Ferrari Portofino introduced in Malaysia – RM948k

Naza Italia has officially introduced the Ferrari Portofino in Malaysia. The California replacement, first revealed in August last year, makes its local debut eight months after its world premiere at the 2017 Frankfurt Motor Show.

Named after a town in the Italian Riviera in the Liguria region, the drop-top measures in at 4,586 mm long, 1,938 mm wide and 1,318 mm tall, with a 2,670 mm-long wheelbase. The GT tips the scales at 1,664 kg, and has a 46% front/54% rear weight distribution.

Visually, the Portofino has been completely redesigned with new, sharper-looking sheet-metal – the front end’s grille and LED headlights, with its more horizontal design, is reminiscent of the GTC4Lusso. At the rear, the car features more widely-spaced round tail lights to reduce the visual bulk created by the high boot-lid, designed as such to accommodate the folding hardtop.

The retractable hard-top roof itself is all new – aside from having a sleeker design to give the Portofino a fastback look, it’s lighter than that on the California and can now be raised and lowered in 14 seconds on the move at low speeds.

The car – which sits on 20-inch wheels and 245/35 front and 285/35 rear profile rubbers – also adds a new red exterior shade called Rosso Portofino to its colour palette. The Malaysian launch car, a left-hand drive unit making its way around the region, was a silver example.

Inside, the cabin largely mirrors the interior styling of the GTC4Lusso – there’s a 10.2-inch touchscreen infotainment system display as well as a secondary info screen on the dashboard console for the front passenger. Other fresh bits include a new three-spoke steering wheel as well as a new air-conditioning system, which the automaker says now offers better performance both with the roof up or down.

Attention has also been placed in improving ergonomics and comfort levels. There’s a new wind deflector, which reduces wind noise and cuts air flow inside the cabin by as much as 30% with the top dropped, and the backrests of the 18-way power-adjustable front seats have been redesigned to offer more legroom for rear occupants.

The Portofino is powered by a 3.9 litre Ferrari F154 BB twin-turbo V8. Previously seen on the California T, the mill has been given a number of revisions, including the introduction of new pistons and conrods as well as a redesigned intake and exhaust system. As a result, output has been bumped up, the unit now offering 600 hp at 7,500 rpm and 760 Nm of twist from 3,000 to 5,250 rpm.

Relevant figures for performance include a 0-100 km/h time of 3.5 seconds (0-200 km/h in 10.8 seconds) and a 320 km/h top speed. Fuel consumption has also been improved, the new car having a claimed consumption of 10.7 litres per 100 km on a combined cycle.

The mill is paired with a seven-speed F1 dual-clutch transmission, and electronic controls includes a third-generation electronic differential (E-Diff3), which is integrated into the F1-Trac system to improve mechanical grip and control at the limit.

The Portofino also introduces electric power steering, claimed to offer a seven percent faster steering ratio. Elsewhere, the SCM-E magnetorheological dampers have been uprated with the use of dual-coil technology, enhancing performance while improving bump absorption.

Naza Italia is introducing the Ferrari Portofino at a base price of RM948,000, excluding duty and customisation options. Deliveries are set to begin later this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rahman on May 11, 2018 at 1:13 pm

Now not a good time to buy any car. Cause Pakatan Government will reduce car prices by 30%.

A silly person will buy now. You buy car RM100k, few months down the road, the same car is sold for RM70k.

You will cry like new born baby.

Uncertain times. Car sales will be very bad the next few months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 20
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 158
      • john returns on May 11, 2018 at 10:45 pm

BN still keeping u as cybertroll ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • maslan pk on May 11, 2018 at 11:06 pm

#Anti fake news Bill

• Rightwinger on May 11, 2018 at 11:37 pm

Millennials have no clue…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • As demonstrated by their zombie, in this new era theres no more freedom of speech except theirs. Truly terrifying era we live in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • Tegarbro on May 13, 2018 at 10:15 am

I choose to be happy. Life is too short to sit around and wait naively for that perfect moment.

• Proof me on May 13, 2018 at 10:20 am

Proof the 300% tax that was introduced before pls!

• Bloomberg article [Malaysia Eyes Sale of Proton as Mahathir’s Auto Dream Dies]
            “For most of its history, Proton benefited from tariffs of as much as 300 percent on imported cars.”

Wanna dispute with Bloomberg?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Asbullah on May 14, 2018 at 5:42 am

go for Tesla duty exempted.
            https://paultan.org/2016/02/18/govt-to-allow-duty-exempt-import-of-100-tesla-model-s/

• Shamsul on May 12, 2018 at 12:02 pm

We are so happy now there are no more cybertroopers who refresh page thousand over times and block traffic to PT site. Now accessing PT site will be fast

• Don’t be daft, even he admits that Proton is no longer the national car

• john talkok on May 12, 2018 at 10:50 pm

Re-introduce? Since when car prices gone down in BN era? Enough lah, pipu are smart enough not to belip in ur fake news

• GoodBye John on May 12, 2018 at 11:49 am

Good we keep this blog clean. No more 2300 likes on a single comment and no more fake dupes promoting a so called kind Government.

