Volvo offering test drives in UK via Amazon Prime Now service – test drive a V40 right from your doorstep

Have you ever thought to yourself, “I’d like to test drive a car but I’m always too busy to visit the showroom?” What if you could have the car delivered to you, wherever you are, and then have it taken away once you were done? Well, if you live in the United Kingdom then you’re in luck, as Volvo is partnering with Amazon to provide test drives right at your doorstep, via the Prime Now delivery service.

Users simply need to book their preferred time slot on a dedicated website, input their location and have a “fully trained operative” deliver the car straight to the door. That operative, who can explain all the car’s functions, will tag along on the 45-minute test drive as the customer puts the car through its paces on roads familiar to them. Those interested in buying the car afterwards will be directed to the nearest Volvo dealer.

There are a few caveats however – the test drives will only be available for the V40 hatchback, and are only applicable for customers in selected cities, on selected weekends and for a limited time. Those cities and weekends include London on June 9 and 10, Birmingham on June 16 and 17, Manchester on June 23 and 24 and Edinburgh on June 30 and July 1. The test drives will be offered on a first come, first serve basis.

This service arrives just a few months after the introduction of Care by Volvo, a subscription service that provides full ownership of a car through a monthly payment, with no upfront cost. The company has already worked with Amazon once before, bringing its in-car delivery service to the United States.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Volvo, Lotus UK > all

• tokmoh. on May 23, 2018 at 1:14 pm

Volvo, Geely > all

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 23, 2018 at 2:30 pm

very good service. in all fairness…the volvo sales people here in malaysia also very friendly. brought the car to my house for me to test drive some more. they don’t judge their customers. i see people come with myvi also get treated with respect.

on the other hand, sales people at audi and mercedes are just awful. ignore customers, when test drive also barely interested to sell you the car, like you nak beli tak nak then u jalan no need your business.