Only 19 million out of 28 million vehicle owners pay road tax and renew insurance every year – JPJ

There are more than 28 million vehicles registered with the Road Transport Department (JPJ) across the country, but the department says that less than 70% of these are fully road legal, Bernama reports.

According to deputy director general of planning/operations Datuk Wan Ahmad Uzir Wan Sulaiman, out of the total, only 19 million vehicle owners have been actively renewing their road tax and vehicle insurance every year. “The rest who own vehicles do not renew their road tax and vehicle insurance,” he said

He said that the department had in March last year attempted to get vehicle owners to renew their insurance and road tax with an ‘offer’ that allowed defaulters whose road tax expiry was not more than three years to go through the normal process.

The exercise – which has received the support and cooperation from insurance companies – is apparently on again and runs until June 30. The department said that vehicle renewals can be made at any state JPJ office.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Latif on May 15, 2018 at 10:48 am

Busy selling fancy number plate.
    JPJ no time to catch Road tax evaders..Oo wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • New Government - Clean and Honest on May 15, 2018 at 3:03 pm

Don’t worry. Tun will clean up all the duit kopi. Why this is the case is very simple. There were so many duit kopi takers amongst the PDRM and JPJ. They catch these no road tax offenders, and then let go the offenders after duit kopi is given. This is why the number has balooned up so much over the years.

This is why also there are officially 3 million motorist in Malaysia that have no lesen. Can you imagine, out of 10 million motorist, 1 in every 3 vehicles you see on the road has no lesen? 20 years ago, it was only few thousands without lesen. But now, officially, 3 million. Unofficially, you can double that!

This is why many accidents happen. Cause of duit kopi.

But all this will come to an end with a now clean Government and no cybertroopers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • Jagjit Singh on May 15, 2018 at 3:24 pm

AP also gonna close shop…….oh wai!

• khairy on May 15, 2018 at 6:45 pm

So costly to renew road tax and insurance. For pipu living in deep hinterlands of Pahang, Kelantan, Sarawak & Sabah..

• Cengginih on May 15, 2018 at 3:34 pm

Road tax disc shortage due to printer failure. Not JPJ fault

• SajaSaja on May 15, 2018 at 10:57 am

Wowww 9 millions no renew roadtax n insurance? Apa lagi jpj n traffic, saman la, gain back your money after kena sapu jib. If saman rm300, times 9 mil, rm2.7bil fuhh.

• New Government - Clean and Honest on May 15, 2018 at 3:05 pm

You can thank all this with the previous corrupted Government. Well, clean up is on its way.

• Susukotak on May 15, 2018 at 11:03 am

kenapa kena berlembut. terus keluarkan notis kenderaan tak dibenarkan berjalan atas jalanraya. kan senang dan adil

• Not sure about you city folks.. but in small towns or kampung(s).. its a norm to see some people stopped cars by the roadside or make immediate U-turn upon seeing roadblock (routine check).

• eVaz88 on May 15, 2018 at 11:24 am

Some royalty got more than 1 car. it is normal for they to not pay roadtax because some of the car is only for collection.

• Francis Lim on May 15, 2018 at 11:34 am

Looks like the PDRM and JPJ have failed big time in their enforcement. 9 millions are a big number and both enforcement agencies close one eye on this issue. I hope the new gomen can crack down on this. Image a person who is killed by a vehicle without issuance? Or worse still, seriously injured by a bike without insurance.

• kevin on May 15, 2018 at 11:37 am

Lets see who will be our next Transport Minister. Hopefully he/she can implement the new system for JPJ. We are moving into Wawasan 2020. We should have online bidding for car number plate, online renew road tax or insurance and reminder text/email for those owner.

• thepolygonal on May 15, 2018 at 11:37 am

Wow. If this illegal 1/3 of the car population dihapuskan, it will be less jammed. Can snap finger arr?

• rightwinger on May 15, 2018 at 11:38 am

would like to suggest to JPJ, with regards to road tax rates, please switch to a linear scheme instead of the current one where road tax becomes exponentially expensive as displacement increases.

• Too bad on May 15, 2018 at 5:38 pm

Road tax is not the main reason. You can’t get road tax renewed unless you have a valid insurance, and these people can’t afford to pay the insurance premium. Seen many cases like this, even one year old cars. Some people bought their cars thinking they need to worry about monthly instalments and fuel only. When their cars’ birthday is nearing, they starting to scratch head thinking how to come up with money for insurance and road tax.

