Bermaz Auto says it will absorb SST for Mazda vehicles booked before, but delivered after, Sept 1

Car prices are anticipated to increase with the reintroduction of the sales and service tax (SST) on September 1, but one distributor says it will absorb the sales tax for vehicles booked before September 1 but delivered after that date, The Star reports.

Official Mazda distributor Bermaz Auto said that it will honour all bookings made for Mazda vehicles before SST kicks in by absorbing the tax and not passing it on to customers. The company said that models like the CX-9 now had a waiting list stretching up to December.

“It will not be fair to our customers if we were to pass on the tax to them, as they had made their bookings before the SST is introduced,” an unnamed Bermaz official told the publication. He added that the move to absorb the sales tax was also part of how the company builds brand loyalty.

Presently, savings for Mazda models as a result of zero-rated GST range from RM4,221 for the Mazda 2 mid spec, all the way up to RM16,784.29 for the CX-9 AWD.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sohai on Jul 19, 2018 at 8:31 pm

Only Mazda can absorb, bcoz mazda selling at higher profit margin but give $0 no discount. Now u see the proof of fact, mazda car is expensive but actually shod sell cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 18
    • sosohai on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:10 pm

Go check Mazda used car got many choices one. Price is even higher than Toyota sometimes. 2-3 months down the road U still see them advertising.

• Used CX5 or new Boyue

• Same L00 on Jul 20, 2018 at 2:06 pm

Bravo! Absorb SST or not, people still buying Mazda. You won’t go wrong with Japanese cars.

• New Toyota USA tagline: If you wanna buy a good Toyota go buy a Mazda.

• Mazda is Bmw quality selling at honda prices. Summore 3-year free servis pakej

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Kepoci on Jul 20, 2018 at 7:58 am

Malaysians mentality is to always be negative. Even if there is good news, Malaysians will find a way to make it bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 20, 2018 at 8:48 am

still cheaper than toyota…says a lot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • mugen on Jul 19, 2018 at 8:48 pm

Steady Berjaya Mazda steady yo !!

• macampondan on Jul 19, 2018 at 8:56 pm

bermaz overlooked that gov will not charge sst on non commercial vehicle.

Untung la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Mikey on Jul 20, 2018 at 8:46 am

That’s a fair announcement.

• simon on Jul 20, 2018 at 9:24 am

what for.

This sort of “bonus” periods are for people who grab the opportunity and booked earlier on.

not drag and wait and think until last minute then confirm.

This absorbtion only promotes more waiting by customers and proves that Mazda profit margin very fat.

my friend works as a dealer also said their bookings delivered now are for customers who placed order 1 month ago. New bookings they will either inform of SST price or reject immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • worrying you on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:16 am

so negative. sobs sobs. believe life is great please. there is always someone who worse than you. chill. sobs sobs

• Henry on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:18 am

That’s commendable. Btw, some other brands are also giving the same privilege to buyers.

• Which brands is giving same priviledge to absorb the SST other than Mazda?

• willie on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:53 am

read somewhere CKD no SST, hence if true, than those car under CKD, no sst = no increase, except those CBU from Thailand, Indonesia will be subject to SST.

• I believe u read it on malaysiakini… don’t say u believe everything writen on malaysiakini. it’s for entertainment only. u only can read, and then laugh at the miniters, but not to believe it.

• basher utd on Jul 22, 2018 at 2:17 pm

Same goes to basher comments about P1 ,can read can laugh but dun belip

• Disappointed with Mazda on Jul 21, 2018 at 10:31 am

Better get what is promised in writing. I got ripped off by a Mazda dealer when the zero GST was introduced. What is promised by dealers when you book may not be what you get when delivered. Be very careful when dealing with Mazda they can be very unethical.

• LS Goh on Jul 21, 2018 at 3:33 pm

Would Honda and Toyota do the same? I doubt

• Frank Hoh on Jul 24, 2018 at 10:52 am

I am a Mazda user, I just dislike the i-stop that every time it shuts off the engine and restarted when the clutch is depressed (all version of mazdas) at kl traffic lights, this is very annoying. This system only expedited wares to the starter and the battery not promote gas saving, i will not buy another mazda if Mazda should not provide an overrite option. I am Not the only that make this comment infect many users world wide are equally dislike this I-stop.

• Frank Hoh on Jul 24, 2018 at 11:00 am

Mazda should provide an on-demand over rite instead of the present one.

• Robinhood on Jul 24, 2018 at 6:22 pm

Buy only when necessary. The only thing that Mazda needs to do is to restructure their sales strategy by adjusting their prices and profit margin. Anyway year end is coming and do expect sales carnival again.

• Mazda Malaysia: You should do the same when we booked the 2018 CX-5 but some new paint color required additional RM1,000 if I remembered correctly