Renault will never dominate Mitsubishi, Nissan: Ghosn

The Renault-Nissan-Mitsubishi Alliance will always remain a partnership, with no one party dominant to the point that it completely owns the others, according to Carlos Ghosn, the chairman and CEO of the alliance.

Speaking to shareholders of Mitsubishi Motors at their annual meeting in Tokyo earlier today, he reiterated that there was “zero chance” that the French automaker will make the two other companies wholly-owned subsidiaries, The Mainichi reports.

At the meeting, Mitsubishi shareholders expressed their concern over the company losing its strengths or being taken over by Nissan or Renault, but Ghosn assuaged their fears. “If Nissan wanted to acquire Mitsubishi, Nissan would have bought all of Mitsubishi. We did it because we don’t believe in acquisition, we believe in partnership. And this is the essence of an alliance,” he said.

“Anybody who will ask for Nissan or Mitsubishi to become a fully-owned subsidiary of Renault has zero chance of getting the result. We do not believe that companies where you have one company dominating the others are sustainable. It doesn’t work,” he told the shareholders.

The initial alliance was formed in 1999 – Renault came to Nissan’s aid then when the latter was on the verge of bankruptcy, and the French carmaker has since held a 43.4% stake in the Japanese company, with Nissan in turn given a 15% non-voting stake in Renault.

Since then, however, Nissan has grown to be a more profitable company than its French partner, and now commands a larger market value and better sales figures. In October 2016, Nissan acquired a 34% stake in Mitsubishi, forming the three-way alliance.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Yup, cuz they make terrible cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
    • To you maybe. To the rest of the world, they make great cars. Dont be a “katak bawah tempurung”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
      • say no to tow truck on Jun 23, 2018 at 9:04 am

Dun care katak or frog or kodok rather than waiting long for tow truck coming

• Awang Selamat on Jun 23, 2018 at 11:44 am

We need more people like Carlos Ghosn to run our GLCs in Malaysia. Then only our country will run more efficiently and productivity will tenfold

• I agree with u. Those currently in gov, have no idea how to run it. Better gip it to someone else who dun flip flop so much like a fish out of water.

• Cabai on Jun 24, 2018 at 11:00 pm

GLC top execs & senior mgmt are grossly overpaid. There is noticeable disquiet building up among GLCs following the change in gov. GLCs alwiz got a big big problem with staff and tuang kerja attitude.

• Steve on Jun 25, 2018 at 12:41 pm

At least Renault cars sell better and huge volume inside European markets whereas

Honda and Toyota is a Joke in European Markets ( cannot sell) in which these Jap cars can only sell in Third world countries like in Malaysia , Indonesia and Philippines as People lives here got no value even accept Takata air bag killer scandal .

• Hellhole on Jun 22, 2018 at 6:51 pm

Have not heard of GTR? Go and read beautiful Nara instead

• I dont agree. Only Tan Chong Malaysia make terrible cars. The stupid decision of bringing in the Nissan Qashqai is a mistake. That car can give CRV a run for its money if priced competitively with proper kit. Elsewhere the Teana has gotten a facelift in 2016, we’re stuck with pre-facelift variant.

• The Teana, Xtrail and other Nissan models are already facelifted in Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia and Singapore. Ive seen the new XTrail in the Philippines and the updated Teana in Thailand. Looks so much nicer than our models here. Interior is full leather for the XTrail and comes with sunroof and new navigation etc. The Singapore Teana also upgraded with new leather, steering, seats and naviagtion. When is Tam Chong going to update these cars? They updated it almost a year ago in other countries.

• Imelda on Jun 25, 2018 at 10:27 pm

Teana, X trail and others Nissan cannot sell well and Tan Chong is holding a lot old unsold stocks. Until old stocks are almost sold then only TC can introduce new stocks with new face lifts with slight increase in prices. This is TC way..

• Renault and Groupe PSA seemed the better fit for Proton as foreign strategic partner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Tajuddin Ohwai on Jun 22, 2018 at 5:49 pm

nobody can be Proton foreign partner better than Geely because Geely can whip all the workers into shape. Only a strong China company can whip all the mundane, lepakking workers of Proton into shape and back to working hard again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 49
      • “Renault came to Nissan’s aid then when the latter was on the verge of bankruptcy”
        Lolz! The Frenchie have to gip tongkat to ur jepunis lords. Looks like only the French S&M whip all the mundane lepakking Nissan & Mitsu workers into shape and back to working hard again. Double Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 43
        • Awang Selamat on Jun 23, 2018 at 11:42 am

I wonder whether the Jepunis also ask bantuan from kerajaan and always demanding special privileges and preferential treatment.

