Proton 1-Tank Adventure fuel efficiency contest begins

The Proton 1-Tank Adventure for the Central region flagged off earlier today from the Centre of Excellence in Shah Alam, with participants comprising media practitioners, key opinion leaders (KOLs) and celebrities, Proton car club members as well as members of the public taking to the road in a total of 18 cars.

As the name suggests, the 1-Tank Adventure is a competition to see how far contestants can go on a single tank of fuel. The objective is to complete the two-day route of at least 600 km on just one tank of fuel. The starting point is a petrol station where all participating cars will be topped up with the three-click method, and then their fuel filler lids will be sealed with tape.

Once on the road, there is a pre-determined check-in time for each checkpoint, which means that participants will have to drive at a reasonable pace somewhat resembling real-world driving – no hypermiling measures, then. It isn’t all about watching the fuel gauge, though; an adventure is promised along the way, with the exploration of food, local cultures and historic sights.

Prizes worth more than RM100,000 await the winning participants, who will need to have specific models to be eligible for the challenge, namely the Saga 1.3 CVT built from September 2016 onwards, the Iriz 1.3 CVT from September 2014 onwards and the Persona 1.6 CVT from August 2016 onwards.

To partake in the regional rounds, post a photo of your car on Facebook on Instagram with the caption, “I want to participate!” and tag @ProtonCarsOfficial (Facebook) or @ProtonCars (Instagram). You will also have to hashtag the model you’ll be participating with, as well as the region you’d like to take part in. Once posted, email a screenshot of the post to [email protected] together with your details.

Submission of entries to the Proton 1-Tank Adventure for the Central and East Coast regions have now closed, but you can still submit your entries for the East Malaysia region by July 19, the Southern region by July 24 and the Northern region by July 26. Closing time for all regions is 5.00 pm on the aforementioned dates.

Our man Hafriz Shah is taking part in the current challenge, so stay tuned for more updates throughout the journey.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Disgruntled Iriz Driver on Jul 17, 2018 at 3:58 pm

Wish me luck on my family fuel efficient Iriz 1.3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Sillydog on Jul 17, 2018 at 4:24 pm

What’s the point of these unrealistic contest. We drive in actual daily traffic … not cruising with legs off pedal to max mileage for contest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Royston on Jul 18, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Can’t you be bit positive? This is just a competition. Chill out bro

• Aikon on Jul 25, 2018 at 10:34 am

It’s real world contest. No weight restriction on competitors, air-cond must be on, they can’t drive like snails either as there is a time limit for them to reach every check point and it is conducted on trunk roads mainly with minimal exposure on highways. It is pretty real world already.

• Gud luck!

• Is there a driver+passenger weight categorisation in the challenge? I would reckon that those would affect results….

• Nothing to excite. Proton is known for its doing of altering product to achieve desire result just like how they send a specially produced car for NCAP testing while production car did badly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Edwin L on Jul 18, 2018 at 6:12 pm

“with participants comprising media practitioners, key opinion leaders (KOLs) and celebrities, Proton car club members as well as members of the public”
      Yeah, nice try there Toyota salesman.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Jul 17, 2018 at 4:57 pm

let the torture begin.

• YB Albert on Jul 17, 2018 at 5:42 pm

Even if the challenge is achieved,does it translate into robust blockbuster sales like Perodua?Make no mistake,the tax holiday is just some breathing space.Come Sst in September,the sales will dip.Seems Tun still wants another national car.So,without bailout tongkat,can u walk tall n steady,Mr.DRb/Geely?

• You’d be lucky if u could reach bukit jelutong , hehehe just kidding….

no proton’s fc is legendary…..somewhat mythical even…..

• Proton? 1 of those fuel hunger car. 1 tank challenge? Hmm… I’m keen to know the result. Who knows it will change my pov.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 17, 2018 at 8:13 pm

What?? Only 18 cars? Some more combine media, key opinion leaders (KOLs) and celebrities, Proton car club members & public. The media, KOL & celebs easily take 8-10 cars.

• myvipower on Jul 17, 2018 at 8:52 pm

Why not use myvi much more fuel efficient, 5 star in exam booked ancap test , in real world milo tin metal sheet can go afterlife faster

• Benjamin Ong on Jul 17, 2018 at 9:50 pm

really sohai this competition. all those car so not fuel efficient still wan make this competition.. cannot understand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • They do this cuz they know its achievable, not like u so sohai just sit behind keybod making assumption based on hearsay.

• Aikon on Jul 25, 2018 at 10:37 am

They want to prove that it can be done. Otherwise there is no point doing it. Try to understand this instead.

• Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2018 at 7:44 am

Wow.. Proton VVT CamPro engine & CVT punch transmission can get EEV status after this.. good luck CamPro!