New Peugeot 508 coming to Malaysia in Q2 2019

The new Peugeot 508, which international press drive event is currently ongoing in Monte Carlo, has been confirmed for the Malaysian market. Official importer Nasim tells paultan.org that the second-generation 508 is set to reach our shores in the second quarter of 2019.

Expect two turbocharged 1.6 litre petrol engines, one with 180 hp/250 Nm and a range topper with 225 hp/300 Nm. These PureTech engines replace the Prince units of old, and are paired to an eight-speed torque converter automatic transmission by Aisin.

The 225 hp engine belongs to the 508 GT, which is the performance flagship of the range. It does 0-100 km/h in 7.3 seconds and has a top speed of 250 km/h, while the PureTech 180 is good for 0-100 km/h in 7.9 seconds and 230 km/h max.

The outgoing car was available with a diesel engine in Malaysia, but it’s not certain if the BlueHDi units of the new 508 will be launched here. Word is that this is because the new oil burners are Euro 6.c compliant, and may not be compatible with our local diesel. Nothing confirmed yet, though.

The new 508 sits on the PSA Group’s EMP2 platform, which translates to weight savings (70 kg less on average) and better fuel efficiency, safety and performance, Peugeot says.

Unusually for a new car, it’s smaller than before – by being shorter (4.75m vs 4.83m, most of the cut came from the overhangs) and lower (just below 1.4m vs 1.46m), the big Peugeot has nice proportions, and it looks significantly more dynamic than before.

One big change is that the new 508 is technically a hatchback, with the rear screen going up together with the “boot” when opened. Billed a “fastback coupe saloon”, the Peugeot also comes with frameless doors. Both those cues are also found in the Audi A5 Sportback, which Peugeot references often in press materials.

Inside, the new 508 features the latest version of the Peugeot i-Cockpit, which consists of a compact steering wheel, a 10-inch capacitive touch-screen in 8:3 format, and a 12.3-inch digital instrument panel that Peugeot calls head-up display. The HUD has six different display modes and a new Night Vision system. The bold dashboard is a faithful reproduction of the Exalt Concept‘s cockpit.

I think the new 508 looks amazing, how about you?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Indeed looks amazing , car is great drive but quality of sc is so poor i dare not even go for a test drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 78
    • I own a 508, very headache. If u wan buy this car,u need a spare car.why? Need always go back claims this claims that,car stay at garage more than my own. I always back to sc to do service. Even now they extended warranty 2 years for free, than ?the car now still at sc waiting for claims. First, power windows.. Failing one by one, second, water pump at 70kkm,my wife Alza even better than this damn 508.. Third, manifold, forth, cam cover hose broke. Now! Gasket burn! The coolant is brown on color.. And the car? At sc,waiting for the claims..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • vanzan on Jul 09, 2018 at 11:28 am

Goodings Nasim offer warranty extension for Peugeot, Citroën and DS cars up to 7 years

• Vincent on Jul 09, 2018 at 12:15 pm

Reason they extend the warranty is because their new car cannot sell. No new car for SC to service. So, extend warranty, bill you expensive on service cost to keep their SC running. Win Win?

• Old Tech New Body on Jul 09, 2018 at 2:10 pm

How many years Peugeot wants to use this engine?

• No peugeot No basher on Jul 09, 2018 at 3:08 pm

New gen PureTech engines replace the Prince units of old..

• Cut Cost on Jul 09, 2018 at 9:55 pm

Quick search at Peugeot website. Puretech is a 3-cylinders engine. OMG!!!

• Yusree on Nov 10, 2018 at 11:32 pm

The best Peugeot car ever… Hopefully SC provide great services too… 2019 Peugeot 508 GT is better than audi A5, BMW 3 series, VW… And it price not more than RM200k

• ruffaz on Jul 08, 2018 at 11:12 am

Pijot should start a 508 short rental program :)

• Rashid on Jul 09, 2018 at 8:48 am

how do you know SC is poor quality? Don’t just tembak and give fake news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
  • Kit kat on Jul 07, 2018 at 8:35 am

Volvo s90 and Audi A4 killer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 28
    • Martin Loo on Jul 07, 2018 at 8:41 pm

Mercedes E Class and BMW Five series Killer !!