• Leafable on May 15, 2018 at 11:39 am

This is scary and worrying. Imaging someone ramp into your new car with an uninsure driver and you have to use your own insurance to repair your own car and the culprit got away scotch free because it lack of enforcement. Nice one JPJ! Great job killing law abiding citizens.

• I faced this kind of inccident before. So, no choice, have to claim my own insurance for it

• Mikey on May 15, 2018 at 12:08 pm

What is JPJ doing about the 9 million vehicles that did not renew their Road Tax/Insurance ??! Waiting for them to Come Calling !? Get your butts out from your cosy chair please. Maybe the New transport minister need a New KPI for JPJ before paying their salaries.

• Yang mahal on May 15, 2018 at 12:34 pm

Can use free, why want pay more?

• UMW TOYOTA on May 15, 2018 at 12:43 pm

my pak cik is local JPJ head..so my saga with 4G63T is consider Legal in my small town…

• no to road tax on May 15, 2018 at 12:56 pm

should do away with road tax on most cars..already paying the same bloody toll as a luxury cars.. wat for pay.. ubah kan!sekian

• Saman la. Tunggu apa lagi

• Toll payer on May 15, 2018 at 1:26 pm

Reduce the road tax rate lar, we need to pay tolls somemore…

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 15, 2018 at 3:14 pm

No renew of road tax can also mean the vehicle is abandoned & scrapped. RTD database does not capture this, so don’t get the wrong situation. What we want to know is how many are still driven without road tax.

• SALang on May 15, 2018 at 5:12 pm

Ya, you are right, JPJ should update their data base first before making conclusion.
      Beside that, please clearly define road tax not pay.
      For government vehicle, are the road tax consider paid or not paid, I saw a few government official vehicle with RM 0 road tax on it, so its paid or not paid???

• Malaysians and the rule of law. If someone else breaks it, hunt them down. I myself? I will cheat wherever and whenever I can.

• True dat bro. Everyone else is except me mentality. They seek for change but forgotten to change themselves 1st. In the end, nothing changes except their disappointment increases.

• matt farrel on May 15, 2018 at 5:23 pm

maybe some of the cars have been long abandoned is the reason why

• This is not surprising. Malaysia’s roadtax scheme is completely outdated and does not make sense anymore in this day and age. Other countries have no such nonsense of paying RM2-3k for roadtax. The new BMW 7 series costs more than RM600k but only pays for a 2.0 litre roadtax (about RM300), the same as an old Toyota Camry 2.0

With the new change in government, hopefully they will examine the linear roadtax scheme where all cars are charged a standard amount, vary the insurance and tailor it according to driver age, history of accidents, type of car etc.

• Moral is previous in MY on May 15, 2018 at 9:20 pm

Roadtax. Does good looking person need to be charged more to a toilet compare to a poor one? Do we need to show our bankbook to restaurant and being charged more for the same nasi lemak because we r richer than other customers.? If no, why should a bmw owner need to be charged more for using the same road with the same displacement and utilised about the same space as other car? Stop discriminating based on whatever reasons just because u cant afford luxury item. I believe when u does afford it, u ll tell otherwise. Typical human mind. However, i do agree with insurance charge based on risk calculation. But remember, hate the rich more and god will avoid u to become the rich. Thats fair enough. Think again.

• dugongx on May 16, 2018 at 1:14 am

Roadtax should be charged based on CO2 emission as well as vehicle weight as heavy vehicles tend to damage the road more.

• Dylan Ch'ng on May 15, 2018 at 6:12 pm

There are plenty of old cars sitting around with no where to go.

• Bernard on May 15, 2018 at 8:11 pm

Jail them all immediately!!!

• polla on May 15, 2018 at 8:40 pm

wow 9 millions vehicle with no insurance, can bump into one easily….

• Benard on May 16, 2018 at 8:50 am

Most of the 9 million is gone, only available in the system as the owners scrap without bothering to do the paperwork.

• sam123 on May 16, 2018 at 9:42 am

I wish JPJ create more category / class for vehicle in malaysia example 25 years ( classic ) , sport car , temporary license plate , non run collection car , etc…. and more easy inspection / service to owner ( anyone can renew on jpj branch ) no need club member etc..

• tishaban on May 16, 2018 at 10:19 am

1. people can’t afford the insurance + road tax costs
    2. owners are trying to cheat their way out of paying

Can’t help those in the first category, but not surprised by the second category. I find that a larger proportion of the second category worrying. These are the people bringing up their children and teaching them their practices.