Proton SUV to be launched by October – China import first, local assembly in 2019, RHD preview in July

Proton’s first SUV remains on track for its market introduction this year, and a definite timeline has now been mentioned. The SUV – which is based on the Geely Boyue – is expected to make its market debut sometime in late September or early October, according to Proton CEO Li Chunrong.

“We will launch (the car) in September or October. We will start the launch campaign for it from August,” he revealed during a press conference following the launch of Proton’s first upgraded 4S centre in Shah Alam earlier today.

He said that the SUV will be deployed in two phases. Phase one will see the SUV being fully imported from China, while the second phase will see it being locally assembled at the automaker’s Tanjung Malim plant from next year.

Li said that the reason for this two-stage process is to speed up the introduction of the vehicle into the market. “This is according to the government request that the new product come to Malaysia as soon as possible. With this move, we are on track,” he said.

He did not reveal how many units would be brought in for the first phase, but said that the automaker is attempting to get as many units as possible. The first right-hand drive examples will be previewed sometime in July, Li added.

According to Yang Jun, VP of Group Engineering at Geely, development work on the right-hand drive model has been completed. “All development work is already finished, so we just need to do some further testing in Malaysia,” he said.

He added that a lot of ground work had been done ahead of development. “We did a lot of clinics in Malaysia, so we received a lot of input from the Malaysian market. We then started a joint team involving Geely and Proton design teams, and integrated a lot of new input together. So, we already started the design development jointly from an early stage,” he explained.

The SUV is expected to feature more local design input when it begins its CKD local assembly programme in 2019, according to Proton’s head of design, Azlan Othman. He said that there had been minimal changes carried out on the SUV to speed up the market introduction, but “changes will come in the CKD version next year.”

Li added that Azlan will not only be responsible for exterior design changes but will also handle revisions to the interior.

The SUV will not be short on technology and equipment, Yang said. “In more than 18 months, the Boyue has sold more than 20,000 units in China every month. It is very competitive, and features a lot of new technology inside. We will take all the new technology currently already in China, and bring it here,” he said.

“We are not like some other competitors, (in that) we will delete some features. Actually, based on our understanding of the Malaysian market, we will add some features that local customers are interested in,” Yang added.

GALLERY: 2018 Geely Boyue 1.8L TGDi facelift

GALLERY: Proton SUV preview

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:56 pm

Hmmm usually people say CBU has better quality but for this maybe CKD better quality? XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 40
    • Tommy Wee on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:19 pm

The very first CBU car in Proton history. I’ll get two!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
      • Abdul Wahab Khalid on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:00 pm

I am troubled by this move. So only in 2019 it will be CKD in Malaysia?

Then what was the Proton workers doing the whole of 2017 and 2018? It looks like they goyang kaki maximum.

Sales of their Proton now like kaput, nothing much to do in showroom and factory.

Geely gave us the impression that Proton was doing serious research to make the left hand drive Boyue to right hand drive from 2017 till end of 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 34
        • “We needed more than 1,000 Proton engineers working with Geely engineers together. Every month, more than 100 engineers worked in Hangzhou, so this (SUV) is jointly developed.”
          – Dr Li

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • Habis volvo on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:35 pm

Once this SUV is out, it will kill all volvo suv market that is already half death.

• “It’s not only about putting the (steering) wheel from the left to the right, they will change a lot. This is why for the first new SUV, we spent 18 months (developing it), it’s very complicated.” – Dr Li

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • Mikey on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:19 am

Are U mocking Geely when U say – we spent 18 months just to adapt Left to Right(steering)?

• I said? What did I say? Read lah.
            U think so easy, why not u go turn ur RHD car to a LHD one.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:21 pm

u think p1 oni make Geely mr.kunta?

• Betui kz. p1 oso make suzuki ertiga.

• True dat bro KZM! And that troll thought his dupes have achieved membership status such as urself. Lols!

