PM: Land Public Transport Commission abolished, SPAD functions will return to transport ministry

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad chaired his first cabinet meeting as the seventh prime minister of Malaysia today, and in the press conference after the session, announced a couple of changes with regards to government agencies. One that concerns transport is the disbanding of the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD).

The Malay Mail reports that SPAD’s functions will return to the transport ministry. “SPAD will not be maintained, but the duties will be returned to transport ministry,” Mahathir said. When asked to elaborate on the announcement, the PM said this meant SPAD would be “abolished”.

The commission – which was under the the purview of the prime minister’s department – plans, regulates and enforces all matters relating to land public transport in Peninsular Malaysia, according to its website. It was founded in 2010.

Earlier, new transport minister Anthony Loke Siew Fook said that he will propose to the cabinet that SPAD be placed under his ministry to avoid the overlapping of tasks.

Expect other agencies to receive the chop from the new administration. “Most of these institutions are not actually part of the government, and are supposed to advise the government. All these (institutions) will be disbanded. We are studying which one we will have to scrap, which one we will continue, which one we will defer to a later date,” Mahathir said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MeToo on May 23, 2018 at 2:48 pm

Our national debt is RM1,000,000,000,000.00

Its time to trim the fat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Richard Sambrani on May 23, 2018 at 3:00 pm

Better close SPAD. Money wasted. All goyang kaki and never do any work. Per month, easily can save about RM30 million in gaji alone.

Time to trim even Putrajaya. Too many goyang kaki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • rest in pieces sPad!

• sabahan on May 23, 2018 at 3:05 pm

MAI next to abolish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Michael J. Bong on May 23, 2018 at 11:39 pm

MAI & MIROS too. these guys are academics, only playing with statistic and giving recommendations. for MIROS case, try read some of their ‘research journals’.. pathetic. while I acknowledge (some of) their roles, their contributions vs operational cost is disproportionate.

absorb them to MOT. trim their organization. retain only the most useful bunch (i.e.: in charge of ANCAP) and get them do their job at a government salary rate.

• practical car lover on May 23, 2018 at 3:12 pm

Despite my name, im actually an avid supporter of public transport. I think this is a step backwards to planning & enforcement of all public transport related matters.

SPAD is the sole agency that are studying and implementing nationwide public transport planning. Previously with MoT, the were not that much public transport planning. Even the last public transport we got before the LRT 2 extension was the LRT PUTRA & STAR way back in 1998!

What will happen to all the upcoming study that SPAD is doing? MRT 3? Bangi-Putrajaya Tram? And who will address complaints if bus operators or taxis are running errant?

Dont tell me MoT will take all these tasks with their existing manpower? So now 1 guy in MoT have to take care of many more SPAD’s previous work. Good luck in getting things done fast then. I guess we can expect not much public transport project in the foreseeable future.

And Hello new national car, PROTIGA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 80
    • azrai on May 23, 2018 at 3:24 pm

No money, no talk

• rchoo on May 23, 2018 at 4:20 pm

Pal cut all red tapes. red tapes are bad bad for business and rakyat.

• SaveMalaysia on May 23, 2018 at 5:01 pm

MoT, JPJ can replace SPAD dutied. Too many Govt servant. Not economical to run this country…

• MenteriPasola101 on May 23, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Time to buck up
      Stop taking tea brake in the morning, afternoon and evening
      Gov agency really need to consolidate

• John i know it’s you cos you stink and i can smell it from miles away. Don’t change your nick to “practical car lover”.

• U-Tun on May 23, 2018 at 3:13 pm

Downsize n take pay cut to curb gov spending. So a quarter of civil servants can start looking for other jobs or applying to become grab driver. Oops.. maybe grab also would be abolished!

• Bernard on May 23, 2018 at 4:01 pm

This is excellent news! :)

• These superfluous government agencies like SPAD and Jasa were created so political appointees like Isa Samad can draw fat salary and keep their mouths shut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Mustafa on May 23, 2018 at 5:40 pm

I think another agency, the goverment should abolished is MAI. Until nowadays habuk pun tadak.

• Ben Yap on May 24, 2018 at 10:55 am

time for taxi drivers to rejoice.

• It’s time to trim down or merge government departments. For example if we go to SPAD they will ask us to refer to MOT. Then we go to MOT and they will ask us to refer back to SPAD for some matters. In the end we need to deal with 2 or more departments to get something done. This is a waste of time for all parties. Cutting the red tape and simplify the procedures is a must. That would reduce the chances if corruption as well.