April 2018 week four fuel prices – unchanged yet again

It’s Wednesday, bringing us to our mid-week musings for our national fuel prices… which have no changes to show for this week.

The fourth week of April sees fuel prices remain level from last week, at RM2.20 per litre for RON 95 (unchanged), RM2.47 for RON97 (unchanged) and RM2.18 per litre for Euro 2M diesel (unchanged).

As par for the diesel course, Euro 5 diesel stays 10 sen pricier than the Euro 2M equivalent and therefore will be pegged at RM2.28 per litre, also unchanged from the week prior. This marks the fifth consecutive week since the last price fluctuation for all fuel grades and types, which saw a 10 sen hike across the board from mid-March.

This week’s fuel price announcement is the 57th since the system took effect at the end of March 2017. Here, the RON 95 petrol retails for 10 sen cheaper than at the beginning of the weekly fuel price float, while RON 97 is now 13 sen per litre cheaper. Meanwhile, diesel now is two sen cheaper than at the programme’s start, from RM2.20 per litre.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Wow, election coming means fuel prices immune to ‘market fluctuation’. Other days 1001 reasons to adjust prices weekly!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 237 Thumb down 1
    • Michael Chew on Apr 25, 2018 at 8:14 pm

Yet another lie from the Malaysian Government….Oh Wai

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
      • the world lies! ooo waiii!

• When fuel price rise, u complaint expensive.
          When fuel price drop, u complaint cheap.
          When fuel price unchanged, u complaint tipu.

Apa lagi lu mahu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Firdaus on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:05 pm

Unchanged 5 minggu. Tipu letteww.

• stastasta on Apr 27, 2018 at 12:33 pm

global fuel price went up since last month but malaysian price remain unchanged for 3 consecutive weeks ? we want government to publish the calculation formula in mass media.be transparent.

• Do you have proof? Otherwise ‘Fake News’

• Tengku Halim on Apr 25, 2018 at 8:18 pm

Malaysians kena tipu lagi. What is worse is that we are oil producing country

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
      • Arab also learn from Malaysia, introduce GST, gip ‘BR1M’. So be grateful that u are all under the current Gov

• Let pray hard and hope that after GE14 still have by-election for every one or two month then our petrol price can remained.

• superbird #43 on Apr 25, 2018 at 6:15 pm

wow, world oil price is so stable for the past 3 weeks…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 0
  • azrul haniff on Apr 25, 2018 at 6:32 pm

Invisible hands in play.
    Brent crude at an all time high and yet no price increase?
    Mana fuel price mechanism ?
    Please don’t get hoodwinked by manipulation
    at the highest degree.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 1
  • hengyuan on Apr 25, 2018 at 6:49 pm

Since this morning, petrol station owners seen topping up diesel + petrol supplies as there was talk of at least a 10% / 20 sen increase.
    Kena main. :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • Kautim on Apr 25, 2018 at 7:22 pm

petrol station owners got fed?

• @ Of course petrol stations topped up fuel regularly! Especially on heavy traffic areas. The fuel supply depleted quickly. Sigh.

• YB Meme on Apr 25, 2018 at 7:08 pm

25/4/2018

Dear diary,

I’d realised that my prediction for this week had gone wrong.. What could possible go wrong I wonder. Am I losing my power or something is wrong with my coconut and tongkat sakti.

I must persevere and find out the rootcause for the unchanged petrol price for this week.

Best regards,
    Your lovely owner

• 12yrsold john on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:13 pm

Your coconut have been eaten & tongkat taken/used by john.

• Minyak tipu on Apr 25, 2018 at 7:18 pm

All will cry big time after the election!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Leafable on Apr 25, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Crude oil have been rising recently by as much as 20 percent. Yet not price change. Malaysia Election Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • BELUT on Apr 25, 2018 at 9:55 pm

This is not logic for d fuel price to remain same price, when world oil price increased for the past 3 weeks plus MYR currency is at falling trend against US currency. Is d so called care taker is not telling us d truth on oil pricing mechanism or or d person whom does d calculations, went on.leave for 3 weeks? Obviously this is a not a healthy tactics. You can’t fool Malaysian, they are smart enough to tell d difference between fake n facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • YB Albert on Apr 26, 2018 at 9:01 am

