YY number plate series – bidding open until April 6

There seems to be a new number plate series coming about just about every week now – another one has inevitably appeared, and this one is called YY. As is the case with special number plates, the YY plate series will be available for purchase through a bidding process.

The series – numbered from YY 1 to YY 9999 – opened for bidding on March 15 and will end on April 6, with successful bids being announced on April 30. Unlike the UU plate, which is available on an open basis with no minimum tender price, the YY plates do have etablished baseline prices. Minimum bid pricing for ordinary numbers (example, 1389, 3569) is RM300, while that for special ordinary (er, yes, that is the term) numbers such as 2268 and 9962 is RM1,000.

Bidding prices start at RM2,000 for gold quadruple numbers (2228, 3336, 6999), while special quadruple numbers (2266, 9898) go for RM3,000 on. Triple digit numbers start from RM3,000, while that for special triple numbers (335, 565, 898) is RM6,000.

The YY series follows on the UU series plate that was announced last week. Other special number plate series that have come about include GTR, GG, SAM, K1M, T1M, A1M, US, SMS, NBOS, NAAM, VIP, G, GT, U, Y, PERFECT and PATRIOT. What next, then?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 19, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Become absurd already. Every week now got new number plate and bidding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 19, 2018 at 5:44 pm

JPJ makes so much of money. Somemore now got GST….wow gomen makes so much of money now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • anonymous on Mar 20, 2018 at 7:43 am

Anyone recall there’s a big event that requires large sum of money coming real soon? Nice way to get funded this way, just selling numbers.

• So obvious on Mar 19, 2018 at 5:45 pm

It’s just a method of transferring funds from one pocket to another for the upcoming ‘you know what’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • As long as taxing the rich so no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
      • Henry on Mar 20, 2018 at 1:04 pm

It is obvious. If don’t tax the rich then tax who? Tax you?

• Yes. I get taxed, not a lot, but I dun complain about it cuz its my duty as citizen. If I get richer, I expected to be taxed more. Its fair. So whats the problem?
          Tax the rich no problemo.

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 19, 2018 at 7:57 pm

Most of the bidders come from Putrajaya, the wealthy people live there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • PT admin needs to create a special news category for “Special Plate Number Series”.

• This is only for them to make additional money. Will still continue the high taxes for others.

• Malaysia proven Kaya on Mar 19, 2018 at 6:21 pm

this shows that the rakyat is cash-strap and the economy is very good. Ppl are splurging a big fortune for a bunch of numbers/alphabets on plastic plates.

• 12yrsold on Mar 20, 2018 at 10:38 am

I say let them splurge as much as they want. Its their own $$$. If they want to show off, let it be.

• Its the time of you know what….its coming..thats one way of getting fast money

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Mar 19, 2018 at 6:31 pm

You know something is wrong with the administrstion/management when JPJ has one in common with 4D outlets: Making money by selling numbers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Making money is something wrong huh? Let me go tell that to the business community yeah.

• Tonghoi on Mar 19, 2018 at 6:50 pm

Ridiculous ……dont know why ppl so crazy about those stupid number plate.

• Henry on Mar 19, 2018 at 10:30 pm

“A fool and his money is soon parted.”

• If XXX how? Macam Xander Cage from the movies.

• But Y?!

• Ben Yap on Mar 20, 2018 at 9:48 am

personalized number plate will be the real deal. this kinda generic plates up for bidding is not.

• Dylan Kong on Mar 20, 2018 at 12:38 pm

May I know how can I tender for YY plate?

• Henry on Mar 20, 2018 at 1:07 pm

Using the 26 letters in the alphabet, the permutation is endless. It is a money spinner.

• alvin on Mar 21, 2018 at 11:52 am

how much to tender for YY 99?

• Michelle on Mar 21, 2018 at 12:23 pm

How to bid for YY number plate?
    any direct contact?

• How to bid ?

• Daniel Chuang on Jun 14, 2018 at 3:27 pm

I looking for YY 796, how much.?

• Hi Paul, I recently enquired JPJ about the YY plate number after the bidding closes. I am interested in a normal 4 digits number. However, I was told by JPJ that after the bidding closes now, they have gotten an approved third party company (apparently I also found out that there are many such companies handling a specific series of plate number) to handle the sales of the YY plate number. I called the third party and was quoted RM2k. I just dont get it that a number which no one bidded at RM300, is now being quoted to be sold at RM2k, absolutely ridiculous, a mark-up of almost 6 fold. What logic is that when no one wants to buy at RM300 and is now sold at RM2k? Of course, I have not bargained which I believe can push down to below RM1k pricing but still it does not make sense to me to have a third party profiting instead of JPJ themselves handling the sales of such special series plate number. Also I dont understand why other series like UU does not have minimum bid amount but it was imposed on YY. And I would not mind to write to our new Transport Minister to get rid of this unnecessary practice of getting 3rd party to handle the sales of specific series number and take advantage of buyers like us given JPJ has more than enough manpower to handle this on its own. Hope to hear from you.

• Shuba on Sep 09, 2018 at 2:05 pm

Looking for YY 8066

• Azhar on Feb 06, 2019 at 11:51 am

I’m looking for yy 7678 plate if availble. How about price?

• mohd latif on Jun 26, 2019 at 11:23 am

macamane nak beli no.YY