New Peugeot 508 officially revealed – now smaller and with a tailgate, targets Audi A5 Sportback

Here’s the new Peugeot 508 in full, now officially released after a low res set of images emerged online. It’s a fantastic looking big sedan, for this writer at least, and Peugeot is calling it “the radical saloon”. The French carmaker is aiming high with this one.

“Following the success of our latest major launches and our SUV offensive with the 2008, 3008 and 5008, we needed a vision for the large Peugeot saloon that would continue to shake up the market with a vehicle that rivals the best. And in D-segment cars, we’re competing with the world’s greatest automakers. More than ever, the new 508 embodies the ambition we’ve been stating for several years already – to make Peugeot the top high-end generalist automotive brand,” declared CEO Jean-Philippe Imparato.

The D-segment sedan isn’t a very hot one now, no thanks to everyone buying SUVs, and Peugeot acknowledges this. It was against this backdrop that the designers stated their clear aim: to move away from the conventional booted four-door shape and towards a five-door “fastback coupe-saloon”. The new 508’s design is inspired by recent Peugeot concepts such as the Exalt and Instinct. The i-Cockpit seen here is taken directly from the Exalt concept.

A handsome car starts with good proportions, and the new 508 is shorter (4.75m vs 4.83m) and lower than before (just below 1.4m vs 1.46m). The 2.79m wheelbase is shorter by 2.4cm, which means that most of the reduction went into the overhangs. Wheels are from 16 to 19 inches.

The aggressive front end features LED headlamps, distinctive vertical LED DRLs that frame the face and Peugeot’s latest grille with chrome chequerboard motif. A unique element is the 508 badge on the bonnet, above the lion logo, as seen on the 504 from the 1970s. Peugeot says that the horizontal bonnet has been lowered as much as possible.

Adding to the car’s sleekness are frameless doors and the deletion of the roof aerial (now silk-screened). The 508’s fine behind sports 3D LED tail lamps in the marque’s signature claw motif, framed in a glossy black horizontal strip.

There’s also a nicely hidden tailgate. Yes, there’s a tailgate in place of a regular saloon boot, which means access to the 487 litre boot (1,537 litres max) is easy. The 508 is technically a five-door then, which explains the frequent mentions of the Audi A5 Sportback in the press release.

Inside, the new 508 features the latest version of the Peugeot i-Cockpit, which consists of a compact steering wheel, a 10-inch capacitive touch-screen in 8:3 format, and a 12.3-inch digital instrument panel that Peugeot calls head-up display. The HUD has six different display modes and a new Night Vision system.

The latter uses an infra-red camera and detects living beings in front of the vehicle at night time or in low-visibility conditions. The system ensures detection within a 200-250m range, beyond the headlights’ scope.

The new 508 also offers i-Cockpit Amplify. With the choice of two completely customisable ambiences – Boost and Relax – it involves sight (ambient lighting intensity and screen colour), hearing (musical ambience settings), and touch (via multi-point seat-massage programmes). The i-Cockpit Amplify feature also controls the car’s driving performance (driving-mode selector has ECO, Sport, Comfort, Normal modes) and suspension, if the car is equipped with active damping.

Interior highlights include seats with the AGR (Aktion für Gesunder Rücken) label and optional eight-pocket pneumatic massage system with five massage programmes, a wide-opening panoramic sunroof and a Focal sound system. Full-grain or Nappa leather, Alcantara and real wood are among the trim options.

Space wise, the A5 Sportback is again the benchmark. Front and rear headroom is comparable to Audi’s, but there’s 5 cm more front elbowroom and 3 cm more rear legroom, although both cars share the same overall length, Peugeot says.

The 508 sits on the PSA Group’s EMP2 platform, which translates to weight savings (70 kg less on average) and better fuel efficiency, safety and performance.

Also introduced are a new body-welding technique (structural adhesives provide greater rigidity and durability), a damper front cradle, a multi-link rear axle linked to active damping (standard on GT and all petrol engines), recalibrated electric steering, and a new eight-speed torque converter automatic transmission.