Brudder,just enjoy low prices first lor.just wait for may 10

• blableh on Apr 26, 2018 at 12:15 pm

Ini bermakna kerajaan boleh mengawal harga bahan api..jgn nak nafikan pulak.
      Soalan cepumas: brp RM subsidi telah disumbat masuk untuk harga yg tak berubah ini? :)

• 12yrsold john on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:16 pm

Hehehe. The price remain the same is NOT fake news but the mechanism is. Cheers…

• Driver on Apr 26, 2018 at 12:02 am

Maybe the so called fuel logic or formula is when a bangla IT worker asking the “boss”:
    “Boss, ini hari dah hari Rabu, berapa harga you mau adjust ?”

• And yet surprisingly we have heard nothing from the station owners that they are dying buying oil at world price but selling below value. Must love election a lot it solves everything magically.

• A cheated Malaysian on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:24 am

Based on the prevailing international crude oil price and exchange rate Ron 97, Ron 95 and diesel should average 0.20sen higher. Expect BN gov. to hike by 0.20sen avg. for week 10 May to 16 May when back in power. Malaysian will then be RM27.0 million poorer per day if you vote BN in.

• azrai on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:28 am

For the last 4 weeks we had the same fuel price. The last 4 week the Brent crude atnds at USD69 per barrel, since then it did fluctuate to USD73 per barrel. Our RM-USD also last 4 weeks stand at RM3.85, and yesterday it is ay RM3.90. The logic? Kuasa Rakyat.
    Take a deep breath for ‘another half’. April 10, fuel price going up 20 sen, 17th another 20 sen, so on and so forth…

• Rakyat Malaysia bersiaplah untuk hadapi 5 tahun bawah pentadbiran BN sekali lagi untuk kali ke-14… Dan kali ke-3 bawah bijan… Aduhai rakyatku..

• Ben Yap on Apr 26, 2018 at 11:27 am

enjoy while you can guys, when election over, it will be up between 30 cents to 50 cents.

• fan zombi kg pisang on Apr 26, 2018 at 11:27 am

Benar kata arwah pak jabik zombi kg pisang (di fb nye) sblm dia meninggal,bile nk plhnraya hrga petrol akn jd murah tetibe (wlpn hrga pasaran dunia tgh mahal gile)..

• Gomorrah on Apr 26, 2018 at 1:45 pm

Mana john? Mari sini terangkan bagaimana kerajaan Malaysia boleh kekalkan harga minyak apabila harga di pasaran dunia sedang naik? Ini sistem “free float” kan? Dalam penerangan boleh elakkan kegunaan perkataan “subsidi” tak?

Exposed for the paid BN troll he/she is and now hiding. If this election is won by them, we’ll be paying for this subsidy with hugely inflated prices in the months/years to come.

• It’s simple really. BN got the power to do anything, including altering reality. So be wise and vote for the Gov with ‘Power Stone’

• No name on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:26 pm

When the election is coming but you know you need to gain profit as well. So, just keep the price unchanged lah. Then during the speech, said that our gas remained unchange but I still remember last year the price was below RM2. What a way…

• A. Rizudin on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:06 pm

“On all sides, deceit all ’round,
    Truth twisted to serve their ends,
    They ask us to stand our ground,
    Yet push others off the bends.

In this semi-mindless group of sheep,
    So few of us wish for more,
    A means to rise above the trash heap,
    And truly save the country we adore.”

– A. Rizudin, Apr 2018.

• Love Malaysia, love Malaysian. on Apr 26, 2018 at 11:20 pm

Be prepared for a drastic price increase after election if there is no changes. Price of petrol has been stagnant since the announcement of voting date. Please vote wisely fellow Malaysian.

• Chew Kim Kwang on May 02, 2018 at 11:57 am

Please advise when the registration for car entering Malaysia will begin?

Thks $ rgds

• Chew KIm Kwang on May 02, 2018 at 12:02 pm

Please advise when I can register my Singapore registered car to enter Malaysia?

thks & rgds

• John Teng on May 02, 2018 at 6:48 pm

great bike but cannot get it here