Proton expects up to RM3,000 price increase with SST

Proton expects the prices of its cars to increase by between RM1,500 to RM3,000 when the sales and services tax (SST) makes its return in September. Currently, consumers are enjoying a “tax holiday” with the goods and services tax (GST) being set at 0% until the end of August.

“We expect the price of Proton vehicles to go up after the implementation of the SST even though we have yet to ascertain the accurate figures as the government has yet to announce the tax mechanism,” said Proton Edar CEO, Abdul Rashid Musa, in a report by Bernama.

“The calculation of the price increase was made based on the GST introduced by previous government to replace the SST where the prices of Proton cars then were reduced by between RM1,500 and RM3,000. As such, when the SST is re-introduced, we expect there will be a similar increase in the quantum price,” he explained.

Rashid also added that those who are planning to buy a Proton should do so while they can still enjoy the zero-rated GST savings. For now, stocks are still sufficient to meet demand, but he hoped that customers would not be too choosy with the variants and colours if they want to buy them immediately.

Other car companies have revealed that they would absorb the SST for vehicles booked before, but delivered after September 1, including Mazda and Hyundai.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• borneo darul seram on Aug 10, 2018 at 11:07 am

Not affecting Labuan or Langkawi residence buying any cars at all, no gst no sst…

• I thought car prices going down after SST??? Since LGE said prices will go down after SST…. Not Meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
  • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 10, 2018 at 11:20 am

Already Proton sales are so bad, now with SST, expect the figure from 50,000 per annum sales to drop to 40,000 per annum sales

And the best part, Proton projects by 2020 (1 year and 4 more months) sales will jump to 200,000 per annum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Dedak in the house on Aug 10, 2018 at 1:09 pm

Why concern when all the manufacturer will be affected.. the sst will be there for all to enjoy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Regret SST for next 4.5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • I predict greedy Perodua will increase RM 3000 to RM 5000 after imposed SST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Mikey on Aug 10, 2018 at 12:04 pm

Proton should shift out all their old stocks B4 increasing any prices if there is any increase since all the vehicles are old models & ask the CEO to PERSONALLY thank your customers for buying one too.

After all, U want to contribute to M’sian economy Right !! This will be a Win win for both.

• Jokey on Aug 10, 2018 at 12:19 pm

Lets recall back. Does anyone here remember how much saga price the day b4 gst, but the time sst running? Can compare that price b4 gst and now with sst coming on September?

• Jumbo on Aug 10, 2018 at 12:20 pm

Who cares ? Proton is no longer relevant to Rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
    • U seem to care to come here and gripe about it. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Proton each units sold earn RM500 and donate RM10 to THM.
      Perodua each units sold earn RM5000 and donate RM0 to THM.

• P2 donate to Tabung Jepunis Lord

• What is RM10 compared to billions of fund pumped to Proton by the gov? After all with Proton sales yang tak seberapa.

• Jumbo on Aug 10, 2018 at 5:06 pm

I came here to see what John says. LOL

• Denfire on Aug 10, 2018 at 3:26 pm

Not to bias to any party but the price currently we got is no SST/GST at all. So definitely it will be cheaper. After tax back in place, sure price will increase. Gov also need money to operate. After all, we don’t buy cars like vegi/meat everyday.

• Levin on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:35 pm

You’re talking as if govt ain’t making any money from cars sold here. What about import tax and excise duty imposed on cars? Where do you think the money goes to?
      I hope the new govt will make things simplified instead of adding multiple layers of tax and not forgetting roadtax too. Whoever wins, we “rakyat” still loose and have to bear the cost.

• Revised of the local assembled car components under 6% GST, I believed Proton didn’t completely taken off the previous GST being paid to the mof.
    If Proton had completely took off 6% GST it will be definitely get lower selling price.

• There are a lot of cars already paid the 6% GST, Do u think they can take off the taxes they had paid? Only thing they can do is to absorb the loses or reclaim from the Government later through legal means . SST is definitely going to be cheaper on cars. If the local made cars prices didn’t comply I think the enforcement will be going for them.

• Proton/perodua home made cars, don’t compete imports cars , my wife so happy buying O %sst/gst , very annoying when perodua says we still have to pay sst even booked b4 Sept , what the hell going on in our sop ,