Malaysia Automotive Institute and Institut Otomotif Indonesia to work towards development of ASEAN car

Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) and the Institut Otomotif Indonesia (IOI) have inked an agreement to foster long-term collaboration in the development of the automotive industry. The agreement was signed in Jakarta in conjunction with minister of international trade and industry Darell Leiking’s working visit to Indonesia.

Among the agendas discussed with his Indonesian counterpart during the visit was the potential development of the ASEAN car between the two countries. In June, prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad had hinted at the possibility of reviving the Malaysia-Indonesia ASEAN car project.

The areas of collaboration within the MoA will be geared towards the preparation of the supply chain through the enhancement of product, process and research capabilities. It will also gradually explore the development of an ASEAN car.

The Institut Otomotif Indonesia (IOI) was established by Indonesia’s ministry of industry in May 2016 to enhance the development of Indonesia’s automotive industry, and functions and operates in a similar manner to MAI.

In March this year, both institutes organised a joint business matching programme between Malaysian and Indonesian automotive vendors as a means to identify potential business partners for greater market access. A total of 18 Malaysian and 30 Indonesian vendors from various automotive manufacturing clusters took part in the programme, with 10 Malaysian vendors successfully identifying potential business partners from Indonesia.

According to MAI CEO Datuk Madani Sahari, both parties will continue to support and facilitate partnerships between Malaysian and Indonesian vendors through various development programmes. “More programmes will be organised by MAI and IOI in both exploring potential market opportunities and the transfer of technology,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Keep up the great work MAI & Datuk Madani !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
    • Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 12, 2018 at 4:36 pm

We need a good CEO like Li Chunrong to run MAI. Then you will see results.

Until today, MAI has not even done anything on the AP issue. 30 million people suffer just because 30 AP members want to earn billions each

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 10, 2018 at 10:20 pm

Our MAI talk a lot the past 20 years. Have so many seminars and conferences plus lawatan sambil belajar in many overseas countries often. But end of the day, all investors lari to Thailand and made it the Detroit of Asia.

Malaysia was the CKD capital in Asia once upon a time and was about to be the Detroit of Asia. But because MAI just knew how to talk a lot and got no substance, all the car companies decided to set up shop in Thailand where there is less red tape, less corruption and very condusive with full Government co-operation. No need dedak to get things done

The past 20 years, Malaysia has lost TRILLIONS in investments plus hundreds of thousands of jobs to Thailand.

Even till today, every other month we hear companies investing USD Billions in Thailand to set up their car companies or EV battery factories.

I hope MAI can just start doing things instead of talking so much. We need more action and less talk to entice investors to come to Malaysia back again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Bodo tak tau sejarah on Aug 12, 2018 at 8:45 pm

Thailand enforced 150% import vehicle in 1973 and completely banned it in 1978. Then forced CKD car to use 50% local sources part. Did we? We are way too late by then, TDM tried to emulate it but no foreign car maker want to step here with less of the population of Thai. End up he copy China Automotive Policy where foreign car maker to JV to form a state company where we called Proton.

• John nangis on Aug 13, 2018 at 12:14 pm

No lah. Our labour is getting high. Our highway has tolls plus that GST made more companies move to other place in the last 3 years.

• Rightwinger on Aug 13, 2018 at 2:48 pm

Just like you douchebag, you bitch too much about everything. Why don’t you run for office and put your money where your mouth is.

• Here comes Perotiga!!! Soon both countries will start to raise excise duties and taxes for non-national cars.

• Mark my words. In 5 years time, nothing will happen.

I mean no insult to all academicians out there, but these people only have the knowledge and skill to run an automotive college. If they were really that good in running a car business, they would have had their own car brand already.

• Jerry Wong on Aug 13, 2018 at 10:55 am

I mean no insult too.

Msians can buy Hyundai Ioniq & Honda City Hybrid which cost over RM100k without EEV tax breaks. All this thanks to MAI hardworks

• Woot Woot on Aug 11, 2018 at 12:33 am

Memorandum of Agreement Exchange Ceremony?

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 13, 2018 at 3:07 pm

Or else where got reason for rombongan to go lawatan sambil kong£&£, Oops, belajar kat Jakarta. See all the happy faces.

• sounds like a rebadged avanza

• Dulu Indonesia berebut nak tuntut hak lagu, lepas tu berebut hak kuih cokaria…tak lama berebut hak design kereta pulak..hahaha

• STOP IT on Aug 12, 2018 at 10:57 pm

TO THE KERAJAAN BN, PLEASE STOP THE ASEAN CAR THING! GIVE US CHEAPER IMPORTED CARS. FULL STOP. RAKYAT DIZALIMI. MALAYSIA NAK BANKRAP! NO MORE GST. NO MORE TOL, FREE EDUCATION. WE ARE WAITING…..

• 1pembangkang on Aug 13, 2018 at 11:27 am

Enough is enough! don’t think we can create a car brand like Mercedes.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 13, 2018 at 2:02 pm

MAI?

What a bloody waste of energy, money and time. Same Madani boot licker that so confidently forecasted we will hit 700k TIV while on the year the entire economy and new car market tanks out.

If you are OEM parts manufacturer with an eye out for export, you don’t need MAI to facilitate anything.

We got MITI for that. why need MAI?

• azhar on Aug 13, 2018 at 2:52 pm

menurut Datuk Zainuddin, 20% kasi MAI..

https://paultan.org/2018/07/11/pekema-pertahan-pelaksanaan-ap-terbuka/