VIDEO: Proton SUV to have Malaysian design flavours

The launch of Proton’s first ever SUV is upon us. You’ve seen multiple photos of its donor car, the Geely Boyue, and you also know that the SUV will come with a chockfull of features, namely voice command, adaptive cruise control, 360-degree three-dimensional view and Autonomous Emergency Braking. But what about its design?

Well, we recently had a chat with Geely Design’s design director Guy Burgoyne, who said “I think it’s fair to say that – it’s obvious that when we developed the Boyue to start with, the knowledge of the synergy with Proton was on the table. We have some very happy coincidences.” Of course, one of the coincidences is the feline element – the Boyue’s design was inspired by a leaping cat, and Proton is a car brand with the tiger motif.

Guy also said despite having a globally desirable product, he thinks he can still deliver some local flavours that are appropriate for Proton. And no, the designers won’t stick a keris or anything jarring like that.

Proton’s chief designer Azlan Othman also added: “It will have a unique story to it, when we showcase our version of the Boyue. It will have that relationship to our heritage, our culture. It may not be very large like Guy mentioned, we shouldn’t have a piece of keris stuck on the car, but the notion of having these characters – that’s the uniqueness that will make us Malaysian, in that sense.”

Are you excited for the Proton SUV? If Tun Dr Mahathir is impressed, maybe you will be too. Thoughts?

GALLERY: Geely Boyue facelift

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Sack Designer on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:31 pm

Nope, Proton better change its chief designer.

Once they did that, Proton can easily sell 1 million cars annually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 56
    • Lolpapalala on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:40 pm

1 million ur head!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
      • Rajoo Selvam on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:27 pm

Thanks to China, Geely and Li Chunrong, Proton will get some brains finally to do well in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Price on Jul 20, 2018 at 9:53 am

70k not more … Due to public perception of Made In China products

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Kilingkiang uu uu on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:17 am

Then u deserve that kind of made in China products only

• rightwinger on Jul 20, 2018 at 11:08 am

have to price low because made in china? like Iphones ???

• ChinaMan Mari on Jul 20, 2018 at 1:04 pm

You use China product all the time without you even knowing it, for example each time you make a phone call, the voice and the IP signals switch through China Telecom gear install at our Telcos.

• Min Wei on Jul 20, 2018 at 6:31 am

Where is the clowon who blames Tun for everything? Look now and eat this! Thanks to Tun, this SUV will be a top seller

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • rightwinger on Jul 20, 2018 at 11:20 am

in your dreams – P1 -Geely tie up happened before 9 may 2018.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 169
      • Raja Celup on Jul 19, 2018 at 8:54 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 179
        • No proton no basher on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:16 pm

Hebatkan negaraku… Be patriotik weii

• Really? Lets see what PT has to say “In any case, converting a left-hand drive car to a right-hand drive one isn’t as simple as moving the steering wheel and pedals to the correct side. Aside from a completely new dashboard, switchgear, power window buttons and even the front seats, there would also need to be changes to the mechanicals as well.”
          https://paultan.org/2018/01/12/photo-of-proton-right-hand-drive-geely-boyue-is-fake/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 5
        • rebadger on Jul 20, 2018 at 12:19 pm

More like P2..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 0
      • glc material only know how to rebadge. Same quality like Putrajaya

• Rajoo Selvam on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Thanks to Tun, Proton is doing well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Hahaha! Basher still vainly trying to change history like he said P1 was setup in 1957. Dunno where he learn history from, SJKC perhaps.

• Papito on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:32 pm

Geely Design and Proton chief designer might want design inputs from MIMOS design proposal & development centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • MIMOS designer was from P1 during the certain 22 year rule of Bapak… Ah I see what you mean. With some strings pulled he can get his old job back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • Raja Celup on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:00 pm

LoL..why waste himself at Mimos when he can work at Lamborghini as design head if he’s teally that great.

• rightwinger on Jul 20, 2018 at 11:12 am

you jeles is it? only white skin and mata sepet je yg pandai ke? racist much?

• p2macai on Jul 20, 2018 at 12:26 pm

So when P2 has all local new design car? Not only upper half ok?

• awg1031 on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:40 pm

I really don’t think it’s necessary to have an element of culture in their design..should’ve global design which will be applicable to every proton model belonging to the same generation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Jho High on Jul 20, 2018 at 12:11 pm

Have seen one on the road few days ago in Penang (those with cosmos grill, lesser camouflage) what I can say is the size is more to Pajero Sport (Slim and Tall) and not like crV or cX5 if you put it side by side.

• Rakyat Bersatu, Kerana Mu, Perotong. on Jul 20, 2018 at 12:22 pm

Its not just about having elements of culture, what he meant was to have something or design cues that can shout “Malaysia” or “Proton – kebangaan Malaysia” globally. KIA has its signature tiger nose grill and now KIA-Hyundai has that jeep cherokee headlights. BMW has its kidney grill and Audi with its flared angular sides thats unmistakably German. We need an identity, apart from the winged chrome we slap on the front, the rest of the car looks like any other asian design. If you put all the current available Protons side by side, they all look different and you can tell R&D efforts differ from one car to another, regardless of price range.

• yawnz on Jul 22, 2018 at 2:23 pm

If your overlords design same you said oh it is family face, if P1 design same you said lazy makan kuih lapis 8x a day.

• Ahmadjr on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:40 pm

Sembang lah azlan. Iriz dan persona elemen apa dia letak pun tak tau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
    • Raja Celup on Jul 19, 2018 at 8:56 pm

Yup look how they ruined Honda Accord design as new Perdana. Truly epic sales disaster lol!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
      • Perdana2 sold more than ur Sienta lor. Ur epic sales disaster trumps P1 epic sales disaster. Lolz!!!!

