Proton dealers get to visit Geely 4S centre in Shanghai

Over the past few months, Proton dealers have pledged to upgrade to or set up 3S/4S centres in preparation for the launch of the brand’s first SUV model. To get a sense of just what a dealer outlet could look like for Proton in the future, several dealers were recently given the opportunity to visit one of Geely’s dealer 4S centre.

The dealers were welcomed to the Shanghai Jinxi Automobile Sales and Service outlet by general manager and dealer principal Xu Zhi Meng. Aside from sharing his experience running the outlet and in the automotive industry, Xu also said the Boyue has been a well-received model in the country.

With over 30,000 units sold monthly, the waiting time for the SUV stands at around six months with customers actually willing to wait for the car. This encouraging response is despite Geely being relatively new in the SUV market.

In Q4 this year, Malaysians will be able to get their hands on the Proton SUV, which will be based on the Boyue that was developed in collaboration with Volvo. For now, we’ve been told the C-segment model will come equipped with features such as Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), adaptive cruise control, active lane keep assist and a 360-degree around view monitor.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kuinosan on Apr 19, 2018 at 1:38 pm

Back then there were people poking fun at made in China cars. Now the jokes on them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Well, people still make fun of China cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • It's still a joke on Apr 19, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Poke poke poke how .. no1 is still VW and Audi in China …not Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Even Geely can only sell in 3rd and 4rd tier Chinese cities. First tiers are driving VW, Honda, Toyota, BAIC, JAC. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
          • Abdul Kadeer on Apr 20, 2018 at 7:51 am

It would be fun to see who is going to pay RM100k for a Proton.

Proton CEO already said 75% of all their buyers only buy Saga and Persona….which cost RM50k

You can assume also, the bulk of 25% remainder is the Perdanas ordered by the Government for official use.

Amazing confidence that they say by 2020, sales will be 220,000 units per year.

• Jokers on Apr 20, 2018 at 7:52 am

Just like you ‘4rd’ tier English level. LOL!

• If Joker can have the same meticulous trait in his work, then Proton won’t be at this sorry state.

• adam1 on Apr 20, 2018 at 1:16 pm

ive been staying in shanghai n xiamen for 2years now. u sure what u quote is fact or just what u think ?

• those Proton dealers will instantly achieve super strong sales after they gained knowledge & experience in Shanghai..

• Abdul Kadeer on Apr 19, 2018 at 4:52 pm

So shy. All these 4S centres were in Europe 10 years ago. Mercedes, BMW and Porsche had all these 10 years ago.

Proton always had lawatan sambil belajar trips to Europe. How come they did not learn then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
        • adam1 on Apr 20, 2018 at 1:17 pm

ive been staying in china for 2 years now. u sure no.1 now is vw and audi? sit on ur arse and keyboard warrior more. u know nothing about the outside world =]

• P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • I loled on Apr 19, 2018 at 11:57 pm

Hahaha what a joke… Even after p1 got sold to china, p1 still dont have money to pay to vendors. Ends up vendor wont send parts and line stop at mvf plant for days… If u guys think geely will pump some money, well u guys are wrong. They only want a place to start up they own production with the support of their suppliers from china…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
        • All outstanding debts alredi paid. Vendors thought they can blackmail P1 by delaying parts cuz of Dr Li demanding for 30% price down. Such foolish acts will only strengthen his belip that more deserving and reliable and cheaper vendors from Geely/Volvo global sourcing, deserves the contract. I pity the shallow minded fools but padan muka.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 226 Thumb down 111
  • NIZZAN on Apr 19, 2018 at 1:41 pm

I saw bunch of greedy dealer. Bty, the car on charging will be next Persona replacement?

• Ruslan on Apr 19, 2018 at 1:46 pm

Proton dealers learned speaking chinese?

• Andrekua on Apr 19, 2018 at 1:54 pm

Don’t just go there walk walk, eat eat and dream success drop from sky.

Please learn from others how to provide after sales services and give pressure towards manufacturer when there’s too many recurrence faults with the same model.

• Ahmadjr on Apr 19, 2018 at 2:02 pm

Tengok je la 4s centre honda malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • tokmoh. on Apr 19, 2018 at 2:07 pm

Geely, proton > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Geely need to sell the Boyue below RM80k if not Malaysians will not buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • RM80K?

You have to understand, it’s just a Chinese model with Malaysian ailing company.

In Malaysia
      Chinese car = low demand
      Proton car = low demand.
      So Chinese car + Proton car = low demand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • adam1 on Apr 20, 2018 at 1:20 pm

its low demand because the honda toyota u drive is paid by ur ahpa n ahma. 9years 100% loan. XD

• See .. people rather go for 9 years loan risking high repayment than buying a proton junk.