For engines, the big Pug will be offered with new-generation Euro 6.c PureTech and Blue HDi engines (with extended SCR technology) for best-in-class CO2 emission levels. The engines take into account new technical provisions and the WLTP procedure, which is more real-world than traditional lab tests.

There are two petrol 1.6L PureTech engines to replace the Prince/THP units of old – the PureTech 180 and the PureTech 225 for the range-topping GT. The four diesel options are based on the 1.5L and 2.0L BlueHDi engines. They are the base BlueHDi 130 six-speed manual, BlueHDi 130, BlueHDi 160 and BlueHDi 180.

All the engines have auto stop-start and are paired to the EAT8 eight-speed automatic, except for the base diesel MT. Peugeot says that a plug-in hybrid petrol drivetrain is in the works and will be available for the 508 in late 2019.

The French-made 508 will make its debut at the 2018 Geneva Motor Show next month and will go on sale from September this year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gracke on Feb 22, 2018 at 1:36 pm

Peugeot 508 is getting aggressive, sport and elegant……. Fabulous!!! Love it so much <3

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
    • Durable on Feb 22, 2018 at 2:31 pm

PT team, what is the difference between Prince engine in compare to the new PureTech engine?

• thefact on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:05 pm

i dont get it, why is the radio back below the aircon vent? in the 3008 it is nice up on the dashboard.

• Casey Qing on Feb 22, 2018 at 7:57 pm

Ask any Peugeot owner….each time send to SC, nothing less than RM3k.

Make sure you are super rich before you buy a Peugeot. Rich like you can own BMW and Merc even but you choose Peugeot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 36
      • Puggy gti on Feb 22, 2018 at 11:26 pm

Not really, 700-1k for me depending on normal or major service at authorised SC. Using 208gti with higher hp engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Sick&tired on Feb 23, 2018 at 12:46 am

I am Peugeot 508 2.2 GT owner. And no, i don’t spend rm3k everytime I visit the service center! That’s madness la. Average servicing is similar to any Japanese car and certain parts are cheaper.

And I am not super rich, although I wish I was!

Btw the new 508 is super hot! Peugeot outdid themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
        • hessonite on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:25 am

I own a 508 GT 2.2 as well, bought new in 2012, & I concur. The most I had to pay, for a major service (100,000km) was RM 1700+

• MynameNoname on Feb 23, 2018 at 1:27 am

Understand local tax imposed on non local parts then you will be ready to buy conti cars.

• ProudPeugeotOwner on Feb 23, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Don’t talk like you know about peugeot service if you don’t own one. Have been using peugeot 208 since 2013. No breakdown and I never have to pay 3k for a service.

• Jason Lee on Feb 23, 2018 at 4:03 pm

What are you smoking? I am driving a new generation Peugeot 308 THP and is clocking around 35k km, the service cost is not expensive, I would say is comparable to the new Civic which a friend is owning. I never spend 3k in service center as alleged by you. Obviously you are lying, go get a life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • Pug owner on Feb 23, 2018 at 8:51 pm

Remember this comment when your current 308pug clock 100k km service. Then remember to compare it with your civic friend. The car is great but after sales and SC r damm lousy. Check the car glove compartment, the handbrake if it’s not ebrake, the wiper, u can see they r not concentrating right hand drive market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • rchoo on Feb 24, 2018 at 9:25 am

I don’t need to remember cause I am at 94K now. Jan 2014 508 Premium, Zero problem till this very date of Feb 2018, normal 10K service is only RM 500+, Once major service at 60K around RM2,000. Where does the RM 3,000 comes from, you Japs wannabe wants to tarnish continental car image? good try though

• Jason Lee on Feb 24, 2018 at 9:39 am

Hi, mine come with ebrake so unable to comment on the handbrake, glove compartment is still the same, but the wipers have been adjusted to suit right hand drive market. The pull-to-the-left issue of the old 308 is gone too. Reliability wise I would say this new generation 308 is a marked departure from the old one’s rather questionable reliability. My car is still healthy at 35k km. According to the feedbacks of several service centers I’ve visited no reports of the infamous turbo engine’s ‘depollution system faulty’ error been received so far. If the words of the SCs are true then I think the new engine is also more reliable than the old one’s. Yes you are right it is a very good car, the cabin is a quiet and lovely place to be in, and also very comfortable.