• wait didnt the perdana fail because of its lack of feature not bcs of the design

im a honda jazz user myself thought that the perdana is pretty good looking

• julian lee on Jul 20, 2018 at 12:28 am

yeah man i agree. the new perdana is very stylish and modern. looks much better than the honda accord :D

• If the Perdana has a H/T logo or as an Opel Insignia, sure u buy one! I for one love the Perdana design, too bad that design is only available if u get a loan of over 110k.

• Ahmad on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:52 pm

It does attract my attention. Before proton was a no no but I think I may consider it due to the safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • John Lingkup on Jul 20, 2018 at 8:52 am

Hopefully in a year’s time you will not regret and slap own head on the wall.

• tokmoh. on Jul 19, 2018 at 7:54 pm

Guy Burgoyne himself personally come down to grace Proton’s event. Is there anymore doubt Geely is not serious with their investment in Proton?

Proton, Geely > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Henry Smith on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:47 pm

Once Boyue is out, Volvo sales will drop to less than 10 a month, how to survive

• Raja Celup on Jul 19, 2018 at 9:55 pm

LoL…Geely got what they actually wanted: Lotus. Here they just spend few billions and cabut later to the next highest bidder for Proton. You really think they’re highly impressed with Proton designers? Mehh.

• rally_fan (Member) on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:06 am

sorry raja celup, but your comments are just very shallow. you think geely wants proton just for lotus? you should open your mind and look at the big picture.

also, Geely doesnt have to be impressed by proton designers as a reason to buy them. designers are hired… you dont buy companies for that. Geely bought proton for many reasons. the way i look at it, some of the big reasons are proton’s branding in this region, which can help expand geely’s reach in new markets. also, as reported in the news.. geely intends to make malaysia its right hand drive hub, meaning RHD geely vehicles will be exported from here to new markets and where do you think they will be built? this is long term strategy. it is in geely’s best interest to ensure proton is a success. this is not a “rebadging” one-off partnership.

• Anonymous on Jul 20, 2018 at 12:17 pm

Geely’s main interest is in Proton’s manufacturing wing, as a tool to penetrate the S.E Asian market. Lotus is just another tech bonus. They love gathering technology. And what’s not to like about Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant; it’s big, up-to-date, and expandable.
        They can’t just bail out and sell, it would only make it harder for them to sustain their hold in S.E Asia. Without Proton’s plant in their hands, they’d have to either fully import or build a new manufacturing plant. Either way costs them money, and selling under a familiar name in the region would be much easier.

Losing Volvo entirely here isn’t much f a dent to their global sales. When it comes to premium brands, even the more expensive Porsche “budget” offerings are more popular here than any Volvo.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 19, 2018 at 8:37 pm

I assume the local design elements pertain to the second batch, locally built SUV & not the CBU first batch.

• Hsshs on Jul 19, 2018 at 8:51 pm

Proton sales 2020 : 300,000 unit
    Top 1 ranking in highest selling brand in Malaysia.

Proton is back!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • karate darul pedo on Jul 19, 2018 at 10:28 pm

Malaysia design flavor design are kain songket on seat upholstery and inner door linings, anyaman ketupat on bumper grille and air vent, anything else?

• Azlan, u better learn from these sifus. Ur ah beng designs is too goudy for most people.

• Bernard on Jul 19, 2018 at 11:58 pm

No need local flavour , just give it a German flavour ….

• TreeHugger on Jul 20, 2018 at 12:29 am

What are the differences between Boyue 360-degree 3D view and X-trail 360-degree camera view? Or are they the same thing?

• rally_fan (Member) on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:09 am

should be the same thing.. all car manufacturers buy from similar suppliers who do business with all the car companies in the world.

• Hideki on Jul 20, 2018 at 12:48 am

Please lah rework the dashboard to look like a more luxurious design. Proton’s interior is totally a failure

• Mikey on Jul 20, 2018 at 8:52 am

IMO, changing the front grill makes this Boy-U looks much better. The Tiger is definitely a M’sian design.

• Mr. Octopus on Jul 20, 2018 at 8:56 am

Batik seats? Ketupat wheels?…. I’m in!

• MrHukaka on Jul 20, 2018 at 9:17 am

For next generation boyue I hope, reduce the power mil to 1.5,1.6 pair with hybrid and small turbo,a paddle shifters CVT durable like subaru,as for 5 passenger SUV the size can slightly reduce to lower the production cost, safety feature maintain the same but change the design language a bit not too many China spirit (those plastic emblem), improve ride handling,ride comfort,can fit in smaller rim to fit car buyer economy for future maintenance (16-17 inch with thinker tyre).

• arowana on Jul 20, 2018 at 9:20 am

teh tarik hook, integrated smart tag device are a must!

• Kenny tan on Jul 20, 2018 at 10:25 am

Yes, I like Malaysian designer ‍

• Tong San Geely need to sell this Boyue below RM70k in order to sell. If not people will still go for the tested and proven branded Japanese and Korean cars.

• Jho High on Jul 20, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Have seen one on the road few days ago in Penang (those with cosmos grill, lesser camouflage) what I can say is the size is more to Pajero Sport (Slim and Tall) and not like crV or cX5 if you put it side by side.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 20, 2018 at 4:56 pm

colors named after malaysian food? nasi lemak putih, roti canai yellow, satay brown

• Nasi lemak where got white only? Wheres the brown kacang, green timun, and ayam masak merah? The mythical crispy rendang got rainbow colour somemore.

• azrai on Jul 23, 2018 at 8:41 am

No keris la. Hishamuddin quit all post in UMNO already.

• THEVEN on Jul 23, 2018 at 11:07 am

Err. Malaysian design flavors. What is that?
    Personally I think we should target for international level. Not Malaysian level, kampung level, etc.