MRT Sg Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya Line development on track – expected to be launched by July 2022

The Sungai Buloh-Serdang-Putrajaya line of the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) is on track to be completed within its stipulated timeframe, according to project director Datuk Amiruddin Ma’aris as reported by the Sun.

The company is expected to achieve another milestone in its development of the rail line when the first of its 12 tunnel boring machines (TBMs) go into service next month, he said. The project director also expressed confidence that the line would be opened to public by July 2022; Phase 2 of the Sungai Buloh-Kajang line and therefore the line in its entirety was operational from July last year.

“Going by the current rate, we are quite confident we can achieve (completion of the SSP Line) similar to what we did with the SBK Line,” he told the daily. The first TBM for the SSP line’s underground works will commence boring by next month, with the first machine being assembled at the Bandar Malaysia North station in Kuala Lumpur, according to the report.

“Once assembled, we will do some testing before finally starting our boring. We expect Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak to launch the TBMs some time in March,” he said. Twelve TBMs are required for the SSP Line, compared with eight required for the SBK Line due to having more underground stations (11 for the SSP compared to seven for the SBK), with a longer underground alignment (13.5 km compared to 9.5 km).

Regarding safety concerns, MRT Corp has taken all aspects into consideration prior to commencing work on the underground line, Amiruddin said. The most common concerns among the public included traffic diversions which may cause congestion, along with noise from the construction sites, he added.

The final tunnel boring machine for the SSP Line is expected to be launched in the middle of next year. Rewinding to its beginning, Phase 1 of the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) line commenced operations at the end of 2016.

GALLERY: MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) Line Phase 1, Sungai Buloh to Semantan

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Public transports > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Public bicycle lane > all

• Starbucks on Feb 20, 2018 at 2:43 pm

Its a bit funny, though. I saw a vid a foreigner made about how he commuted to his work every day on his foldable bicycle. He said that he come to work all sweaty, so he just take a shower at work instead. I guess when there’s a will, there’s a way.

• Chris Ng on Feb 20, 2018 at 11:45 am

I wish the government closes all the LRT. Please go visit the Awan Besar LRT Station. Cars are parked randomly and illegally along the side of the road and inside the compound – despite a large proper and available car park. Despite several complaint to the management – still no action. They are waiting for a big accident then the management and/or some umno leader will give excuses in the press conference. LRT bring more woes than help to Awan Besar residence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 50
    • Poh Tong on Feb 20, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Maybe the residents in Awan Besar aren’t that civic minded ? Local problem != Nationwide problem. Complain to your politician and enforcement agency in charge. Heh like that will work…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • zamer on Feb 20, 2018 at 3:26 pm

Just like those motorists park on blue bike lanes in KL. Dbkl or citizen lacking civic minded.

• Awan Besar resident is so special? Their area congested, whole LRT need to be close? LRT brings good to other residents. No?

• Charlie Chin on Feb 20, 2018 at 11:48 am

Existingly Putrajaya ERL & now more accessible MRT Putrajaya. Special rates for civil servants will be great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • When MRT complete, less people will ride expensive ERL. Padan muka ERL??

• rusydan on Mar 02, 2018 at 9:51 pm

not really. ERL is really sardine pack these days, especially KLIA transit. probably with MRT2 completion, ERL needs to add more rolling stock mainly because MRT 2 brings more people into the system.

• “Eight TBMs are required for the SSP Line, compared with eight required for the SBK Line”
    U meant 12 TBMs r required for SSP line, right?

• if you have existing car loans, it is cheaper to use your car for everything, but with the vast improvements in public transport and abundance of logistic and delivery services ,

You might want to consider abandoning car ownership altogether, do the maths and embrace public transport wholly if u reside in klang valley, and if its suits you, of coz keep d debt free wheels just in case of emergencies

a car has thousands of wear and tear parts, and worth mentioning the other costs of ownership and usage as well

• WYG 747 on Feb 20, 2018 at 6:20 pm

Tak payah pening, tak payah fikir. Beli aje P2 toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Add A Comment on Feb 21, 2018 at 8:14 am

Then why are you reading this forum? Car shouldn’t be in your interest…no?

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Government wants to encourage us to use MRT but look at the bus-stops in Sg. Buloh area. Bus-stop is a pole without seats and shade. Expect people to stand in the hot sun & rain to wait for the feeder buses?????????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Green Apple on Feb 21, 2018 at 9:40 pm

MRT Connought station – also needed a seats while waiting for the Feeder Bus. That day I sat on d floor like a beggar. Thank you