Global sales of electrified BMWs grew 41.7% in Q1 – plug-in hybrids form 52.7% of total Malaysia sales

BMW has announced that it sold 36,692 units of electrified vehicles in the first quarter of 2018, a growth of 41.7% over the same period last year. That’s a combination of BMW’s i electric cars, iPerformance plug-in hybrids and MINI PHEVs.

With the big Q1 result, there are now over over 250,000 electrified BMWs on the road, and the group is on track to deliver its target of 140,000 such vehicles this year.

Malaysia is a big market for BMW’s electrified vehicles, even in the global scheme of things. In the first four months of 2018, plug-in hybrids accounted for 52.7% of BMW Group Malaysia’s total sales. There was a point in time where Malaysia was the leading market in ASEAN and the fifth largest market in the world for BMW PHEVs. Malaysia was also the second largest market in the world for the X5 xDrive40e.

“Our portfolio of visionary mobility vehicles have been developing from strength to strength here, and we now have a plug-in hybrid vehicle variant for almost all models which makes for the largest portfolio currently available in the Malaysian automotive industry,” said Harald Hoelzl, MD and CEO of BMW Group Malaysia.

In the first four months of 2018, BMW introduced two new PHEVs in Malaysia – the BMW 530e Sport in January (the fifth BMW iPerformance model to be introduced here) and the MINI Countryman Plug-In Hybrid last month, MINI’s first-ever PHEV model.

The group’s PHEVs are supported by growing charging infrastructure. This year, new BMW i charging stations were set up in Ipoh (Weil Hotel); Holiday Inn Melaka and The Equatorial Melaka; and at CityOne Megamall Kuching, Sarawak. Owners are also supported by the ChargEV platform, which has a growing network of more than 270 charging facilities nationwide.

With incentive-assisted prices and great performance, we’re fans of Munich’s PHEVs – read our full reviews of the G30 BMW 530e and F60 MINI Cooper S E Countryman All4.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Stevie on May 22, 2018 at 2:33 pm

No wonder X5 xDrive40e bersepah-sepah on our road. It’s the second largest market in the world behind Germany I guess?

• Same L0rrr on May 22, 2018 at 3:32 pm

Why headache? Buy Toyota & Perodua. Less headache.. Just start & drive..
    Proton, Ford & VW? Start drive & towing to SC..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
  • vVivi Zurianti on May 22, 2018 at 4:11 pm

I oso like BMW hybrids very much……Stylish and comfy. But I cannot afford to pay for the car. So how??? P2 for me,,,,,Their cars are fuel saving…Good for me.

• U really think people genuinely buy BMW EV? That’s because of the unique price structure and BMW Malaysia use this as it’s only competitive edge and offers more EV. Is the price structure of EV car in Malaysia makes this a success. But they will soon suffer degrowth as they are no longer genuine about offering value buy EV cars in Malaysia, look at the new 5 series EV…. A little success already resting on it’s laurels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • WTH Dude on May 22, 2018 at 7:05 pm

what are you talking seriously? no one has placed emphasis in driving EV in MY like BMW and it’s pretty clear when guys like Merc are just singing the EQ slogan like they are forefront pioneers…

• It will be inevitable that global growth of PHEV and EV will be astronomical in the next few years especially now that car manufacturers are pushing ahead with solid state battery tech. Charging for Jag i-Pace only takes 60minutes for a 400km range using a 100kW DC charger, solid state battery is expected to take only few minutes for a full charge. For Msia, we should encourage small car manufacturers to sell more PHEV and EVs so that the common man on the street will be able to afford. It will contribute to less pollution and decrease the Government’s petrol subsidies at the same time. I just hope that the new Government will drive towards this direction. On another note, Government should also encourage the use of solar energy for homes either on-grid or off-grid. All equipment related to installation of solar system should be cheap and easily available.

• stastasta on May 24, 2018 at 1:49 pm

cheap and widely available solar, will threaten the government cash cow – TnB.