• kzm and john, tak habis habis corupt this site. Just like your party, look at yourselves and try to improve instead of blaming the whole world for your problems

kunta is no more in PT

• Hahaha! Lolz! Still dun geddit kah?
            As soon u post with ur new name change, we can alredi smell the stench reeking out from what u left behind.
            Enuff lah, even casual readers can see thru u, despite all ur vain attempts.

• Shafee on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:11 pm

We know who the big fraud is here john. Enough of your pranks in PT. Please go away

• face→mirror

• rightwinger on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:27 pm

itu la Albert, if youre not in the know about certain things that you are not part of in the first place, just STFU instead of making baseless accusation and/or casting aspersion.

• The 1st few hundred Sagas were CBU from Jepun. The next few thousands were then assembled here by the jepunis.

• Not really, remember when they 1st launch inspira? The 1st batch was cbu

• Sohai on Jun 09, 2018 at 10:47 am

Too late, after GST 0%

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:31 am

Lucky China has saved Proton. Pity Malaysia could not save its own car maker

• Najib Razak on Jun 09, 2018 at 1:10 pm

First CBU car from proton is inspira (cbu Japan). Then perdana and ertiga (also cbu from japan)

• Boyue or XC90 on Jun 10, 2018 at 9:21 am

Both are same, i put my money on P1

• Mohd Shahab on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:15 pm

Who will buy RM100k Boyue when Nissan X Trail is around RM115k after discounts and no GST?

Subaru Forester was RM116k with GST. I am too scared to know the price without GST. Might even be cheaper than Boyue!!!!!!

Boyue mainly only sold in China and few 3rd world countries. First world countries have rejected Geely badly

Subaru and Nissan sold all over the world in 200 over countries and won so many awards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
          • tokmoh. on Jun 10, 2018 at 11:06 pm

Nissan X trail 2 airbags, kek.

Proton X7 has AEB, BLIS, ACC, LKA, the full advanced safety specs can be found in most expensive Honda CR-V with Honda Sensing.

“We are not like some other competitors, (in that) we will delete some features. Actually, based on our understanding of the Malaysian market, we will add some features that local customers are interested in,” Yang added.

• Kantoied but Still Wanna Defend on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:38 pm

Airbags sudah ganti ke belom?

• CBU will use China Q&A verified suppliers. CKD will more likely use local crony suppliers with where part of the mark up is siphoned off. Probably China version better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 36
      • komarad on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:35 pm

the Proton CEO is a staunch disciple of President Xi Jinping sweeping anti-corruption crackdown. Local dedak culture is over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Abdul Wahab Khalid on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:07 pm

It will be fun to see who in Malaysia can afford to buy a RM100k China car.

Proton thinks everybody will buy a RM100k Proton. Remember, your Perdana got ZERO sales to the public. All orders come from kerajaan for the Perdana.

Malaysian public only willing to spend RM50k and below for a Proton. This is why Saga and PErsona make up 78.3% of Proton’s total sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
      • No problem. With Bapak back, cronies r cheering alredi

• Probably? Again assumption.

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:08 am

Now clean Government. No more kroni problem and their low quality. So expect CKD to be good

• Anwar on Jun 09, 2018 at 1:12 pm

First CBU car from proton is inspira (cbu Japan). Then perdana and ertiga (also cbu from japan).

This one CBU china, not japan. Sure a lot problem later.

• Sack designer on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:31 pm

Still the same local designer…hopeless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 38
      • Not really,they had revise the design team,they have add-on a ford/geely designer

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:10 am

Now got China CEO leading the company. So don’t worry!

• Michael Kwong on Jun 09, 2018 at 3:25 pm

Where is john? He said non national cars will go up by 300% once Pakatan take over.

So, this car come here will be CBU. Still non national car yet.

Will it be 300% more expensive? Planned at RM100k….now RM300k?

I did not say. John said

• “in Malaysia, the same car has gone up 700%”
          compliments of ur kunta dupe.

