W213 Mercedes-Benz E200, E250 Avantgarde and Exclusive – new trim, revised kit in MY2018 update

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s introduction of the locally-assembled Mercedes-Benz E 300 AMG Line today also saw the local W213 E-Class line-up on display, which provided an opportunity to take a closer look at the revisions brought about for the CKD E 200 Avantgarde, E 250 Avantgarde and E 250 Exclusive variants as a result of a MY2018 update.

The main one is with regards to pricing, which was revealed during the company’s zero-rated GST price announcement made at the end of May. The E 200 Avantgarde received a RM15,000 price drop and – with GST savings included – now retails for RM315,030.

The E 250 Avantgarde also had its price revised down by RM9,000, to RM348,992. The E 250 Exclusive is priced at RM357,483, itself dropped by RM5,000 from before. The new E 300 AMG Line top the range at RM388,888. These prices will remain in effect until September 1, when the three-month sales tax holiday comes to an end.

There are also changes in specification, but these are minor and concern interior trim and materials. In the case of the E 200 Avantgarde, COMAND has been dropped, which omits the centre console touchpad controller, leaving a rotary dial for function access. An Audio 20 system replaces the COMAND Online infotainment system in the scheme of things, though the Widescreen Cockpit displays are left intact.

In terms of trim, the E 200 Avantgarde and both E 250 variants see the piano black console trim being replaced with a new centre console piece to match the top trim panel (as seen on the MY2018 E 350e). On the E 250 Avantgarde models, it’s now of the open-pore black ash variety, while the E 200 Avantgarde and E 250 Exclusive get open-pore brown wood trim. Curiously enough, the E 300 keeps the piano black trim.

The E 250 Avantgarde also gets new upholstery, in this case a leather/fabric combination. The fabric inserts aren’t the final word in luxe to the touch, but looks to be long-wearing and durable. The E 200 Avantgarde gets Artico leather upholstery, while the E 250 Exclusive maintains its Nappa leather seats. Artico leather-wrapped dashboard is present in all variants now, which is new for both Avantgarde models.

Of more significance is the revision to the climate control system. The three-zone configuration of the previous models has been replaced by a two-zone layout, with the rear AC vents now featuring a non-adjustable blower. The rear, B-pillar side AC vents are also gone, so rear occupants will have to make do with just the two central vents for cooling. Only the E 300 AMG Line keeps the three-zone system and rear side vents.

Otherwise, things continue on unchanged. Both E 200 and E 250 variants are equipped with a M 274 DE 20 AL 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine. On the E 200, output is 184 hp and 300 Nm, which is good for a 0-100 km/h time of 7.7 seconds, while on the E 250 the mill offers 211 hp and 350 Nm, resulting in a quicker sprint to the century at 6.9 seconds. The E 300 makes 245 hp and 370 Nm, and gets to 100 km/h in 6.3 seconds.

Power is applied to the rear wheels via a 9G-Tronic nine-speed torque converter automatic transmission with a Direct Select column gear selector.

GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E 250 Avantgarde, MY2018

GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E 250 Exclusive, MY2018
GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E 300 AMG Line, MY2018

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• halloha560 on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:18 pm

Nowadays, Mercedes exterior design looks like very old grandfather design. Not only that, Mercedes only have 4 years unlimited warranty compared to almost all car manufacturer company have 5 years unlimited warranty. Mercedes Benz also paid fatter fines due to cheated emissions regulators with defeat devices

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 16
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 07, 2018 at 12:17 am

Totally agree…all c e & s do look like old man…and their striking similarities make it difficult to guess which is which…i hardly see any e on the road…sometimes i mistook s for c…previously the e had its own distinctive look …but then who cares people are buying suv now for that kind of price…e used to dominate the segment…but now no more…sorry e

• Dinamik on Jul 07, 2018 at 12:33 pm

Totally agree…our esteemed Semi-Value bro even commented below “the camry is more luxurious”. And lets not start on Lexus…

• Coco-Nuts on Jul 09, 2018 at 6:59 pm

So.. What’s your deal man? It seems like your comments are repeating over and over again on each Mercedes-Benz post. Did Mercedes do something to you?

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:28 pm

E250 is overpriced in Malaysia. Better to buy the 530e which is far cheaper than the E250

Do you know in overseas markets, the BMW 530e is priced far higher than the E250?

And yet, in Malaysia, it is cheaper than the E250

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 6
    • digidigi on Jul 07, 2018 at 12:59 am

many people in Malay sia don’t know that bmw 5 series have better chassis than e class, more alluminium is used in the current generation compare to e class, which improve ridding

• Andrew L on Jul 07, 2018 at 1:55 am

In other markets, the 530e also has surround view parking cameras and adaptive suspension. Adaptive headlights as standard, adaptive cruise control as an option.