• Andrew Goh on Jun 23, 2018 at 11:53 am

I think nobody bilip you anymore. Please keep PT clean john, this is a car site and we don’t talk about S&M here.

We are fed up with 3 years of propaganda and fake news from you

• Yusri on Jun 23, 2018 at 3:00 pm

diam la john, pergi berambus lebih baik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
          • Siape hang tu, suruh orang berambus? Hang tuan punye blogsite ni ke? Orang lain xleh komen hanya ko saje ke? Baik ko saje yg berambus dri sini.

• Kelabit on Jun 24, 2018 at 9:08 am

sick and fed up of john. Sudah lah john, merepek dan fitnah orang

• Yusri on Jun 23, 2018 at 3:24 pm

sounds like the companies in Malaysia….always asking tongkat from the Government. Then have to give 30% away FREE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
          • My england is bad on Jun 23, 2018 at 7:25 pm

Normal la jepunis korean muricam European chaina all got plotektion and tongkat

• This sound like a sad little paid prick who got ticked off by The Boss for using a fake Melei name, and still didn’t learnt his lesson.

• Yup, sounds like the companies in MY took the advice from Bapak to look East and what they saw was jepunis companies getting bailouts & tongkats. So they came back and replicate the formula. Hail Bapak for teaching them this trick!

• Pemikiran jenis mamat ni le yg menjejaskan perkembangan ekonomi.

Bila kasi ekonomi tetutup, diorangle yg merungut pendapatan meka terjejas, yg mereka tak dapat buat business secara equal.

Bila kasi ekonomi terbuka, tu le mintak tongkat, mintak subsidi, mintak jgn bagi diorang luar masuk pasaran meka.

Kerajaan apa pun buat salah. Sekang kerajaan meka pegang, tgk le nanti apa jadik.

• Itu bailout dan bagi tongkat pada syarikat2 anak2 billionair tu takde nak cakap pula? Heran betul…

• Rightwinger on Jun 24, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Not as bad as sidelining locals for foreigners on the basis of the myth of lazy locals. I don’t see any 30% of locals making up the management of FTZ Penang factories and we know they never will because they can’t speak mandarin….

• Azman on Jun 24, 2018 at 9:12 am

pls get a life john. Contribute car matters and exchange views on cars pls

• You mean like P2?

• skyer on Jun 25, 2018 at 7:45 am

OMG where did you get that every year? From sky?

• This is TRUE FACT !!

Renault help Nissan from verge of bankruptcy.

Apparently the whole world knows Nissan is owned by Renault till todate.

• Everyone acknowledges this except for jepunis brand worshippers. They still talking about P1. Lolz!

• rally_fan (Member) on Jun 26, 2018 at 12:41 pm

i personally think there is nothing wrong with proton workers.. seriously.. go and look up proton and see what their staff are able to do.. dont forget also.. the entire automotive industry including vendors and even foreign car companies abroad has “proton alumni” working for them today.. people who built their skills and expertise in proton.. The biggest problem with proton IMHO, and likewise majority of GLCs in Malaysia before this, they were not run as a proper competitive business. Poor leadership is another major problem for Proton in the past plus govt. intervention, etc.

• He’s saying that while wearing a big smirk. I see what you did there.

• Yea, he probably was saying that while stifling his laughter towards them.

• DS Banglaman on Jun 22, 2018 at 7:08 pm

Renault will never dominate.

Mesia gahmen plan to bring in 1.5 million Bangladeshi workers due to need. But rest assured, Bangla will never dominate mesia

• arowana on Jun 23, 2018 at 8:15 am

whether u like the cars or not, the synergy & cooperation activities between these companies under Carlos Ghosn is marvelous..

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 25, 2018 at 8:13 am

Nissan’s reputation has been tarnished by the French name. The French are never known to be producing durable and reliable vehicles

• Panorama on Jun 25, 2018 at 11:14 am

Rather be safe, stick to reliable Toyotas

• If want safe dun go for Jepunis lor. Not with steelgate, QCgate, airbaggate, carpetgate, axlegate, etc

• edmund liew on Jun 25, 2018 at 12:30 pm

Goshn looks like Mr Bean