Nissan Serena S-Hybrid – fifth-gen previewed in M’sia

After months of being spied out on field tests, the latest being in January, the fifth-generation Nissan Serena has finally broken cover, with Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) giving the MPV its first public showing at the MAI Auto Festival taking place in Bagan Datuk, Perak. The C27 example on display was locked, and so we’re left with only the view of the exterior for now.

The Serena isn’t officially on sale yet, but word from the grapevine is that it’s set to be launched sometime next month. As before, the MPV will feature a S-Hybrid powertrain as seen on the C26 Serena, with a MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected twin-CVTC four-cylinder petrol engine offering 150 PS at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm at 4,400 rpm.

The unit, which is paired with an Xtronic CVT, is supplemented by an ECO motor that controls the car’s Idling Stop function and serves as an alternator during deceleration. The 1.8 kW/200 A motor also allows for a “torque assist” function, providing a 50 Nm boost for up to one second when moving away from a standstill.

The preview vehicle is a Highway Star variant riding on 15-inch wheels and 195/65 profile tyres. Standard equipment includes a dual-powered sliding doors, a 360-degree Around View Monitor, seven USB ports and Intelligent Moving Object Detection (I-MOD). Safety kit includes vehicle dynamic control (VDC), hill-start assist, six airbags and Isofix mount points.

The Malaysian-spec Serena will not be available as an eight-seater in our market – it’s confirmed that it will be offered only as a seven-seater in a 2-2-3 configuration (with second-row captain seats). And here’s the interesting bit – we’ve heard that there will be more than one variant of the Serena, with three expected to be the number, though this has yet to be confirmed.

Notably, there will be different front ends. One will be essentially the same as that found on the base Serena in other markets, and the other is what you see here on the Highway Star, with a more agressively styled bumper and a more prominent V-motion two-slat grille. No indication of pricing, so we’ll have to wait until the MPV is officially introduced to get the lowdown on it.

GALLERY: Fifth-generation Nissan Serena press photos

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Fanny Chiew on Mar 30, 2018 at 7:27 pm

Hopefully it will be cheaper than the older one since the USD is so much stronger than last year.

3.8 and 4.4 is big difference. The car now should be about RM30k cheaper if you follow the fact that the Ringgit has strengthened so much

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 12
  • Deddy Misali on Mar 30, 2018 at 7:30 pm

Saya tak kaya..doakan saya memilikinya satu hari nanti untuk memudahkan keluarga kecil saya berulang alik dgn penuh keselesaan..dan bergaya..jgn kecam abang..abangpun punya napsu..kekeke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 14
    • doyok on Mar 30, 2018 at 11:28 pm

Exora Turbo pon bergaya..jauh lg murah abang

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 15
      • casual rider on Mar 31, 2018 at 8:33 am

exactly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • my england is bad on Mar 31, 2018 at 8:06 pm

Mampus la pakai serena nak keep pace dengan exora turbo kat highway. Kena floor pedal to metal always

• pampered on Mar 31, 2018 at 8:04 am

I rather buy this car than some China made car. No quality and no accountability when something goes wrong.

At least Nissan Japan will answer to my complaints

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 27
      • Tipu. Nissan Jepun dun care about ur petty complaints, U buy car from ETCM, not from Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
    • Kacangman on Mar 31, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Hehe saya doa semoga abam berjaya hendaknya

• 15 inch rims and tyres really look weird on Serena… too small

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • McMus on Mar 30, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Rm130ribu MPV hibrid, harge mampu milek…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0rr on Mar 31, 2018 at 6:31 am

Ops.. Just S Hybrid. Simple Hybrid. Not full hybrid like the Honda Jazz & Toyota Prius.

• ProPILOT please

• Nissan the new king on Mar 30, 2018 at 7:54 pm

Listen here lads..me think that nissan the sleeping tiger has finally awaken…this beu looks bloody good dont it…price it right man…it sell well for a 7 seater..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • Just good enough to carry dead tiger I guess. Another monstrous ugly looking mpv besides Alphard and vellfire

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
    • Nissan not Tan Chong. The rest of their models r ancient dinosars. The only gud thing is they have Toyota as their fossil mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Your sleeping tiger speeced 15inch rims. That’s not sleeping, it’s comatose.

• Design upgrade is good.

• Atleast 17 inch tyre lar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Henry on Mar 30, 2018 at 9:27 pm

15″ alloy wheels? Is this car specced by cartoons?

• Ben Yap on Mar 30, 2018 at 9:30 pm

15″ rim? City base spec also 15″ already. It looks like a elephant with chicken feet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 30, 2018 at 10:37 pm

Basically we can expect the base spec to have nothing as in two airbags, halogen lights, fabric seats, etc and on the other end of the spectrum we have this Highway Star but I do agree 15 inches on this looks way too tiny. Heck even the new Myvi runs on 15 inches.