But even MBM is cutting costs and dropping features. What a shame.

• Why they drop the specs? Isnt 0%gst lesser price but not lesser the spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Abdul Ghani on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:43 pm

Pay RM350k for a car but get leather campur fabric seats?

OMG OMG OMG. Even Perodua top model also got pure leather seats

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
    • Pure leather seats means slaughtering the poor animals that was unnecessarily harvested for their skin. Such heartless, cruel and inhumane greed. Despicable, disgraceful.

OMG, and in such a pisspoor mass produced cars like Perodua! Animal lovers, take heed that Perodua uses pure leather as what he said above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Sammy Loo on Jul 07, 2018 at 1:45 am

do you know the quality difference of the “leather” used by Perodua compared to the leather used in this E-class?

• Tun F on Jul 07, 2018 at 7:18 am

Dude… Perodua leather is also mixed material even though it looks like full leather… And it just in Malaysia, Perodua No. 1 due to Proton’s stupidity..

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jul 06, 2018 at 9:44 pm

Short-changing Bolehland consumers whenever and wherever possible. Features omitted here and there for a so-called “2018 update”.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 06, 2018 at 11:19 pm

Now that’s a downgrade and the price will go up come September. Who the heck will fork out 300k to have a car specified with Audio 20?! That’s the same system that the base A180 is using! Bad move MBM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • heybadigol (Member) on Jul 08, 2018 at 3:11 pm

BMW’s base audio system is way better sounding than Merc’s base audio system. You can hear the deep bass in the BMW. The Merc is totally missing bass. You need to get the Burmester system if you want to enjoy music in the Merc, but you need to get the 250 models (both C and E Class) and higher for that. Too bad you can’t spec 200 models with Burmester.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 07, 2018 at 1:01 am

yadda yadda yadda…this is all a big downgrade….seriously even the camry is more luxurious than this kereta tin kosong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Newer doesn’t mean better. This 2018 ‘update’ for the E-Class fully epitomises that.

• Silverado on Jul 07, 2018 at 9:09 am

Strange choice of specs for Malaysia. Why continue to have the panoramic sunroof but omit extra rear aircon outlets and controls? Better to grab the fully specced E350e AMG while you can.

• shame on you

• The glory days of merc specs are over. No comand in an e class seriously … Lame. Bring back the old management please

• John Doe on Jul 07, 2018 at 3:56 pm

Rubbish cars with rubbish specs Mercedes Benz is producing, why remove the very important adjustable rear air con bent on a 300k pls car, no gst but you greedy fellars want to strip more equipment to increase your profit margins, absolute rubbish of a car. The Bmw g30 530i for sale in Malaysia is far better specced even with active safety systems. This e class is an absolute tin losing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 07, 2018 at 5:38 pm

i think the previous management of bmw have come to mercedes…once upon a time bmw malaysia was notorious for 2 year warranty and low specs….now mercedes is the one with less warranty….no free service….low specs….

• Vq20DE on Jul 07, 2018 at 6:56 pm

Now Perdana 2.4 seems more worth it than E200. But I pray that my comment will be halal to all lawyers in Malaysia. But seriously though Mercedes Benz is slowly putting themselves in the grave.

• Fabric seat for a 300k car… laugh die me lolz

• ContiGuy on Jul 08, 2018 at 6:27 pm

What a ripe off, MBM! Your recent successes made you arrogant and greedy. Let’s see how far you can stretch your luck.

• Mikey on Jul 09, 2018 at 1:43 pm

When this new W213 E300 was introduced back in 2017 in CBU form, it was retail for a good RM458,888 OTR without insurance with all the Goodies that is missing in the current slightly lower spec E200/250.

The current E300 AMG Line retail at RM388,888.00 – that’s RM70,000.00 cheaper BUT most are complaining about the “missing” goodies in the lower spec E200/250.

I have a feeling those who have bought or going to buy the E200/250 don’t even bother about the “missing” goodies bcoz its a Mercedes & its cheaper now.

I guess this is one of the way MBM is marketing those slightly lower specs E200/250 from the higher specs E300.

There is a saying – The minute we start to compare, we start to Complaint. Just my 1 cent opinion. Cheers…

• Debarquez on Jul 15, 2018 at 12:27 pm

It’s a rip off, don’t understand how with no gst prices decrease by 6% but with the 6% these idiots are taking the opportunity to remove more specs so they increase their profit. Useless la mbm. Tbh I think bmw Malaysia is the way to go, free service for 5 years somemore, mbm just a useless standard 4yr warranty

• Atz1999 on Jul 17, 2018 at 3:49 pm

If you cannot afford to buy expensive car dont said carmaker useless or rubbish. Look into yourself maybe you are lazy bastard in the office or poor ranking in the society.

• Can’t wait for the new Peugot 508.it will be game changer