• Yawnz on Apr 23, 2018 at 4:48 am

Pipu buy P2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

• YB Albert on Apr 19, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Johnnie,dont tell white lies.You r a hardcore P1 supporter.Even at rm 100k,you will secretly order the BOYUE. Just amazing showmanship.

• Dreaming on Apr 19, 2018 at 2:58 pm

85% of Proton dealers now only sell 20 units a month. How to maintain.. Ini KL bukan Shanghai

• YB Albert on Apr 19, 2018 at 3:37 pm

By the time Boyue arrives before Santa celebrates Christmas,Protong’s sales would have fallen to perhaps 50,000 units.
    I want to ask Dr.Li why he takes so long to bring in some saleable models.
    No point having 7 star showrooms when the mentality of the SA is still ” kalau u tak suka QC kami,you KELUAR”
    Just like any outdated and antique gomen needs regime change,the mentality of P1 workforce needs CHANGE…CHANGE…CHANGE…not just the showroom.
    Or are we waiting for another piece of horror news? P1 asking for bailout taxringgit again,cos by then the vendors (if not removed )will be bringing in politicians to demand payment,if not mogok,lah.
    We dont see any real progress for P1…just basking in 1 syiok model called BOYUE. Just pathetic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 4
    • All I hear is FEAR… FEAR… FEAR. Gud! For its the sound of doom. And its coming fast. For u.

Fear it. Know it. Embrace it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
      • Abdul Kadeer on Apr 20, 2018 at 7:53 am

The only fear is Proton is expecting to sell 220,000 units by 2020 from 70,000 units now.

1 and half years more!!!

• Hahaha! Speak for urself. P1 has no fear cuz it has big bro Geely. Geely has no fear cuz it has money and has a sound plan. Gov has no fear cuz they have confidence in Geelys plan. Dealers & distros has no fear, otherwise they wun be investing to upgrade to 3S/4S. MY pipu has no fear, in fact 70,000 pipu r waiting with bated breath. Only fear reeking out is from ToyotaP2 showrooms nationwide. Yes, fear it for its the inevitable.

• Carlover on Apr 19, 2018 at 10:03 pm

Well said, i agree with u, to start with a suv model, is a big mistake. Geely is eyeing for lotus only. Now they got it. Geely will exit eventually from malaysia. Simple thing to ponder, at very low of production, but yet still keeping a lot of workers. Furthermore, having 2 factories just to produce 4k units monthly. Meaning running loss daily. And this is happening until now. This rebadge model is not benefiting to local vendors except for the emblem sign vendor only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
      • I loled on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:04 am

Why theres dislike on this comment? Its the truth… Boyue is not benefitial to malaysia. This is also the reason why they dont hv money to pay vendors and causes line stop for days

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
        • Becoz when PT said its not so easy, level headed pipu listens, unlike some ignorants.
          https://paultan.org/2018/01/12/photo-of-proton-right-hand-drive-geely-boyue-is-fake/

• Now this is LOL! on Apr 20, 2018 at 7:58 am

Are you one of the vendors that allegedly haven’t receive payments from Proton? Go enquire with Proton instead of Paultan. You think making comments here will help your case. LOL!

• Nah, this no vendor ranting,
            but from another kunta trolldupe just venting.
            Hahaha!

• hazzif on Apr 19, 2018 at 3:47 pm

Geely has no interest in selling cars as proton. they only want tg malim facilities. they will wipe all vendors and dealers and bring new one from china. they will then conquer regional market with cars that are cheaper than we think. boyue is priced much lower than 80k in later stage.
    thank u government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • passion on Apr 19, 2018 at 3:56 pm

just launch the bloody car already. we don’t need news of this and that. DAMN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Lek la sap kok lu on Apr 19, 2018 at 4:35 pm

Nanti dulu, biar kite pergi cuti-cuti sambil melawat kilang, workshop, service center, HQ etc Geely dulu…

• Gud things comes to those who wait. Sabar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 53
  • lilytan on Apr 19, 2018 at 6:42 pm

Proton seems to be in lalaland over the upcoming boyue. If proton thinks boyue will be their saviour then get ready to be disappointed. The volume wont be much to save proton. What proton needs at least after boyue is a high volume model in either A or B segment i.e saga replacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh. on Apr 20, 2018 at 11:15 am

Boyue is only the beginning.

Once the other models like VF11 MPV, SX11 B-segment SUV, new powertrain in for Persona, Saga comes in, and service quality improved with 3S/4S outlets everywhere, they will be unstoppable.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 20, 2018 at 8:57 am

Latest sales of vehicles in China Jan-Feb 2018. See what’s the top selling models for the China auto industry. Don’t be a frog in the well.

https://www.marklines.com/en/statistics/flash_sales/salesfig_china_2018