Car sales expected to jump by 50% during tax holiday

We’re two weeks in following the rollback of the Goods and Services Tax (GST), a move which saw car prices fall by a considerable margin thanks to the zero-rated tax. Now, sales for passenger vehicles may jump as high as 50% during this “tax holiday” period, according to The Malaysian Reserve.

The observation was made based on the public’s interest in cars within the past week. Proton’s vice president of sales and marketing, Abdul Rashid Musa said car bookings and dealership visitations have risen 50% for the national automaker, and the pull factors include the new tax rate and Hari Raya promotional campaign.

“We are seeing an increasing interest among consumers with more bookings and number of dealership visitations. However, the true effect of the 0% GST would only be known by July onwards after the Hari Raya season ends,” Abdul Rashid told the publication. Currently, the Proton Saga and Persona are leading in terms of booking numbers, he said.

Mazda echoed this sentiment, with Bermaz Auto executive director, datuk Francis Lee saying that the bookings for Mazda cars have been increasing on a daily basis and throughout the model line-up. “We will collect as many bookings as we can and will see how we will deal with it when the Sales and Services Tax comes in,” he said, adding that the CX-5 SUV is the company’s best-selling model to date.

It’s the same for Volkswagen as well – Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia’s (VPCM) managing director Erik Winter expects sales to increase by 50%. He said the sales and bookings have been very encouraging since June 1, and that demands have increased across all models, particularly for the Tiguan and Passat.

Frost & Sullivan, an industry consulting firm said in a statement the rollback of the GST would create a huge positive impact on consumer sentiment, which should translate into overall vehicle demand and shore up the total industry volume (TIV). This trend can also be seen in the premium segment, with Mercedes-Benz receiving greater demand for its car models and higher showroom traffic.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• awg1031 on Jun 13, 2018 at 11:43 am

Thank u PH gov. Proton will meet 2018 sales target.

• Rahman Putra on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:52 pm

PH cares for Proton, unlike the old previous corrupted Government. Even Proton’s Shah Alam land also, DRB sapu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • m.achai on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:21 pm

tun m is the best. without him PH is nothing. tun, please extent the tax holiday for a few months more please.

• Jual to China komplen
        X jual to China pun komplen

Macai oh macai. Spinner logic.

• m.achai on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:18 pm

thanks to tun m… without him PH is nothing. tun, please extent the tax holiday please.

• John Gagal on Jun 13, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Zzzz…Proton masih juga tak laku.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 13, 2018 at 7:58 pm

ha ha ha ha I like your nick. It is so perfectly said

• Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jun 14, 2018 at 11:04 am

So proud of liking your own creation that you need to complement yourself? Such narcissism.

• yawnz on Jun 16, 2018 at 9:30 am

Hahahahaha so funny to see basher replying to his own dupes

YOu really need a psychiatrist

• DEAR TUN on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:05 pm

THOSE WHO WANT TO BUY CAR THIS WILL DO IT DURING TAX HOLIDAY. AFTER SST KICKS IN, SALES WILL TREMENDOUSLY DROP. SO CAR COMPANIES SHOULD NOT SMILE NOW…

• AZAMIRUDDIN on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Where got tax holiday. Still got excise duty and import duty what. 100% tax maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Yang mahal on Jun 13, 2018 at 4:08 pm

Now got 6% cheaper, just forget the import car tax 200%~300%

• Sarcam on Jun 13, 2018 at 2:15 pm

Not for p1 for sure. Lols.

• taknaktoyota on Jun 16, 2018 at 9:32 am

Meanwhile toyota still banks on hilux coz vios altis camry cannot sell

• Yang mahal on Jun 13, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Last month say Malaysia want bankrupt, now hapus 6% GST all become rich

• i think lots of people will be caught by surprised that the 0% GST only applies if you collect your car before 1 Sept 2018 when SST kicks in.
    It seems if car only ready to collect after SST comes in, we have to pay the SST even though we may have book the car during tax holiday 0% GST :(

• Anonymous on Jun 13, 2018 at 7:10 pm

A jump of 50%…? I seriously doubt that. I’m really waiting to see the numbers.

• Pandai on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:36 pm

All car manufacturer sembang lar!! U go any showroom and ask.. all say got no stock, reason lot ppl book.. can only get car in september.. padahal kereta bersepah2 dalam stor.. they oso not stupid one.. hahahaahahaha!!!

• After Raya Celebration most of these new used cars will be landed in the SECOND HAND dealers lots at knock down prices.

Quite A norm EVERY YEAR.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jun 14, 2018 at 10:48 am

new car interior smell nice-nice….Can impress father in law or future father in law by taking them jalan2 in the new car…

“Pandai betoi and loaded menantu sya, ek”