Mercedes GLE, Range Rover Evoque cloned in China

Okay, some news to dispel those Monday blues. The China copycats are at it again, this time unashamedly producing two shrunken-down, pure-electric SUVs that look an awful lot like the Range Rover Evoque and Mercedes-Benz GLE.

The company behind this ghastly episode of imitation is Shandong Fengde, and it even dared put the clone right next to an actual Mercedes-Benz GLE. There’s no denying the similarities – it’s nearly a carbon copy of the German SUV (right from the badge to the exhaust!), albeit sporting an odd, tall-boxed exterior design.

Based on the pictures by Carscoops, the EV gets a sunroof, roof rails, grossly undersized wheels, halogen headlights and at least two types of grilles, clearly inspired by the tri-star’s twin-louvred grille and AMG diamond grille with chrome pins. Inside, the GLE clone depressingly desolate, featuring a plastic three-spoke steering wheel, digital instrument cluster, touchscreen infotainment system and climate control.

Next up, the Evoque clone. Again, this model suffers from the same shortcomings as the GLE copy, with a huge, tall body riding on small wheels. Inside, well, it’s almost identical to the GLE clone, with heavy use of grey plastics. If kids ran a car company, this is exactly what the cars will look like.

In terms of size, the Evoque clone is about 3,450 mm long, 1,550 mm wide and 1,630 mm tall. Propulsion comes from a small 73 volt, 4,000 watt electric motor that takes between six to eight hours for a full charge. It’s capable of a 50 km/h top speed, which is the norm for Low Speed Electric Vehicles (LSEV) in China, and has a cruising range of up to 120 km. The GLE clone also shares the exact same platform and power unit.

Lastly, pricing. According to the company’s official website, prices start from US$3,900 (RM15,500). If these SUVs don’t do the trick, Shandong Fengde also offers badly copied versions of the Bugatti Chiron, Lamborghini Gallardo and Audi R8 too. Now, over to you, dear readers. What do you think of this?

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz GLE 400

GALLERY: Range Rover Evoque facelift

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Leafable on May 28, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Thats why I love the chinese because they are bunch of jokers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Tido oh Tido on May 28, 2018 at 5:31 pm

This is really bad because the Intellectual Property rights of the original builders is affected.

Many jobs will be lost of the original maker cannot get Return on Investment for all their research done.

• China shud have learn from Proton and rebadge our cars. After all, Proton cars are designed by world class designers.

• 4G63T DSM on May 29, 2018 at 6:04 pm

LOL. Seriously? What are you on about?

Can anyone actually mistake this for the original?

Looks aside, you better wonder why WE haven’t been able to come up with such contraptions? for RM15k, that’s a pretty compelling reason to own a zero emissions light duty city rundabout.

• chingchong on May 29, 2018 at 4:58 pm

the moment when your national car is so hilarious it was bought by the jokers.

• Habis la boyue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • rally_fan (Member) on May 30, 2018 at 8:13 am

boyue is designed by Peter Horbury, Volvo’s VP of design. and your point is?

• Mikey on May 28, 2018 at 5:27 pm

The puny tires tell the whole story that its a fake replica.

• Separating chaff from the wheat and u will find Geely standing tall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
  • Susukotak on May 28, 2018 at 6:35 pm

the company might own a very powerfull 3d scanner.

• Its Useful to chase lady,they see brand only

• Nothing to be ashamed of…Proton is also copying Geely Boyue design…well maybe slapping Proton logo here and there..They did it already with Suzuki Ertiga and Honda Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
    • Someone here needs to be educated on the diff between rebadge and copy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • I think it is you who needs to be educated..My remark is meant in sarcastic way…What about Mercedes taking Navara lock stock and barrel but changing here and there? Underneath is still Nissan Navara. Or Fiat taking MX 5 and putting as Fiat 124 Spyder? yes it is rebadge but still a copy.

• Why proton? Why not jepunis cars, isn’t that more shameful for old companies to rebadge?

• Not Proton Basher on May 28, 2018 at 7:40 pm

And the legendary Mitsu Lancer.

• rally_fan (Member) on May 30, 2018 at 8:12 am

you just showed everyone that you are lacking a bit in some departments.

• Driver or Typist on May 28, 2018 at 7:03 pm

Jolly good. They can operate an automobile theme park with those copies.

• suomynona on May 28, 2018 at 9:14 pm

Looks like some Chinese carmakers are stuck in 2008.

They build these cars & ask ‘Is this a quality car?’

• Malaysianzz on May 28, 2018 at 10:10 pm

I waiting them to copy Proton Saga or Perodua MYVI

• Calm down peoples… These Chineses know what they are doing…

• When i look this, this is cloned mesedis or P2 kembara?

• Mardi Md on May 29, 2018 at 8:52 am

Tongsan, ara kuasa besar

• I shall wait for the Bugatti Chiron copy. LOL

• What is so shocking about this? Closer to Proton at home, we have Geely GE.

• looks like toycar…nice…some1 order it from taobao

• looks legit..