Stupid on you
      You should actually be referring as
      BMW 3 series, Audi A4 & A5 , Mazda 6 or Volvo s60 ( Not S90) potential killer since Peugeot 508 is categorise at this segment .

• This is sooo beautiful! Well done Peugeot!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
    • Practical car buyer on Jul 07, 2018 at 3:51 pm

508 alwiz a left field choice 2gather w Mazda6, Optima & Vw passat to ubiquitous Accord.
      No surprises, new gen Camry 2018 w amazing looks & tech wud leave the pack chasing again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
  • it’ll shake up the segment
    and bring back malaysians to sedans
    looks ossum in and out

i remembered the days when the 407 first graced our asphalts, still looks amazing today tho….
    tho not as amazing as a 406 coupe….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • shidi on Jul 07, 2018 at 9:44 am

Danny, response to your final line..yes it is!

• Aero (Member) on Jul 07, 2018 at 11:00 am

I’m not a big fan of Peugeot or anything, but I really like the new 508. A breath of fresh air from an ancient car company. Hope it sells well for Peugeot over here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Yebwoy on Jul 07, 2018 at 11:01 am

Watchout RV comments coming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • No man’s land.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Jul 07, 2018 at 11:14 am

Peugeot prices are getting closer to BMW and Mercedes in Malaysia

But in Europe, Peugeot is super cheap and far far cheaper than BMW and Mercedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 33
    • vedder on Jul 08, 2018 at 3:05 pm

A peugeot 508 is 25k gbp here. A BMW 318i is around 28-29k. Not far far cheaper as you put it.

• david on Jul 07, 2018 at 11:31 am

Indeed amazing… with amazing price? Lagi best lah~

• Ongtk on Jul 07, 2018 at 11:38 am

I am very interested in the 3008. Can anyone share their own experience of Peugeot cars? I have a friend who owned a 5008 cautioned me against buying the SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Danial on Jul 07, 2018 at 12:53 pm

Im driving the new 3008…superb car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • I am the owner of 508 having the car for 6.5 years. Indeed there was some realibility issues and SC is not great, my car is very realiable now with Peugeot providing extended 7 years warranty engine compartment and free compressor replacement etc. Owners of new 3008 now claim it is realiable, so should go for a test drive yourself. If Pug getting Focal speaker in with GT less than 200k guess it is a good consideration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • Can you clarify?

You had a 508 for 6.5 years, and now you are driving a new 508? What car exactly are you driving now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • I still drive the 2012 508, the new 508 only arrive 2H 2019 will see how it flares, hope it is as realible as the new 3008.

• the compressor looks problemtic…my friend changed the compressor too within 1 year

• What compressor you are talking about

air conditioning or ??

if Sanden or Nippon denso type you should ask the japanese why is it so lousy ?

• Rimau on Jul 08, 2018 at 10:18 am

I am driving a 3yr 308THP. everything is good, If you maintain it well, it will serve you well.SC is good too, they able to solve all issues and good customer service and after service too.

• Pijan on Jul 09, 2018 at 10:16 am

i own 2017 peugeot 408 ethp. great car but not so great service center. i cannot accept they keep on asking the owner to leave their car without any replacement car even for a simple troubleshooting. not everybody has the second car. as for the car itself, only minor problems. it’s normal i guess.

• Bernard on Jul 07, 2018 at 12:04 pm

By the time it’s brought here, it will be outdated .

Slow …..too slow!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
  • Simon templer on Jul 07, 2018 at 12:16 pm

Malaysia are always left behind one year in car launching regardless to whatever model there is. Sad to say but I agree with some of the comment by the time it launch in malaysia it almost become obsolete

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • EU cars typically have longer model lifespan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • First commenter on Jul 07, 2018 at 7:53 pm

to ALWAYS stay current & not left behind, jz buy P1. ALWAYS globally launched here, First!

