2018 Kawasaki Versys X-250 Jakarta to London trip

hdr

When you talk about taking an overland trip on a motorcycle, crossing borders and continents, most would choose an adventure bike with a 800 cc plus engine, but Indonesian Stephen Langitan is planning a journey from Jakarta to London using a 2018 Kawasaki Versys X-250. Making only a few modifications, his quarter-litre adventure bike is essentially stock.

Having already covered 2,000 km on the leg from Jakarta to Kuala Lumpur, Langitan’s journey began on March 15, and will eventually cover some 30,000 km, ending in the UK on August 17. With the tagline “Brotherhood Across Borders”, Langitan will visit 30 countries where he will proudly fly the Indonesian flag.

Langitan’s X-250 is an off-the-shelf model, with the only modifications being the addition of crash bars, riding lights, tubeless tyres and luggage. In addition, Langitan uses a tank bag and duffel bag strapped to the pillion, which contain personal items and essentials which can be easily removed at the end of the day’s ride.

Pace for the entire journey is somewhat leisurely, with Langitan planning to cover 400 km a day, beginning at 8 a.m. and stopping at about 6 p.m. He says the slow pace is deliberate, as he intends to savour the sights and the experience of riding across different countries.

The 2018 Kawasaki Versys X-250 is powered by a 249 cc liquid-cooled parallel twin that produces 33.5 hp at 10,500 rpm and 21.7 Nm of torque at 10,000 rpm. The Versys X-250 is priced at RM23,789, including GST but excluding road tax, registration and road tax.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• I have much respect for overland adventurers. best wishes to Stephen Langitan (great name, skyline). I found lots of great multiple cross-border adventure videos on Youtube, I am planning my own one day.

• Polla on Apr 04, 2018 at 6:13 pm

I wont be surprised if his foglamps got stolen in UK and not Pakistan….

• Jim Ho on Apr 04, 2018 at 10:27 pm

There’re crooks in the whole world, but Western Europeans are much better than you allege.

• Really? Then why is Paris oso known as Pickpocket Capital in the World?

• Jim Ho on Apr 04, 2018 at 10:34 pm

There’re crooks in the whole world, but Western Europeans are much better than that assumption.

• Lucky you if only fog lamp stolen….lots of bike is stolen and hijack while youre riding in london…

• Serap on Apr 04, 2018 at 6:52 pm

Does the indonesian market version have ABS?

• Mr Mohan,

Well this is a cool story indeed, please keep posting story like this. I think last time there are a Malaysian couple ride to London also using their kapcai, a Honda RS150. Maybe you can interview the couple on their inspiring journey.

Cheers,
    momo

• Ahmad on Apr 05, 2018 at 2:15 pm

With that machine.. not that fascinated. Compared to this

https://paultan.org/2016/09/19/malaysian-anita-yusof-returns-from-solo-round-the-world-trip-on-150-cc-yamaha-fz150i/
    this is awesome..

• Pls study before posting an article