Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR Concept officially debuts at Wörtherseetreffen – 2.0L TSI engine, 290 PS, 264 km/h

The Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR Concept has made its debut at this year’s Wörtherseetreffen event in Reifnitz, Austria, previewing a series production model that customers will actually be able to buy later this year. While it may be referred to as a concept, expect the final product to be almost identical to what is seen here.

Headline figures start with the 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder TSI engine under the bonnet, which has been tuned to serve up 290 PS and 370 Nm of torque. To ensure the engine remains cool while delivering such a high level of performance, the GTI TCR gains two extra radiators.

All of that power is sent to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch DSG gearbox and a locking differential. Volkswagen hasn’t provided a 0-100 km/h time but the ingredients certainly suggest it will have a standard GTI beat.

As for the top speed, Volkswagen offers two options. Opting for the standard configuration, the car comes with 18-inch “Belvedere” forged wheels, larger brakes and an electronically limited top speed of 250 km/h.

For those who need that little bit more, there’s an optional package that bumps the top speed up to 264 km/h by doing away with the Vmax limiter, making this Golf the fastest GTI of the current model range.

You’ll also get 19-inch wheels, a 20 mm lower ride height, adjustable sports suspension and adaptive chassis control (DCC). Also available for a little extra is an Akrapovic titanium exhaust system.

Styling-wise, a new front spoiler marks the GTI TCR from a regular GTI, along with side skirts, “TCR” badging and logo projector. Moving inside, you’ll find seats upholstered with a mix of microfibre and fabric, the former also used on the door inserts and gear lever. Red accents like the contrast stitching and 12 o’clock stripe on the steering wheel complete the look.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Azrin on May 11, 2018 at 8:00 am

0-100 km/h quiker than CTR

• Shamsul on May 12, 2018 at 12:21 pm

VW is a dead brand. Can tutup kedai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
      • Katak Melompat Jatuh Juga on May 12, 2018 at 7:07 pm

Hey Shamsul. You better join your “big” boss and quit while you still can.

What do you mean VW is a dead brand. Did you see the sales report that PT released recently? VW is actually one of the European brands that are growing in Malaysia along with Mercedes and BMW. The ones that are dying are Ford, Audi and most of the French makes.

• vw=very worry on May 13, 2018 at 3:42 am

Dowan VW, buy Passat pay 1.7k monthly installment but when DSG kaput , got polo as car replacement for months use

So why bother with this brand? Pipu dun pay expensive price to get cheap car at first place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • The silent majority has spoken. They want VW to grow in Malaysia. Its proven by the continuous rise in sales of the VW brand year by year as seen by Paul Tan’s report.

All you sinister armchair critics, get ready to be voted out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Amran on May 11, 2018 at 8:08 am

Come to malaysia, get ready been tapaw by myvi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • toyotafan on May 11, 2018 at 8:41 am

Why the obsession with 0-100kmh? And can’t you guess too?

For production vehicles,0-100kmh can be achieved at the following lowest times

Front wheel drive – 5.5 secs
    Rear wheel drive – 3.5 secs
    All wheel drive – anything below 3.5 secs

Note : times are for production vehicles not modified from factory.

• Are you sure? on May 11, 2018 at 5:37 pm

The RWD Ferrari 812, 488 GTB, Mclaren 720, Porsche 911 GT2 RS and Dodge Demon can all go from 0-100 km/h in 3 seconds or less. Those are all road-worthy production cars.

• Rahman on May 11, 2018 at 1:04 pm

Come to Malaysia, sure become Rm300,000. But don’t worry, we are soon to get out 30% car price reduction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Hahaha! So if the car prices r not 30% down by next week, can I come get the difference from u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 41
    • Alson P on May 12, 2018 at 2:05 am

I believed, only Proton, Perodua and CKD car prices will down 30% next month but CBU car will be increase 200%.. Proton will be great again..

• Gracke on May 11, 2018 at 2:06 pm

Volkswagen wanna make GTI become best in the best!!! Good job!!

• dsgsux on May 12, 2018 at 1:28 pm

After several kilometres , DSG kaput and breaks down, all cars including Viva smokes this poor car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
      • Heng Lee on May 13, 2018 at 5:17 pm

At least an ancient GTI Mark V (production stopped 10yrs ago) is currently 3 positions ahead the first brand new Lexus LC at the 24h Nurburgring race. How come, as people like you claim it is so unreliable? Is the Lexus even more unreliable? :D

http://www.24h-rennen.de/live-timing-ticker/

• kelantania on May 11, 2018 at 2:15 pm

TCR is Tan ah Chong Racing?

• 7-speed??? I thought the dry clutch cannot handle more than 250NM…It should be the wet one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Fahmi on May 12, 2018 at 7:10 pm

Not all 7speeds are dry clutch la mamat. This one is wet clutch. Study dulu.

• Wet or dry, you VW dun guarantee it is free from DSG caused break down. Buy at your own risk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12