• Sam Loo on Jul 08, 2018 at 10:17 am

Poor RV

• No problem sell to me..I like it better than those dinosaur, obsolete technologies and sampan ride Toyota cars which are not even worth to buy or own as second hand cars. period..

• GreekYoghurt on Jul 08, 2018 at 10:53 pm

Yes cars are launched in Malaysia roughly one year after Thailand, Singapore, Philippines and Indonesia. In some countries they get CBU models, like Singapore and Philippines – so the quality is better than ours.

• Red Peugeot 407 on Nov 10, 2018 at 11:43 pm

Ala go and buy from Singapore when this version launching earlier… Bising lebih… Iam bawak 407 tak Bising pun… Still power on the highway… 190kmh senang2 pecut…

• Red Peugeot 207sv je on Sep 12, 2019 at 11:44 pm

Untung la. Kiter 207 red je. Nak dpt 200kmh kene tekan button sport long distance bru dpt.

• Damnn.. nice inside out.

• Very sexy. Peugeot I suggest you give me a free one for advertising

• FrancevsBelgium on Jul 07, 2018 at 3:35 pm

It has a tinge of retro 70s styling which nice. Good job!

• applegreen on Jul 07, 2018 at 5:44 pm

This 508 should be RM150,800. If price higher Nasim must make new promotion buy 508 get 208 free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • How much if BN kept promise of 30% price reduction 5 years ago? Can PH also?

• What does it have to do with Pijot? Politikus much? How about PH promise to reduce petrol prices now they in power?

• stastasta on Jul 10, 2018 at 4:11 pm

this car will go on sale during year 2020 with RIMAU number plate, price 120k.

• Pojot on Jul 08, 2018 at 8:13 am

Better wait 2nd hand lorrrr

• Thinking to upgrade my 308THP to 508GT next years. Peugeot is a good car provided that you can find a good workshop. I am enjoying my 308THP for more than 7 years now. I am considering to get the new 5008 for my wife too. Yes, as a owner of 308THP, I still dare to buy 2 more Peugeot!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 08, 2018 at 9:43 am

by that time out dated lor

• Vezeroth on Jul 08, 2018 at 10:52 am

Open boot lose all cool air in cabin.. These designs are not suitable in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Genius on Jul 09, 2018 at 6:01 pm

so you’re saying cars like Myvi, Alza, SUVs, Audi A5 open boot won’t “lose all cool air in cabin”?

• slacker on Jul 08, 2018 at 12:28 pm

brand ranks very low on quality and reliability. why would anyone bother with peugeot unless you are french

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • slacker2 on Jul 09, 2018 at 6:03 pm

I see you’re speaking from experience? If you haven’t owned a Peugeot of recent years do not speak against the brand. All cars suffer from minor problems regardless of the price, even brands like Toyota suffer fuel pump recalls worldwide… Please take the time to find out more and watch/read some reviews before posting negative comments

• My 3008 which I bought in 2011 has been horrifying. The drive is lovely but the whole experience has been a disaster. I have broken down 4 times-3 of which were the engine stopping without any warning while driving on the highway; not to mention numerous other problems too many to mention. Needless to say I’m staying well away from Peugeot for a long time

• Concerned Consumer on Jul 13, 2018 at 11:28 pm

The early 3008 are indeed quite unreliable. So unfortunate coz many buyers were 1st time Peugeot owners. But the facelift 3008 (2013-2018) are very reliable (newer engine 163bhp version). The latest 3008 (Mk II) is still very new but since it use an even newest engine etc it should continue to be reliable.

• Wow…. Syantiq….interior’s exciting too. Great job Peugeot! Hope it pops to the touch.

• Give me free also i dont want.

• Martin loo on Jul 10, 2018 at 1:06 pm

Please pass to me free if you don’t want . I want it so badly.