• Kruzer on Mar 30, 2018 at 11:27 pm

They should continue with the 8 seat option like current C26. Most people buy MPV because they need to transport more people compared to a sedan. If only 7, using Bolehland standard, many will just try to squeeze 5 people on the back seat

• before you get excited.. i will tell my honest experience owning the serena s hybrid. mine was first batch from japan..doing nearly 150000 km in 5 years. . this van is not without problems. my first major problem is the fan.. it has one fan for everything including aircon fan. broke down at 100k km just in time before warranty expired. nissan said start stop system may be shortened the life span. since i travelled a lot to east coast( road aa good as off road there) it took a toll on my suspension. now clunking sound from absorber when hit bum or uneven surface. sound like something loose. its only 100k +km. feel like 10 years old car. recently just before 150k km, engine jerk , air con shut down and later all warning light came on including overheat. No idea at first. stop the car for tow to nissan service. cannot drive becos overheat every time tried. actually the belt snap. ok maybe worn out. but later they told the bearing jammed. need to change the bearing together with water pump. 2 bearing changed. quite costly though. now anxious what to come with my nissan serena. suspension still not ok. dont want to repair yet. my point is nissan serena not built to last. not for malayaian road. the only good thing is the fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 64
    • Mike Khoh on Mar 31, 2018 at 10:03 am

Totally agreed with you.i own an Nissan NV350 bought it on 2015 and it’s a cbu unit from Japan.my air conditioning coil was leaking gas and have to replace and cost me alot of money.only driven 100k. Sad quality is not there anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 40
      • With steelgate, airbaggate, FCgate, QAgate, carpetgate, & axlegate, Jepunis quality is a now a pale shadow of their reputation.

• helmy on Apr 18, 2018 at 8:41 am

thank u yobi for sharing your experience. Serena ads in youtube really tempting with all the high tech specs pro pilot, 8 seater, open door with feet etc. I was planning to trade my 2015 vios to get a bigger vehicle and serena is on my list. To look other vehicle with a better quality.

• one more thing to add.. i have to skim my disc at 90k km because the steering rattled when braking hard. turn out disc brake suface got rough. Plus disc pad worn fast in nissan serena. front and rear. be careful.

• 15inch rims.

Let that sink in for a few minutes.

It’s 2018.

Damn you, ETCM.

• Tracks on Mar 31, 2018 at 10:22 am

Although the C27 MR20DD engine is similar to the C26, it is not the same as it has a host of enhancement for better Fuel Economy.
    For the Eco Motor (Alternator), the rated amperage is 240A (C27) +20% versus 200A (C26) so I am guessing the Torque Assist maybe slightly more.

• wawasan2020 on Mar 31, 2018 at 11:45 am

7seater mana cukup, mana 9seater? consumer sini suka lagi banyak lagi bagus concept.

• Bring back the Sentra!!! Uncle Tan Chong!!!

• vVivi Zurianti on Mar 31, 2018 at 11:49 am

15 inch rim tyres will be cheaper for Serena owners, of which are wage earning salary man….

Alphard 18 inch tyres will make your wallet koyak, even for business man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Fireant on Mar 31, 2018 at 2:03 pm

For this new model C27..hopes ETCM doesn’t skimp on the safety features anymore..they have been doing this for years..this is penny wise pound foolish..losing customer’s confidence in your product when you don’t prioritize their & their family’s safety when using your product. Plus would be great if you put in more advance technology such as “Propilot” as well..so far Nissan cars lack behind honda & Toyota in this areas as well.

• what about pro-pilot feature…this model supposed to be completed with this new technology…

• Cap Limau on Apr 01, 2018 at 1:17 am

No knowledge is scary. ProPilot is confirmed only available in Japan. Even Hong Kong CBU from JPN doesnt has the ProPilot.

• Tiada pro pilot. Bye bye nissan.

• wawasan2020 on Apr 02, 2018 at 10:11 am

kan Msian drivers/motorcyclist semua tahap PRO? apa guna nya pro pilot gimmick tu?

• johnlow on Apr 01, 2018 at 1:21 am

7 seat is like a nice looking down grade. Now in direct firing line of most mpvs. The 8 to 7 seat configuration was the best of both world.

• Where are the other model to replace current dinosaur? Where is nissan sylphy facelift? Please bring qashqai too..Cannot wait any longer…huuhuu

• Its can act as a hybrid for “up to one second” – how do they get away with calling that a hybrid?!?

• what a mistake to provide 7 seater only.

Should provide 8 seater version.

• auto-datanet on Apr 04, 2018 at 3:58 pm

they’ve done fantastic job with the design. now looks more sophisticated. sadly, only 7 seats when it could house up to 8.

• auto-datanet on Apr 04, 2018 at 3:59 pm

great job with the design.