CEP to propose fuel subsidy reforms to PM this week

Member of the Council of Eminent Persons (CEP) Tun Daim Zainuddin has said that a proposal on fuel subsidy reforms will be presented to prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as soon as this week, according to an interview by Bernama.

The former finance minister said that the council has conducted over 200 meetings with various heads of agencies, companies and individuals since it was set up a month ago, in order to study issues such as fuel subsidies, the removal of toll charges and the abolition of the goods and services tax (GST).

He added that the CEP has also made numerous meetings with relevant stakeholders to figure out the right way to reform the fuel subsidies before deciding on the proposal. While he declined to elaborate further, he did confirm that the subsidies will be targeted at specific groups.

Daim also said that thew council was fully aware of the financial impact on the market that will come from the removal of toll charges, part of the Pakatan Harapan’s manifesto for the 14th general elections. “While we want to reduce the toll for the rakyat, we are also aware of the impact on the market if tolls are abolished immediately,” he said.

The CEP is currently exploring various options on dealing with the issue, guided on the principle that the decision made will be phased and structured. This, Daim said, will ensure that the end outcome will be fair to all stakeholders.

“So far, the feedback from the rakyat is very encouraging. No need to abolish toll immediately, I mean they understand. They know it was mentioned in the manifesto, now that reality has come in, they understand the financial position and the problem. We have worked all these things out. We will try to do in such a way that it balances everything. The market will be happy, the owners are happy and the consumers are happy.”

Daim added that the decision to cancel and review mega-projects did not mean that the government was shifting the focus of the economy, but was driven by the fact that some of the projects simply did not make any sense – particularly the MRT projects that cost a lot of money. “Just compensation for the land is huge. And it’s only in Kuala Lumpur, what about other places?” he said.

He noted that the economy is still largely driven by domestic demand, with private consumption and spending accounting for 54% of the overall gross domestic product (GDP). Daim explained that as such, the government was only being fiscally responsible in expenditure to manage the country’s fiscal debt position. “Any projects that benefit the rakyat should be continued, but we have to review all projects to make sure that they are cost effective and no hanky panky is involved,” he said,

Daim also mentioned that he was confident that revenue from the new sales and services tax (SST) and savings from rationalising operational expenses can fusion the possible shortfall in revenue from abolishing GST, adding that the government was also undergoing reforms to minimise wastage and leakages.

“That RM43 billion (revenue from GST) is excluding the refunds. In the ’80s I wanted the GST. Other countries also have GST but the money collected goes back to the rakyat. Here it only went to BR1M. That is why the rakyat is upset. Here GST is charged from the time before you were born until you die whereas, in the western country, GST take care of you from the time you were born until you die,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:13 pm

Syabas TDZ!
    ” The market will be happy, the owners are happy and the consumers are happy.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Stevie on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:43 pm

The smugglers are the most happiest among all hehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Dun forget the rich as well. Hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • Oillie on Jun 13, 2018 at 2:53 pm

The Rich petrol station operators. Hahahah

• Oso the luxury car owners. Hahaha.
            The rich gets richer while poor gets poorer in New MY!

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 13, 2018 at 7:57 pm

Yes, only one type run the petrol stations. Now new Government, better open it up to everybody

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 13, 2018 at 2:05 pm

Propose for what. Its clear that they should stop dilly dallying and give us petrol at RM1.50/L like they promised right now. TODAY.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 29
      • Diss-illusions on Jun 13, 2018 at 3:44 pm

He said the rakyat understand that not all can be done immediately leh… you must not be a rakyat leh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • Manifesto Dicapati on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:05 pm

At least bagi timelinelah! Don’t tell me this janji will still be capati until 2020 and beyondkah? The rakyat so easily gets screwed again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Matjava on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:15 pm

During HRaya, CNY etc the fuel price should be given discount too. Just like toll 50%. Setuju*?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Spin Too Much on Jun 14, 2018 at 9:06 am

No. Everyday should be RM1.50/L until eternity like they had promised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Bayar toll & minyak equal sedekah kat tabung harapan..senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • “Here GST is charged from the time before you were born until you die whereas, in the western country, GST take care of you from the time you were born until you die,” he said.

In other countries, the VAT/GST is charged at more than 15%, plus income tax range between 25%-50%. Even those low earning people have to pay taxes. Thats why everyone can enjoy the benefit. Here, even with GST at 6%, people is already screaming like there’s no tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
  • Rahman Putra on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:42 pm

I am so happy we threw out the previous highly corrupted and dirty Government out.

Now, everything so cheap. My supermarket bill is about 20% cheaper now.

Petrol also cheap.

Last time so much dedak wasted to feed cybertroopers!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 33
    • https://paultan.org/2018/05/28/vehicle-prices-could-go-up-following-the-return-of-sst/
      Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • Hahaha! El cheapo Goebbels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Sinister on Jun 14, 2018 at 1:57 am

Better life and future from now…hopefully. I am surprised many dumb cybertroopers still doing their work for free here and many others forums despite not being paid for their work.

• Spin Too Much on Jun 14, 2018 at 9:02 am

Petrol also cheap? Then why isn’t it @ RM1.50/L like you promised?
      How does your brain compute that RM2.60 is cheaper than RM1.50?

Either make good on your promises as the Government of today, or you’re not fit to be the Government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • “We have the Cheapest petrol in the World” according to PT resident basher

• Ben Yap on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:50 pm

If Tun don’t start another national car, we will have enough money to subsidise the petrol.

• Adrian Saga Lee on Jun 13, 2018 at 1:24 pm

Another national car? When driving to work this morning, I only noticed P1 and P2 cars. Did you see another national car brand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • https://paultan.org/2018/06/13/malaysias-engineering-capability-will-benefit-from-new-national-car-project-prime-minister-tun-mahathir/

• Yang mahal on Jun 13, 2018 at 4:05 pm

All Malaysian sokong TUN M

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • SOKONG ONLY

If TUN does not start the unwanted Third National car >>>>and RAKYAT suffer later .

• Yep. All MY pipu oso sokong P1 2.0, since they have voted for it. Sokong Bapak.