ERL adds six trains to KLIA Express, Transit services

Express Rail Link (ERL), which operates the KLIA Express and KLIA Transit rail services, has added six trainsets to its fleet, Bernama reports. The new trains from Chinese manufacturer Changchun Railway Vehicles increases ERL’s capacity by 50%, bringing the total number of trains in its fleet to 18.

Transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, who officiated the launch of the new trains earlier today, said that two of the new train sets will be assigned to the KLIA Express route, while the other four will operate as KLIA Transit units.

Liow said the additional trains will bring about a significant improvement in KLIA Transit operations. “The additional services on KLIA Transit will improve the waiting time to every 15 minutes from the current 20-minute intervals during morning and evening peak hours on weekdays, while during off peak hours, train departures will be improved from 30 to 20 minutes, putting it on par with the KLIA Ekspres service,” he said.

He said that the additional new trains offered a better value proposition, which is important to attract more people to use the service. Liow said that ERL was targeting a growth in ridership of five percent this year, from a daily ridership of 23,900 passengers last year. Ridership has dropped by around 19% since a fare hike in 2016.

The new KLIA Express train seats 192 passengers, while the KLIA Transit train can accommodate up to 350 passengers, including 144 seated. The launch of the new trains also saw the introduction of new livery, which blends traditional songket motifs of Pucuk Rebung, Tapak Sulaiman and Bunga Pecah Lapan.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Simpson on Mar 13, 2018 at 6:47 pm

ERL alredi serving Putrajaya & Cyberjaya. SSP Putrajaya MRT Line projek will be redundant & wasteful money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
    • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 13, 2018 at 7:00 pm

Anything to waste money. Ever since they doubled the price of rides to KLIA, the train has been rather empty.

Common sense la. Take Grab or Uber to KLIA far cheaper than taking the train. Even going in a group also, cheaper to go by Grab or Uber.

Infact, ERL should reduce their trains. This is just to waste money.

Go into their trains and most of the time, it runs empty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • Sardine Can on Mar 14, 2018 at 2:52 am

Wake up man. One day you’ll be thankful we have these options.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Banyak Najis on Mar 13, 2018 at 7:12 pm

ERL should be upgraded before even building MRT. Tourists are welcomed by the train seats that already worn out and aircon water dripping inside. Unfortunately bapak donasi too busy in suking Trumpet for his God son

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • Ape Guna Dia on Mar 14, 2018 at 12:06 pm

Kinda spooky. Light in the train is so dim. Floor carpet also old. Macam sejak sukan commonwealth dah

• At least read the article dude. Adding six more NEW trains is not upgrade?

• Samuel Toh on Mar 13, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Carts are always empty. I once sat in empty cart during peak hours.

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 14, 2018 at 8:29 am

In London, to take tube to the airport is only 5 pounds. That is like RM5 if you consider one to one without conversion.

Here, to take train to airport is RM70.

Family members think 100x before going to airport to send loved ones off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • TUBE is not a hi speed train. And the journey is 1 hour compared to 30 mins for KLIA to KL Sentral. If urgent meeting starts at 40mins, which wud u choose?

1Hour vs 30mins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Ashley on Mar 13, 2018 at 6:50 pm

Ridership has gone down 20% and still want to operate larger trains? Epic fail! Why our train prices so premium? Other countries trains are affordable for the masses. In KL people prefer cheaper Grabcar that fetch from home. Orang Kaya got their own drivers to fetch them to the airport. With their greed I wish the ridership will go down sommore. Greedy bastards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • Razlan on Mar 13, 2018 at 7:54 pm

sounds like Proton style. Already losing money, already got low sales, but want to increase trains

• Exactly..Deswai Mrt & Lrt fares must go lower. Then oni low income MY pipel affords public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Make every fare lower. Then how to sustain the maintenance cost? You might want to worry about your spelling before you start worrying about anything else kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • 12yrsold on Mar 14, 2018 at 10:48 am

If I can understand his writing, am sure many here can understand it including you. Calling him a kid does not makes you any smarter. It’s the point & substance that count.

• It should have been built at lower cost in the first place, and not awarded to cronies.

• No proton no basher on Mar 14, 2018 at 3:12 pm

/k lingo will not work in paulinetan site ler….

• Public transports > all

• confused on Mar 13, 2018 at 9:21 pm

If I remember correctly, the original ERL trains are from Siemens. Now they are buying China made trains???

• Mat Horsepower on Mar 13, 2018 at 10:16 pm

All the trains before this were from Siemens but and the ride quality is significantly better than the ones from bombardier… probably the Chinese trains are significantly cheaper and ofc I believe the ride gonna get terrible as they’re main concern is to get more people in it…like old people always say ” quality is pricey”

• Let’s find out the cost.

For the ECRL train project – was estimated at RM29B only by HSSI. In the end, project was awarded without open tender to China.. for RM55B. Almost double.

So let’s see if can find out actual cost of trains vs the contract amount awarded to China for these KLIA trains.

• The train ride between KL Sentral and KLIA/KLIA2 is RM55? For approx. 50km?

ETS Gold between KL Sentral and Butterworth is RM59, but that’s approx. 300km…

• Hi speed vs non Hi speed

• burger bakar on Mar 14, 2018 at 11:53 am

Gomen shud gips subsidize to ERL KLIA & KTM ETS.

• That is why KTM is KTM. Cheap service, but when cheap people complaint not punctual, coach old, service crap, maintainace out & etc – vice versa for ERL. So how?

• Sparcov on Mar 14, 2018 at 8:29 am

Actually, if you buy 2 way, it is cheaper. also if you pay by mastercard it will be cheaper also.

At the end, we also need to consider timing. For business traveler, they don’t mind paying as long as it is on time.

Unless you are travelling alone, otherwise, i do agree using limo or grab will be cheaper.

• old horse on Mar 14, 2018 at 10:12 am

we got JPJ, SPAD, MOT, which is which to handle which is which nowadays?

• 12yrsold on Mar 14, 2018 at 11:00 am

Transport Minister said – Ridership has dropped by around 19% since a fare hike in 2016. Does the additional new trains brings back the ridership & make ERL profitable ??!

If it doesn’t, it will be a waste of time & $$$. I hope Rakyat don’t have to pay for it in the form of bailout by Gomen.

• Bagi murah sikit on Mar 14, 2018 at 1:01 pm

It’s way too expensive.