PT TALKS: BMW M2 Competition finally a real M car? Nissan Serena, 7 or 8 seats? Taxi rules for Grab?

Hey folks, here at paultan.org. we’re delving into a new video segment, where we talk about the hottest auto-related topics of the moment.

In our inaugural PT Talks video, Hafriz Shah and Matthew Tong discuss a trio of subjects – the new BMW M2 Competition, while locally we have the forthcoming arrival of the 2018 Nissan Serena MPV. We also take a look at the subject of e-hailing drivers or more specifically, the regulations and requirements they now need to adhere to.

Do tell us what you think of this brief talk-show format. What did you like from this segment? What would you like to have changed, or added? Do sound off below in the comments and through the YouTube link, dear readers.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Good idea for this new sub-series. No, no need to add anyone else, just keep it at Hafriz and Matt. Maybe Harvinder sometimes.

• Abdul Kadeer on Apr 19, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Good discussion. Don’t forget also to discuss the most important topic….why Malaysia has the most expensive car prices in the world hen our pay packet is one of the lowest in the world

• PT dun discuss about fake news. Go make ur own fake reviews utube then compare who pipu follows more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Carmaroodin on Apr 20, 2018 at 12:40 am

Abdul Kadeer was quite accurate. According to recent Bank Negara report, in Malaysia our salaries and wages are low as half of the working Malaysians earn less than RM1,700 per month. Low and depressed salaries are among the grouses among execs coupled with the rising cost of living and big decline in purchasing power.

• TakNakDupes on Apr 20, 2018 at 10:22 am

Yeah right. Everyone here knows this Kadeer fella is another kunta dupe. Dept of Statistics Malaysia has published that median income has risen to RM 5228 in 2016. And thats a growth of 6.6% annum. Statistics in PT also showed non-nationals percentage increased year on year. Luxury brands are making record breaking sales. Online purchases can reach RM 1B in just one event. KLIA traffic will overtake New York JFK. More Malaysians are sightseeing & spending overseas according to Bank Negara report.

• Chris on Apr 19, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Hi There, with reference to e-hailing services, I think if the goverment wants to subject the rules to be the same as taxi drivers, then all should be fair and square. How about, petrol insentive, tyre insentive and all the other perks, how about being unmetered instead of being determined by the app and so forth and so forth. This is probably good for full time, but my opinion again, I think for part time, it is difficult.

• Dhanan on Apr 19, 2018 at 3:55 pm

Audio not so clear, there is some echoeing. Consider a microphone, but great concept… keep the good stuff coming guys

• arowana on Apr 19, 2018 at 6:47 pm

To Hafriz, lack of expression makes your conversation and delivery of messages look dull.. very knowledgeable and informative yes i agree that u have such elements but like i said before, Hafriz u are not suitable to talk in front of the camera, it makes you look like a talking wood.. perhaps writing scripts or being a video presentation editor suit u best.

To Matt, yes you are the right person to fit in this right job for video presentation or talk shows. Pure natural expression and amazing charisma , that’s the recipe for a good video presenter. Keep it up!

P/S: I would highly suggest Harvinder to replace Hafriz though.

• Mazda 3 on Apr 19, 2018 at 7:08 pm

So true Malaysians are hard to please. Imagine being the government!

• I think your comment on people’s SUKA SUKA complaints attitude on 8 & 7 seaters Innova wasn’t accurate, 2nd row Innova is a bench 3 seaters;accessing 3rd row seats are rather problematic. Serena has magic armrest 8th seat is stowed besides driver & front pax. Therefore accessing 3rd rows is easier thru 2nd row 2 seaters. You can slide them outwards. Therefore Serena is best with 8 seats NOT 7 seats.

• Hi paultan team, are you guys striving to make your video sub-segment similar to After-Drive…. Good effort on your inaugural video… But guys, appreciate it if you upgrade the setting and possibly have a short intro montage… And FYI, the upcoming Nissan Serena is a disappointment… Imho, rm150k for a ckd semi-hybrid without the pro-pilot feature… Typical ETCM…

• Richard on Apr 20, 2018 at 7:00 am

U commented that uber driver r nicer, for yr infor most of uber driver also drive grab they do both.if the gov is going to regulate the grab drivers by background check n car condition its fine
    but if they r going to be same as taxi rule, grab car can be 20yrs above (like some taxi on the rd now), cheaper toll (for taxi drivers), drive thru the special rd lanes ( lanes for bus n taxi),
    waiting lanes specially for grab (taxi has special waiting lanes at shoping complex, lrt station), for now this r some of the rules i can think of.

• tokmoh. on Apr 21, 2018 at 8:34 am

How did you guys get the Emgrand GS model car?

The other model also a brand part of Geely’s investment, excellent choice. Show the world the might of Geely!

This kinda show need 3 people, a triangle bantering of opinions is the best, no more, no less.

• Ruzlina on Apr 22, 2018 at 9:17 pm

I like this new series. Keep it coming.