• Mikey on Jul 09, 2018 at 9:59 am

The truth is this French car looks dashing on most angles. It is Big by most standard. It’s top spec with 225 hp/300 Nm will not be humble by any of its rivals. In fact, it will Humble some Japanese & Korean namely Accord, Camry, Sonata & K5.

In the comfort department, any guy who have sat in a 508 will tell U its the most comfortable of the lot including the E-class & 5 series. Replacing the transmission with an 8-speed torque converter auto by Aisin bodes well too.

Lets hope the distributor can give a better accounts of themselves by improving their spares & services which this car so rightly deserved.

• After so much of complains and problems with their vehicles and they have made thousands of Malaysian suffer due to the Distributor’s negligence and their attitude refuse to take responsibility of their faulty and non-reliable parts due to various sets of reasons has affected their sales.

Many Malaysians has learned their lesson with Peugeot & VW. Furthermore, it is also the purchasers fault to purchase the car without reading the clauses in terms and conditions as we always tend to believe the Salesman’s sweet talk and whenever it comes with any “Free Gift”, we Malaysians love it more and we pay more attentions to it rather than what we purchase without realising that all the gift are also from our money.

Subject to inspection is something to think as the distributor is famous for building their “exclude” list thus beware of the catch again.

All the above is not meant to discourage you guys not to purchase Peugeot etc but just to be extra careful so that the rest who has been a victim by this kind of Distributor. Kindly please read all the terms & conditions and also ensure whether it is in whichever terms like “Manufacturer Warranty” or “Insurance Warranty” as everything has its catch and always siding the distributor.

Please find time to go through every terms and analyse the pros and cons and also do query before even purchasing. As a customer, we have the rights to do so even though many salesman will divert all those questions by goodies and empty promises. Some salesman won’t even know that they are allowed to show the terms and conditions as well.

I learned from my mistakes and bad experiences and eventually had to sell my Peugeot with a big loss after the distributor failed to take ownership despite being their error and took them to Tribunals and with money those Distributors can do anything. Despite it reflects bad on our judiciary system but it is the Distributor who are able to find ways as they claimed they have terminated the service centre which made the error until the gearbox is faulty but it is then diverted and they said they will repair the gearbox but unfortunately Nasim proved they are only money oriented vultures as they just repaired to use for a few months and it will definitely be faulty but after repair, they will asks us to drive and sign that we agreed the gearbox is fine and no issues and the warranty is extended for 3 MONTHS. Eventually once crossed 3 months, the gearbox will breakdown and when we take to their service centre, it will cause a bomb and they will say that its the owner’s problem and wash their hands.

Folks, please be extra careful as it is all our hard earned money and with a desire to use continental car but that one miscalculation will put us in despair and it takes time to come out of it.

All the best!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Syamz on Jul 09, 2018 at 11:35 am

Very muscle car look..

• this brand reliability is a bloody joke, distributor is bad but the product is also defective.

• zztop on Jul 10, 2018 at 1:45 am

Why no one blames Peugeot for their reliability? Instead they go all out for the unlucky distributor which is Naza in this case. How about Naza to just stop bring in Peugeot and lets see if there another distributor that is brave enough to distribute Peugeot in Malaysia? Who does? Need many SC more than the showroom. Plus, its just a Peugeot, not an Alfa.

• Hugh Hefner on Aug 17, 2018 at 11:21 am

Good car i want to buy for movie Fake Taxi in Malaysia. Nasim Peugeot pls give me for promotion.

• Copyright on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:38 pm

Did anyone realized that the design is small modified from Camaro?

• All car makes can have potential problems, even so called reliable brands have their own issues but nobody seems to criticize, why the double standard? I own a 508 ,5yrs and going great. I’m sure there are many owners will agree with me

• Pegeout sucks on Jan 05, 2020 at 3:49 pm

Even though it look nice but one risky brand to purchase. If you’re the unlucky buyer like me, then goodluck guys. Get ready to spend a lot of money