• yawnz on Jun 09, 2018 at 8:11 pm

Malaysian CEOs all must go for lessons from Chairman Li. Just 8 months in Proton, already pulih and turnaround 360 degrees for the better.

This is what you call brains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
        • 360 degrees is no change. I believe you meant 180 degrees. This also is not quite right, because it means U Turn. Just sayin. Cheers

• yawnz on Jun 10, 2018 at 7:22 pm

Please stop using my nick! And going 360 degrees means going around and around, pusing-pusing just like you!

• tokmoh. on Jun 09, 2018 at 6:19 am

That is wasis!

China made Volvo has lower defect than European made.

And Proton had been improving their kangkung dish for awhile, AND still negotiate better price with the vendors. Their quality had improved by 3 folds using Volvo’s qc model.

Majulah Proton-Geely!

• Yes or no? Thts all on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:13 pm

Is thre a blooody temp gauge on this metal??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • kassim on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:22 pm

Volvo enjin no overheat problem kot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Please it’s not a Volvo Engine it’s Geeky engine. Volvo latest is 1.5 but this is 1.8.

• Michael Kwong on Jun 09, 2018 at 3:26 pm

I scared, basher said all non national cars go up by 300%

• “in Malaysia, the same car has gone up 700%”
          compliments of ur kunta dupe.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:46 pm

YES. Now stop asking to be bloody spoonfed like a baby. Go look at the photos.

• Walauweh on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:33 pm

Look at the photo lol, it has one

• Its digital display so probably can be configured to show temp gauge?

• Wkaka on Jun 09, 2018 at 2:09 am

Yes obviously, you missed this?

https://paultan.org/2018/04/30/gallery-2018-geely-boyue-1-8-tgdi-facelift-detailed/geely-boyue-baoji-60/

Perhaps have a look at the gallery first.

• Adam Woon on Jun 09, 2018 at 5:13 am

What’s your fetish with temp gauges? We’re not in the 90s anymore. You think it’s gonna go up and down like rev gauge while you drive izzit? SEEEEESH!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Jun 09, 2018 at 6:14 am

Yes there is!

• john black on Jun 09, 2018 at 10:46 am

its digital lar..kemon..

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Jun 09, 2018 at 12:54 pm

Is thre a blooody temp gauge on this metal??

This one, we all should indeed ask Poodua (since they are No 1 carmaker only in Malaysia what) as sometimes, we are too tolerant and forgiving of whatever flaws, shits and cut corner jobs (eg. throwing out temp gauge in Myvi3 where Myvi1 and Myvi2 have it – this one personally i would not tolerate) that already produced for far long period.

• Hadi75 on Jun 09, 2018 at 2:47 pm

Look at the picture first la…

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:21 pm

government got ask for this product to come asap?

• Avereng on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:27 pm

“we will add some features that local customers are interested in”
    Teh tarik hook?

• Rear aircon vents maybe?

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 12, 2018 at 11:51 am

https://paultan.org/2018/04/30/gallery-2018-geely-boyue-1-8-tgdi-facelift-detailed/geely-boyue-baoji-52/

Got already.

• Ahmadjr on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:28 pm

Kalau tan chong keluarkan nissan qashqai dah lama tapau market suv malaysia. Ni sibuk keluar model lama zaman pak lah. P1 dah nak tapau suv, ini macam tutup kedai je la ah chong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Bernard on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:18 pm

Just launch the bloody thing already!!

OMG!!!

• C.P. MOHAN on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:23 pm

My choice, if one is looking Eastward, is Japanese, Korean and Chinese, not bias against Chinese vehicle models but at the moment they are not there yet on engine-reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Chinese dumping ground,proton is heading 6 feet under,sooner than u know it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:14 am

dumping ground? u know that china n bolehland driver side is different.

• Who would want to buy chinese cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Chan Kong on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:35 pm

Where is the “beli barangan buatan Malaysia”??

• make it 7 seaters. sure laku.

