2018 Modenas Dominar 400 in Malaysia – RM14,615

After being shown to Malaysian media during a visit to the Bajaj plant in India, the 2018 Modenas Dominar D400 has been launched in the local market at a special launch price of RM14,615, including GST, but excluding road tax, insurance and registration. Based on the previous generation KTM Duke 390, the Dominar D400 is Modenas’ first foray into the ‘big’ bike market.

Debuting into the above 250 cc motorcycle segment in Malaysia, the Dominar D400 originates as a joint-venture between Modenas and Bajaj, which previously saw the introduction of the Pulsar NS200 and RS200, and the V15 cruiser. Having ridden the Dominar D400 both in India as well as the UNIMAP test track in Perlis, the Dominar D400 carries a single-cylinder 373 cc engine derived from the KTM 390 mill, fed by EFI.

Claimed to produce 35 PS at 8,000 rpm, with 35 NM of torque at 6,500 rpm from the triple-spark, four-valve, liquid-cooled engine, the Dominar D400 gets power to the ground via a six-speed gearbox and slipper clutch. The trellis frame from the KTM Duke is gone, replaced with a beam-type perimeter frame.

Standard on the Dominar D400 is two-channel ABS, using a single 320 mm diameter disc with dual-piston calliper in front and a 230 mm diameter unit at the back clamped by a single-piston calliper. Suspension on the Dominar uses a standard telescopic front in front, 43 mm in diameter, with a pre-load adjustable monoshock in the rear.

Inside the cockpit, the instrument panel is a backlit monochrome LCD panel, and LED lighting is used for the headlight and tail lights. Fuel for the 2018 Modenas Dominar D400 is carried in a 13-litre tank, and kerb weight comes in at 182 kg while warranty is two year or 24,000 kilometers, with five free service visits included.

During his launch speech, Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, chief operating officer of Automotive Distribution for DRB-HICOM said Modenas sold more than 41,800 motorcycles for the 2017/2018 financial year. Of this, the Modenas Pulsar and V15 contributed 11% of this number, translating to 4,500 units sold since its launch in May 2017.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Just for clarity, is this considered a Naked bike?

• Humble biker on Apr 18, 2018 at 11:11 pm

Any type of non faired motorcycle is a naked bike. Yes this is a naked bike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • 12yrsold john on Apr 19, 2018 at 9:40 am

This bike is NOT completely naked. It “wear” a underwear(black color) to protect the pipe I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Sub_zero on Apr 19, 2018 at 1:16 pm

You mean that sampan aka undercowl? Topkek

Regarless, it will be classified as naked as long as the manufacturer deem it

• 12yrsold john on Apr 19, 2018 at 5:15 pm

Hehehe. It was meant to be a joke but U got sucked into this senseless & meaningless topic.
            U can called it anything U want “IF” U own the bike:P.

• Sub_zero on Apr 19, 2018 at 11:45 am

Yes this is naked bike, but Bajaj also consider Touring/cruising naked bike

• Family Lodge on Apr 19, 2018 at 6:28 am

Was it UNITEN or UNIMAP track in Perlis?

• the driver on Apr 19, 2018 at 8:07 am

Seems kind of heavy for a single cylinder @ 182kg. Other bikes weighing that much have 2 or 3 cylinders and are 650cc or 765cc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • BOYRACER on Apr 19, 2018 at 9:51 am

It’s the horsepower that counts not the number of cylinders.Single cylinder are known for its low end torque which is good for city riding.Anyway 182kg for a 400 is a bit on the heavy side but sometimes you don’t feel the weight once on the move.
      This is a budget bike so the weight is to be expected.More steel means cheaper costs.
      For comparison the Benelli TRK 502 weighs at 230++ kg and it’s a 500cc bike.

• the driver on Apr 19, 2018 at 5:04 pm

Oh by the way, those bikes have 68 bhp and 108 bhp – Kawasaki z650and Triumph Street Triple

• Sub_zero on Apr 19, 2018 at 11:46 am

That’s why they beef up the torque to 35nm compare to duke 390 which is measly 24nm

• BOYRACER on Apr 19, 2018 at 5:24 pm

Exactly.More torque less gear changes.On smaller capacity it’s always one or the other depending on intended application.

• armainsky on Apr 19, 2018 at 8:33 am

UNIMAP track? UNITEN @ Bangi.

• lilytan on Apr 19, 2018 at 8:34 am

Its UniMAP track not UNITEN. Good price anyway.

• Bernard on Apr 19, 2018 at 9:59 am

Good price but it’s a modenas. Hence the appeal may not be there.

• G.rascals on Apr 19, 2018 at 3:36 pm

Its bajaj. Honestly i wasnt expecting much on thr bike. But when i saw it last night.. its not.that bad.. and for rm15k+ on the road pricing.. i feel its a pretty good deals for them whom want to upgrade from mopped to naked/ sports touring?

• Gracke on Apr 19, 2018 at 11:13 am

But…..I can’t get myself a steady reason to choose this bike from the market now!

• BOYRACER on Apr 19, 2018 at 5:25 pm

Your money your choice.Buy what you want not what other people wants you to buy.

• Ktm duke on Apr 19, 2018 at 11:14 am

Good price. Ktm duke 390 was like rm25K +

• Not attractive at all the design, looks like another pasar malam bike..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 35
    • jack sepang on Apr 20, 2018 at 9:16 am

banyak la paar malam kau bro. ingat mereka jual ikan ke. anyway good price. congratz modenas this new model.

• wow….thats really damn cheap for 400cc bike. even the measly 250 ktm and other cost 20k plus

• rider on Apr 19, 2018 at 2:56 pm

believe me this bike will be a super hit in Malaysia. Price very cheap. Spoke with my friends from India about the bike quality, most of them give good review. Thump up for Modenas!!!

• If u want to experience shop dont want to accept ur bike for trade-in/ at rediculously low value. Try all this bajaj bike

• G.rascals on Apr 19, 2018 at 3:39 pm

haha.. the pulsar its crap.. but the dominar.. you’ll br suprise.

Kudoz to modenas for their effort.. RnD on the 1cm x 5cm stickers on the tail light.

• Sub_zero on Apr 19, 2018 at 7:22 pm

Well they just switch new tokay after jepunis tokay Kawasaki break up with bajaj

I won’t be surprised if jaguh replacement is around the corner

• rider on Apr 19, 2018 at 5:24 pm

what colours are available?

• exsaga on Apr 19, 2018 at 10:29 pm

Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) has their own certified racing circuit. And its at the smallest state in Malaysia, Perlis. Check it out guys.

• himalayan on Apr 20, 2018 at 6:05 pm

hope modenas will bring in affordable royal enfield himalayan fi

• Raymond Ng on Apr 22, 2018 at 12:24 am

Hi,

Im intrested to buy what is the best price i can get at sarawak.

Thank you.