only China is moving in (read: buying up) here.

• No losses there. They can keep those foreign workers problems. We dun need those kinda “investment” here.

• Khairy Mutalib on Feb 20, 2018 at 6:05 pm

already gone!!! Car manufacturers dont want msia anymore

• Dun need them. Gud riddance.

• Anton Ravind on Feb 21, 2018 at 10:38 am

Car manufacturers in Thailand only employ Thai people.

If they were here, they will employ Malaysians. We lost 500,000 jobs.

• Yeah right. TCMA majority workers from Bangla, same as ASSB. Locals too exp compared to tomyam pipu. If gip them the choice, all of them here will employ foreigners only.

• That’s it. Problem is when you talk about car industry, tens or even hundreds of millions is required just for R&D alone. Thats not including marketing which takes more millions. Manufacturing alone doesn’t take that much ironically. Just look at KIA or Hyundai. They have the money to pump in and the huge human resource in R&D. We can’t compete at that level. Thats why alot of famous car makers are bought over by relatively new companies but with big capital. At the end of the day it’s all about how much money you are willing to pump in. Welcome to globalisation. This is no longer jual kat kampung market.

• Lcian on Feb 20, 2018 at 9:50 pm

Spot on! VW had the money to pump in and the huge human resource in R&D. Ever ready RHD vento, golf, passat, tiguan for rebadged P1.

• Jonn Dol on Feb 21, 2018 at 8:47 am

Exactly. These days, no matter how much you spent in R&D , if you can’t translate into volume or the sales of the cars flopped , then no point.

• Lan-C Perodua salesman on Feb 20, 2018 at 1:31 pm

Today say this… Tomorrow say that… Yesterday say another thing… Ding dong ding dong

• C.P. MOHAN on Feb 20, 2018 at 1:55 pm

Hope not politically motivated, anyway the question is why! considering that country is promoting ‘Made in india’ and that other countries including India and China encouraging EV.

• Poh Tong on Feb 20, 2018 at 2:06 pm

Why would India want to setup a plant here? Isn’t labour way cheaper over there? What expertise can we even offer them? Teach them how to overstaff and let workers shake leg then bailout? Teach them how to fix power window? Teach them how to design fuel guzzling engine? Oh wait, we don’t even do low cost diesel here.
    How does the Venn diagram even look like, I can’t fathom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • rider on Feb 20, 2018 at 5:33 pm

india have shortage of water. Here in Malaysia we have plenty of water and cheap some more.

• Applegreen on Feb 20, 2018 at 2:22 pm

I imagine future proton cars will not get perfect rounded steering, because the new steering is based from capati shape..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 56
    • pengayuhbasikal on Feb 21, 2018 at 9:39 am

who need a perfect rounded steering ?

• stastasta on Feb 21, 2018 at 4:43 pm

ironically, many cars today have D shape steering wheel . for example VW beetle.

• Old dog on Feb 20, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Isn’t it ironic Malaysia had the automotive industries before the China and India and now this trade minister looking for them to help? Face the root cause . It’s the stupid uncompetitive policies that kills the industries one by one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • China and India took away the cakes. MY left with crumbs.

• Get ur facts right. China has an industrial economy since Ching Era and India was making Hindustan Ambassadors one year after we got Merdeka, when we were still far far away from setting up P1. What we achieved was a miracle and effort of all those involved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • No proton no basher on Feb 20, 2018 at 10:11 pm

Proton should open factory in US and Europe
        After 30 years making cars we should be on par with the Koreans and one step ahead of China cars

• Kimchi been making cars since 70 years ago. China has been making tanks since Mao era. So how to be one step ahead again?

• kzm (Member) on Feb 21, 2018 at 4:44 pm

What bout thai who oso make car more than 30 years?

• Close shop on Feb 21, 2018 at 8:09 am

Tata is buying Jaguar, while Proton bungkus by Geely. It’s a miracle indeed.

• So ur history only goes so shallow huh? Forgot that P1 bought Lotus too?

• And Geely bought Lotus and yea … proton too !!

• frankC on Feb 20, 2018 at 9:30 pm

Proton have been too ambitious when it tries hard to penetrate british, euro and Australian market. they overlooked other market such as india and Indonesia which is closer to us and also less sophisticated.
      these are markets where new comers like proton should build volume then move up the technical sophistication.
      Proton need a place to create volume before further embark in high tech sophisticated market.

• shawal on Feb 21, 2018 at 1:24 am

DS Ong.
    Mana NAP 2018 ?
    Last NAP was in 2014.
    With no clear cut direction and tax free incentives. Who wants to invest here ?
    Go back and wake MITI up from slumber land.
    Investments all heading to Thai + Indo yet you dream of investors begging to invest here by just offering land ???
    Bercukurlah !!