• Guys,

let’s be positive.

i for 1 can’t wait to see the success story of proton.

• Sputjam on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:11 pm

Looks decent. But is the 4wd system as good as subaru or vitara?

• Basasajala on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:39 pm

Boyue launch 1st. After p2 launch their suv, boyue become “hiasan” at showroom only lor. Lolz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • What?? on Jun 10, 2018 at 1:05 am

P2 SUV only got 100hp and less technology, no fun lor. Lolz.

• im not a basher but this thing better sell, this car would be their last hope of survival since the sell are declining faster than a rally car on a downhill,

• mastermind on Jun 09, 2018 at 2:26 am

they should tax the heck outta the imports then

• Same L0rr on Jun 09, 2018 at 7:28 am

CKD version with campro cfe engine with punch cvt transmision..

• rchoo on Jun 09, 2018 at 9:10 am

Uncharacteristically slow for a Chinese company, very very slow launch

• import first?…oh…gona retail for RM100k+

• kenny tan on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:27 am

Compare with ckd I think I will not prefer to cbu.. Malaysia skill you know how great is it..

• The Malaysian roads are going to flood with Chinese automobiles made with Malaysian sentiments! Well .. well ..

• BTW Yang Jun is VP of Group Engineering at Proton LOL tho he is from geely

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 09, 2018 at 7:00 pm

“Actually, based on our understanding of the Malaysian market, we will add some features that local customers are interested in,” Yang added.”
    They add a teh tarik hook?

• Follower on Jun 09, 2018 at 10:30 pm

I’ve been following this first p1 SUV dev for a while and I notice that most people are concern about the price point. Well, who doesnt? Some people argue that given the boyue offering in terms of tech, specs and safety features, this p1 suv will be priced up to 120k. Well, I think it might but I’m also hopeful that it won’t. Take example of new myvi, some people claimed that the top variant have features like a 100k car but its selling at a significantly lower price. If p2 is able to do that, I’m very hopeful that p1 can do the same. 70k for one lowest variant they can offer (manual+basic tech & specs+ adequate safety features) seems to be a good price and as for the highest specs, sub 90k?

• Powershot on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:33 pm

Gip P1 price point sub 90k, free 5yr maintenance. our Malaysia Baru family car.

• The key takeaway here is that he has thrown shade at a few other car companies. He has rightly pointed out that those manufacturers leave out features to facilitate higher profits. Maybe Proton could actually improve the motoring lot of us Malaysians. UMW, DRB-Honda, on notice? I may be wrong, but it does feel that way.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 10, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Back in 2010s, the Koreans raised the bar by giving (as standard equipment) ABS, BA, ESC, traction control, 4-6 airbags, EPS, USB plug in, Bluetooth link and 5 years warranty. Finally the other distributors woke up & grudgingly gave the same for consumers.

I expect this Proton Boyue to do the same. It will force other competitors to buck up & ultimately M’sian consumers will be the winner.

• CBU is a China made junk.
    CKD is made by Proton.
    Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Fear reeks from this comment.

• Din you say the same thing since preve?

• What about it?
          Preve berlambak on the road.
          Exora berlambak on the road.
          Saga2 berlambak on the road.
          Iriz berlambak on the road.

• Shafee on Jun 11, 2018 at 1:14 pm

ignore john the cybertrooper. Waste our time argue with him. Now he got no more boss anymore. Loose Canon

• Me still here just disproved ur fail-rytales. Hahahaha!

• sickofit on Jun 10, 2018 at 5:32 pm

should take up the citreon/peugeot offer for proton… this geely deal full of crap….how many dedak has been offered to rosmah n hubby?

• Look at the exterior and interior, really nothing to be shouted off. I will not use the word “ugly” but definitely not “wow” when you first look at it.

Very important issue is the price tag. People always say they like car with boot, then why Myvi wihtout boot (before launch of Bezza) was (or is?) selling like hot cake? To be honest, Myvi is just a very ordinary car, it is popular due to hopeless P1.