• Jason Lee on Feb 25, 2018 at 8:01 am

Hi, mine come with ebrake so unable to comment on the handbrake, glove compartment is still the same, but the wipers have been adjusted to suit right hand drive market. The pull-to-the-left issue of the old 308 is gone too. Reliability wise I would say this new generation 308 is a marked departure from the old one’s rather questionable reliability. My car is still healthy at 35k km. According to the feedbacks of several service centers I’ve visited no reports of the infamous turbo engine’s ‘depollution system faulty’ error been received so far. If the words of the SCs are true then I think the new engine is also more reliable than the old one. Yes you are right it is a very good car, the cabin is a quiet and lovely place to be in, and also very comfortable.

• Siang on Feb 28, 2018 at 1:27 pm

You are wrong. 1st, I own Peugeot 508 and every time my service is less than 3k (even major service).2nd, I dun need to be super rich to Peugeot. 3rd i dun think Peugeot spec and quality is lose to bmw or merc. So that nothing wrong if someone choose Peugeot even he afford to buy other premium brand.

• Proton oh Proton on Feb 22, 2018 at 1:37 pm

Really awesome..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Peter on Feb 22, 2018 at 1:42 pm

Replacement for current Accordana. Peugeot PSA-P1 collabo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Digidigi on Feb 22, 2018 at 1:43 pm

Peugeot, you are worse than vw, don’t dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 80
  • this one boleh

• longjaafar on Feb 22, 2018 at 2:20 pm

Such good cars. I wish Peugeot of France send someone and assess their local agents and whip them up to shape. The after sales service is hopeless, and it’s getting worse..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
  • they could have a winner here with that new front look.

hope they use it in their 308 model soon. current 308 is way too boring car even thought it won COTY award for dunno what reason

• azhar on Feb 22, 2018 at 4:01 pm

stunning!…peugeot really nailed it with 3008 & now this

• suomynona on Feb 22, 2018 at 4:31 pm

As I see this Clarkson’s voice echoes in my head:

“So there you are, Peugeot. Brilliant at making strong cars, brilliant at making sporty cars, & brilliant at making terrible cars”

Seeing this, seems like they’re also brilliant at making Premium cars.

So there you are. Is there anything Peugeot can’t do?

• The Malaysian car guy on Feb 22, 2018 at 5:11 pm

Peugeot is really good but the service in Malaysia is not good……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Its mouth smile too big, angry face will be better

• Kogulakannan Rama linggam on Feb 22, 2018 at 9:25 pm

I am an owner of the current generation of 508 and even with so many issue with the car, I still love my car so much and I am flattered with this new one. I don’t mind to trade in my old one for this fella.

• lao yee on Feb 24, 2018 at 11:20 am

Mind to share with us what is the issue encountered throughout the ownership of 508?

• Bernard on Feb 23, 2018 at 9:41 am

It’s clear that cars with great designs like Alfa and Peugeot can’t sell in Bolehland due to negative perceptions…

• The brand is tarnished because of their never ending problems and after sales service.

Every year I hv to visit the workshop for parts replacement at least 2 times and each time it will take up to a month or more and the car I own is only 5 years old.. the problems started since the second year from purchasing the 3008.

I wouldn’t buy another Peugeot or in fact any other french made cars in general for the never ending troubles.

• rchoo on Feb 23, 2018 at 10:31 am

Nice car but don’t think i will upgrade my current impeccable and trouble free 508 after 4 years of 90K+ usage (no good enough reason to upgrade). Perfect, value for money car.

• Wow better or Nothing!

• stastasta on Feb 26, 2018 at 11:29 am

i plan to buy this car in year 2020 for RM120k with rimau number plate.

• Lumtaiwai on Aug 18, 2018 at 11:07 pm

508 2018gt