The people have spoken. The truth is out

• Rahman on May 11, 2018 at 1:15 pm

What will you do when you buy this car for RM948k. Then one day, Pakatan honours thier promise. All cars become 30% less.

This car automatically becomes RM300k less.

You will cry cry cry cry.

Within one year, your 2nd hand value also jatuh crazy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 143
      • john returns on May 11, 2018 at 10:46 pm

Are u pembangkang or what?

• bmwpower on May 11, 2018 at 11:13 pm

Step down lar for good of the party …

• GoodBye John on May 12, 2018 at 11:52 am

Pls admit wrong. Cause the whole nation has spoken. Move on and better your life john

• Shamsul on May 12, 2018 at 11:57 am

I think the whole nation just prove to you john….your propaganda is fake.

• john talkok on May 12, 2018 at 11:01 pm

Readers beware! This john came back in a vengeance for BN by spreading fake news of Gov

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • What? on May 11, 2018 at 5:48 pm

You think there are ready stock for cars like Ferrari? You book now and you will probably get your car next year. And that is for less popular models like GTC4 Lusso. For models like the 488 GTB and Portofino, expect at least 2 years waiting time. You pay according to the levels of ‘readiness’ of your Ferrari, so you only pay full amount when it’s entering final stages of assembly.

• Shamsul on May 12, 2018 at 12:20 pm

Ferrari is expensive because of our high taxes. If there are no high taxes, the price becomes half

• Shamsul on May 12, 2018 at 12:18 pm

Car price sure drop 30% because this is one of Pakatan’s main manisfesto

Last time we were blinded because cybertrooper told us Malaysia had the cheapest car prices in the world. Well, it was not

• Rahman on May 11, 2018 at 1:24 pm

Hi everybody readers and writers as well as Paul Tan.

I would like to kumpul duit from all our readers. I appeal to everyone in this blog to feel sorry for john. He is out of job now. Let us kumpul duit to give him bantuan until he gets a new job

I hope Paul Tan also can help us out by making a Tabung and give us a bank account for all of us to contribute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
    • MOtard on May 11, 2018 at 6:10 pm

Proton skilled programme.

https://paultan.org/2017/01/26/proton-accredited-as-centre-for-national-dual-training-system-by-malaysian-ministry-of-human-resources/

• Thanks on May 11, 2018 at 7:01 pm

Not everyone here knows who is John. So please stop this nonsense comment. Better comment about the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Shamsul on May 12, 2018 at 12:03 pm

I agree on this. Let us call it Tabung John. I pledge RM50 already. Anyone else?

• alpha dravidian on May 11, 2018 at 2:10 pm

Why LHD? here not ah may rika/ euroland/ chin nah!

• Nie semua salah GST…

• Shamsul on May 12, 2018 at 12:21 pm

Jangan bimbang. GST tak ada lagi. Kami tak ada kerajaan yang zalim lagi

• With duties it should come up to about RM 1.5 – 1.8 million? But I think nowadays there are really rich folks who don’t really mind paying the duties. They know very well that it is being managed better by the new government. I have friends who are now even willing to pay their PTPTN, police summons and income tax. Malaysia needs you!

• just wishing paultan.org could operate this site everyday,,hujungMinggu aso,,public holiday too..its not only me asking for this, am wakili the rest kot..cunnn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Rayc216 on May 11, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Why not, If u enjoy reading AI robot written articles.
      U think ppl don’t need sleep rest n holidays?

• deswai we need to give more fundings to PT,,journalist in other automotive website works everyday kot..am very loyal to PT u know,,eveytime i wanna buy a new p1 or other car i will not go check on other website dah kot..meanwhile org jual kereta everyday! ooo waiii!

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 118
      • Shamsul on May 12, 2018 at 11:59 am

Pity PT writers. They too need a rest and they too want to be happy that dedak, corruption and fake news is over.

Hard times for you now john, all the best yea

• James on May 12, 2018 at 12:06 pm

Waaa… Hi john! How are you. Who’s you working now? I bet your boss cabut already.

• Hahaha! I dun work for anyone. I only work against fake news and basher trolls. 5 years from now, I will still be around. Lets see how long u stay, now that ur paymasters no longer needs ur services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • Jamal on May 13, 2018 at 10:22 am

His boss is grounded by Mahathir, can’t cabut

• SAM38 on May 11, 2018 at 7:13 pm

Yupe. even UTC operate everyday,

• What? on May 11, 2018 at 5:48 pm

You think there are ready stock for cars like Ferrari? You book now and you will probably get your car next year. And that is for less popular models like GTC4 Lusso. For models like the 488 GTB and Portofino, expect at least 2 years waiting time. You pay according to the levels of ‘readiness’ of your Ferrari, so you only pay full amount when it’s entering final stages of assembly.

• That small rear seats, might as well just remove em.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 12, 2018 at 10:06 am

the flawed ferrari

• Ben Yap on May 12, 2018 at 10:53 am

with the taxes and duties, how much will it cost?

• With new tax reform, hopefully Ferrari is more accessible to the masses.

• Afeeq Hasan on May 14, 2018 at 12:08 pm

Love Ferrari for NOT following everyone else and putting in a tablet like screen that pops out the dash.