• ThAboIT on Jun 10, 2018 at 11:44 pm

I don’t get why people bash China made as something bad especially when it comes to automotives. Particularly Geely, of all China company, the one who spends a lot of money to invest in the auto industries is the one who get the most bash around. I think its senseless to say that a company would invest billions just to produce junks. If you’re selling Nasi Lemak, would you purposely make your Nasi Lemak taste bad as long as people buy it? Just sayin

• Kristian.P.G. on Jun 10, 2018 at 11:56 pm

Too expensive 4get about we buying..Dont put the price until about rm 100k..Buyers will prefer better deal n better cars…but cheap….

• Hello PROTON!!!

I used to support Proton because of my Proud patriotism. Proton represents Malaysia. Now Proton is a CHINA car. I will make sure NONE of my family, the subordinate will not buy PROTON anymore UNLESS the price is below RM40k.

• yongwun on Jun 11, 2018 at 9:47 am

Boyue price for 1.8T+6AT+2WD starting at RMB117K (RM 73K), it goes p to RMB159K(RM93K) for 1.8T+6AT+4WD+Nappa+…..

All variants come with EBD+ABS+Traction+4AirBag+…..

How about other Jap Car that People mention here in china:
    Subaru Forester (MIJ, AWD,2.0) ==> RMB223K (RM139K)
    Nissan XTrail(MIC, 2.0, 2WD) ==> RMB188K (RM 116K)

Another interesting fact is that Nissan Xtrail sales is very close to Boyue, e.g. in May-2018, Boyue sold 23K, Xtrail sold 18K.

Come back to the situation, malaysian in general is not ready for car that are above RM100K, foreign or local.

Is real sad that P2 car that are Nissan Slyphy and Toyota Corolla which none of them are price below RM50K in China.

• allen on Jun 12, 2018 at 6:02 am

I don’t think Geely really sincerely help Proton to boost up local automotive industries. All they have to do to use Proton facilities to assemble their car for RHD market, not Proton product (just re badge a car similar to 1980’s). That’s all. Because they wants to penetrate & conqueror Asean automotive markets by OBOR strategic concepts. About CKD Boyue (use China automotive parts,not local) which already done at China will reassemble again in Malaysia. Just same like another foreign automakers. Did we need to prides again for Proton now?!!!

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 12, 2018 at 12:25 pm

And why would Geely want to use existing ancient Proton technology when Geely Cars are way more advanced & superior. The Euro4 CamPro + Punch CVT is not high tech I would brag about. Neither is the 2 airbags or basic ABS safety system. Nor is the basic Android based entertainment system. And you want to talk about maruah?

See Geely strategy from a company marketing & production point of view.

Key take away is no need to start from new. Existing facilities will leap frog the introduction of product faster & cheaper.

Using an established brand name in SEA is more effective than an unknown China brand name.
      Proton already has established distribution channel in Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia & Thailand.
      Tg Malim plant is already built & underutilized. Also it’s one of the state of the art manufacturing plant in SEA.
      Trained assembly workforce already in Tg Malim.
      Trained engineers, R&D staff that immediately start collaboration with Geely HQ.
      Existing suppliers of parts manufacturers, not just in Malaysia but Thailand & Indonesia.
      Assembly in Malaysia will meet AFTA conditions, thus affording zero importation tax throughout ASEAN.
      Lower shipping cost when exporting from Malaysia to ASEAN countries.

• what..im expecting ckd by q4.why cbu?hrmm..if cbu around 130k still a good catch i guess with all those bell and whistle,mid size suv

• new rim design , follow range rover pls. add the phone slot for GPS by phone purpose. add more USB port. built in camcorder .

• TANG SWEE LIM on Jul 12, 2018 at 3:51 pm

will support if it is around 90k

• Ang Hong Peng on Sep 13, 2018 at 6:27 pm

where and when