Kia Picanto X-Line seen in Malaysia – launching soon?

The Kia Picanto X-Line was first revealed during last year’s Frankfurt Motor Show, and it has now reached Malaysian shores. The X-Line is inspired by the company’s crossover and SUV models, with an emphasis on being more rugged and visibly striking compared to a regular Piacanto.

Noticeable changes start at the front, where there is a new bumper with lime green highlights on the grille as well as the repositioned fog lamps. Also present are larger corner “inlets” along with a small intake just below the signature “tiger nose” grille. This unit here is finished in Titanium Silver with 2018 FIFA World Cup stripes on the bonnet and tailgate, the latter to represent the carmaker being an official sponsor of the football tournament.

In other areas, you’ll find “skid plates” at the front and rear, while the sides feature black plastic cladding. The Picanto X-Line also gets a set of 16-inch alloy wheels (with 195/45 profile tyres) that are larger than the 14-inch units on the 1.2 EX currently on sale.

A peek inside reveals a new flat-bottom steering wheel (also found on the GT Line trim) and a single-zone automatic air-conditioning system. The latter, along with leather seats, are an upgrade from what you’ll find in the 1.2 EX. Also an addition here is the tilt/slide powered sunroof.

Looking at the area around the rear view mirror and front bumper, there appears to be extra sensors that could indicate the presence of an autonomous emergency braking (AEB) system. Previously, a brochure of a purportedly updated Picanto line-up revealed the safety system to be a new addition along with a base KX and high-spec GT Line variants.

Mechanically, the car should remain unchanged from the 1.2 EX variant currently on sale, with a 1.2 litre Kappa II naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine making 84 PS at 6,000 rpm and 122 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Similarly, there’s still a four-speed automatic transmission with drive going to the front wheels.

It isn’t confirmed if the Picanto X-Line will go on sale in the country, but expect it to cost more than the 1.2 EX, which starts at RM47,079 sans GST. Interested?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 09, 2018 at 4:28 pm

I wonder how much the low profile tyres affect ride quality

• Bernard on Jul 09, 2018 at 4:37 pm

If below RM30k for the top spec gt line, reasonable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
    • What? on Jul 09, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Seriously? What alternate universe do you live in bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Jul 09, 2018 at 5:45 pm

U can’t even afford one with 30k in UK lol

• Go buy the kosong Axia Standard. That one suits your budget and brand snobbery. Let those who can afford it to have their fun with a much safer, more comfortable and better-equipped Picanto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • go_karter on Jul 09, 2018 at 4:39 pm

Kia Picanto GT-Line need the range topping, 1.0L turbo 99HP & 172Nm powertrain here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • sam123 on Jul 09, 2018 at 4:53 pm

wow got a sunroof, unexpected! i think rm60k

• Maria on Jul 09, 2018 at 5:02 pm

don’t care with x-line fake crossover.. Just curious if they could bring the GT-line with 1.0 T-GDI with MANUAL..I hope for it.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 09, 2018 at 5:44 pm

By the looks of it the AEB radar is mounted below the front plate number.

• PHANG HAN CONG on Jul 09, 2018 at 6:09 pm

Only in malaysia car company will come out this type of body kit idea and sell it as a SO CALLED new range car. From toyota till honda till vw now till Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • zainal abidin on Jul 10, 2018 at 8:50 am

I like the rear disc brakes. Excellent for a 1.2L car.

• passion on Jul 10, 2018 at 9:46 am

weird tyre profile. 195/45? its gonna be a nightmare to find this. 215/45/16 is already so troublesome.

• Kia fans on Jul 10, 2018 at 11:07 am

In UK, the price of GT Line 1.0 Turbo is only 95 pound sterling(~RM 504) more than the EX version. Kia Msia please bring it here.

• Real Kia Fan on Jul 10, 2018 at 11:15 am

The 1.0 Turbo is manual only, not auto. If the auto exists (it doesn’t), the price difference will be way more than 95 pounds. And before you say bring the manual, Kia did bring the manual with the old Picanto. Problem is it sold so poorly, they dropped it and rightly so.

• panjang on Jul 10, 2018 at 12:28 pm

Of course i’m interested minus the large rims.small light car does not work well with large rims and low profile tires unless its a conti.

• My Titanium Silver Picanto EX is going great guns with me…nice car this car is…:)

• i dont care what sunroof or else. i still wait for 1.0 turbo launch

• yang kalthom on Aug 02, 2018 at 4:04 pm

kalau di taiping mana boleh saya pergi kereta picanto