RON 97 petrol price up one sen to RM2.59 per litre

Another increase in store for users of RON 97 petrol this week, as the price for the higher-octane fuel has jumped again, albeit only by one sen to RM2.59 per litre. This follows a massive eight sen increase last week, which came after a nine sen drop the week before.

As with the past few weeks following an announcement by the government, RON 95 petrol and diesel prices remain unchanged due to subsidies. Only RON 97 will follow market prices.

Officially, RON 95 continues to be priced at RM2.20 per litre and Euro 2M diesel at RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel is priced at RM2.28 per litre at the pump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• M.Yaakob on Jul 11, 2018 at 6:46 pm

Rakyat wisely made the right choice on 09 May. Otherwise RON97 jumped to RM2.95 per litre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
    • Abesla on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Naw. My crystal ball says it would have been RM1.50 per litre, oh wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 12, 2018 at 10:03 am

Chill guys.. RON95 not affected

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 12, 2018 at 10:25 am

RON95 not affected, So relieved guys. Kerajaan baru prihatin..

• True Rakyat on Jul 12, 2018 at 11:00 am

Kerajaan lama affects both RON95 and RON97, stopping their raise in price before election, more prihatin…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 12, 2018 at 11:38 pm

On second thought, RON95 is ex-PM’s petrol. We should stop using this and support on Tun era RON97. So when is RON97 going down to RM1.50 per liter?

• stastasta on Jul 13, 2018 at 2:46 pm

if the 1.50 promise was really true then all these opposition troopers would have quoted a link to a reputable news website. instead of simply pasting some bullshit text.

• xoxox on Jul 12, 2018 at 8:57 am

please don’t politicize everything la…

• John May 9 Nangis on Jul 11, 2018 at 6:47 pm

I am glad Ron 95 is fixed. I am so thankful I voted a clean Government in who has fixed petrol prices. Now, I can plan my finances.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 39
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 11, 2018 at 9:59 pm

The rakyat didn’t vote for fixed RON95 prices at Rm 2.20. The Rakyat voted for fixed price 70sen lower than that. So where is that promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
      • Can you show any proof PH saying that the price will be RM1.50? If can’t provide any proof than don’t leave any stupid comments

• I planed my finances after May 9 with budget for petrol prices at RM1.50/liter. Now petrol prices is RM1.09 higher than my budget and at last month end I’m totally pokai because of it. So why am I not thankful coz I feel like I got conned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 39
      • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:35 pm

No choice brother. PH Government did not expect the massive corruption, the massive scandals, the massive 1 trillion debt and all the “more to come” scandals.

All in all, few trillion ringgit. So, how to give RM1.50? When PH Government must clean up all this mess?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 52
        • M.Hamzah on Jul 11, 2018 at 11:13 pm

Didn’t expect? You still bulls*hitting us? Your politicians have been saying that we were bankrupt one year ago! So if they didn’t workout their promises to their so called reality, that means all along they weren’t really serious about honouring it. Isn’t that right? And stop bullsh*tting us about the 1 trillion debt because even Moody’s are quietly laughing at the absurdity of our Finance Minister to redefine what is debt against the world standard norms.

If the new Government wants to hash out their own terms incongruous with the rest of the world, then they shouldn’t be governing any country on Earth. They better off governing Mars instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 53
          • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 11, 2018 at 11:16 pm

Folks, remember this is a car website. Let’s keep the discussions relevant and civilised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
          • M.Hamzah on Jul 11, 2018 at 11:40 pm

With all due respect, Hafriz. I respect the blog, I respect the writers, and I respect sensible comments. What I don’t respect is broken promises and those who tries to justify this bullsh*t with even more crap. Enough with the lame excuses, the finger pointing, the deflection attempts. At least give us a timeline and show us earnestly that they’re working towards it.

Am sure you too agree that promises must be honoured.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 54
          • John May 9 Nangis on Jul 12, 2018 at 6:23 am

Agree with Hafriz Shah. This is a motoring blog. Keep your discussions civilised and not abusive.

PT also should censor emotional comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • William Lim on Jul 12, 2018 at 8:49 am

This is a car blog. We talk about cars and not about Mars or Martians

• Lee Yap Wei on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:04 am

Too many people very emotional. 60 years of corruption and free money gone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • Agree with Haf bro, esp those with fake names that bring politics in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
          • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:22 am

agree with Hafiz. Too much of free dedak in the past….now complete stop. Pipu get emosi.

• Abdul Ghani on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:25 am

Bro Hafriz we are behind you. Pls ban our resident troll who says Malaysia has cheapest car prices in the world and cheapest petrol prices in the world. We don’t want fake news

• Karim on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:28 am

too many Abang cybertroopers still hanging around here. Frustrated.

• Rakyat Didahulukan on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:36 am

Agree with Hafriz, pls stop this nonsense “RM1.50 promise” politics spread by the opposition political party whenever a petrol article comes out. We are tired of this sh*t. If the oppo party wants the RM1.50 oil price, then fulfil your 30% car prices reduction promise first, can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Karim on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:40 am

Agree fully. 30% car price reduction also never fulfilled. Opposition is very frustrated

• Ben Yap on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:57 am

this is a motoring blog… a place to talk about cars and my civic FC turbo comparing with other cars.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 11, 2018 at 7:10 pm

Gullible guppies we are. To trust and later it doesn’t materialise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Spin Too Much on Jul 12, 2018 at 12:44 am

To trust and later it does materialise. Massive anti-corruption and power abuse crackdown

• Jojmbul on Jul 11, 2018 at 7:37 pm

The pricing mechanism hasnt being made public. Ron 95 hasnt being made cheaper. Am not a totok supporter of any side, just want them to fulfil their end of the deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Lolwhut? on Jul 11, 2018 at 10:39 pm

Like wayang, drop 9 sen then went up 8 sen then went up 1 sen again. This means back to square one! WTH! What con game scam is this?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • MusTanG on Jul 12, 2018 at 9:41 am

I’m pretty sure that is Hafriz judging from the floral shirt.

haha

• Every Wednesday seeing the same comments that PH promised to give petrol at RM1.50. Can you show any proof on that? If can’t than don’t show your stupidness here.

• Nov 21, 2017 – “Ini berbeza dengan Pakatan Harapan (PH) yang telah berjanji akan menurunkan harga minyak ke paras RM1.50 ke bawah.” – Suarapakatandaily