Perodua giving away 100 free Gear Up child seats tomorrow, at three outbound Petronas stations

Perodua will be giving away 100 Gear Up child seats tomorrow, free of charge. The move is in conjunction with this year’s Hari Raya celebrations, and part of the five-year Perodua Road Safety Campaign that was launched in October 2017. This was told to paultan.org by Perodua Sales MD Datuk Dr Zahari Husin.

“In conjunction with Hari Raya, we have a surprise for Perodua owners. Tomorrow, we will have our people stationed at three locations, at three major highways, heading to the north, south and east coast. We’re expecting people to start their balik kampung journey tomorrow. We will observe Perodua cars with children inside the car, but without child seats,” Zahari said.

“We will choose randomly and give them one Gear Up child seat, free of charge. We will approach the family, and we will teach them how to install the child seat. Some have child seats, but don’t use them in the correct way. We want to create awareness and educate as well,” he added.

Zahari did not mention the exact three locations, but did reveal that Perodua is working with Petronas and the carmaker’s panel of insurance companies on this initiative, so expect the locations to be outbound Petronas stations on major highways. One hundred toddler seats will be given away, split between the three locations.

Launched in October last year, Perodua’s Gear Up child seats come in two types – one for infants weighing up to 13 kg or up to 18 months old and another for toddlers weighing between nine and 36 kg. The latter is suitable for kids aged between nine months and 12 years old.

The child seats, which can be affixed easily to Perodua models with Isofix mounts (from 2012), are affordably priced at RM623 for the infant seat and RM736 for the toddler seat. These are introductory prices valid till June 30, with zero-rated GST.

Remember to drive safe, buckle up, and ensure that child seats are used correctly when travelling during this festive season.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 11, 2018 at 3:53 pm

Bravo for Perodua for doing this. This shows Perodua cares for the rakyat.

But what about kroni car companies like Honda (DRB), Toyota (UMW) and BMW (Sime Darby)? They are so rich.

All former kronies of the previous highly corrupted Government. They all benefitted from lots of contracts that made them billions in clean profit every year the past 30 years.

Why aren’t they contributing free car seats?

Time for new PH Government to do an audit on all the previous kroni car companies and clean them up. We need clean car companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • kunta bodo on Jun 12, 2018 at 5:10 am

Bodo, in every article you want to praise P2 , if they are very good, why gip only 100? Why not 1000000000000?

• Ruslan Bahari on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:41 pm

Random? This will be so queried in terms of “why them and not us?”. Have a proper system. Like a quiz or qualifier. Otherwise, subject to abuse.

• Ollie on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:31 pm

I don’t know what is going on here. I have no use for a child car seat, but i was at a hypermart recently and saw the seats sold for RM150. I checked lazada and indeed its less than RM200. Below RM100 too. Which was surprising since Perodua is marketing this “deal” at >RM600. Can someone expain what is happening here and why Perodua is trying to profit over life-saving equipment?

• For the purpose to pay their cybertroll salesman come here write bullsh*t everydaylah. Do you think he works for free to post nonsense then liked it multiple timeskah?

• kunta dupes on Jun 12, 2018 at 5:12 am

I lolz at this comment, so yeah they post rubbish comments everyday, for example up there the first comment. See?

• Those under rm200 is merely child seats and does not conform to the ISOFIX standards

• Ollie on Jun 12, 2018 at 2:57 pm

Thanks for the info. I found the ISOFIX seats are priced between RM300 and RM500, still less than Perodua.

• If they can sell u TPMS device at 3X the price in Lazada and not bat an eyelid, so *shrugs*.

• This is obsolete stock.
    RM623 for the infant seat.
    RM736 for the toddler seat.
    Over price.
    Has too many stock. Now become FOC.
    Clear stock and make some Advertise

• Mikey on Jun 12, 2018 at 8:43 am

P2 is taking the trouble to observe Perodua cars with children inside the car BUT without child seats B4 randomly give them one Gear Up child seat free of charge in conjunction with this year’s Hari Raya celebrations.

I say TQVM. Please also do it during Deepavali & Chinese New Year too.

• BEN MOHAMED MARWEN on Jun 12, 2018 at 5:10 pm

For all
    Or
    Only for the perodua car .
    Please at what time?
    I have a kid so i need it .
    Tqvm PERODUA.